Useful Links
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters.
- Spectator attendance at sporting eventsCanberra : Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2010.
Cat. no. 4174.0. - Sports and Physical Recreation: A Statistical Overview, Australia, 2012Australian Bureau of Statistics
Cat. No. 4156.0
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
eBooks / Books - Sport, Recreation & Event Management
Festival and special event management
Allen, J., O'Toole, W., Harris, R., & McDonnell, I. (2011) [ebook]
Sport facility operations management: A global perspective (3rd ed.)
Schwarz, E., Hall, S., & Shibli, S. (2020) [ebook]
Sports law (3rd ed.)
Thorpe, D., Buti, A., Davies, C., & Jonson, P. (2017) [ebook]
Strategic sports event management (3rd ed.)
Masterman. G. (2014) [ebook]
Sport facility and event management (2nd ed.)
Aicher, T., Paule-Koba, A., & Newland, B. (2019) [ebook]
Eventful cities
Richards, G., & Palmer, R. (2010) [ebook]
Special event production: The process
Matthews, D. (2015) [ebook]
Ideological, social and cultural aspects of events
Moufakkir, O., & Pernecky, T. (Eds.). (2015) [ebook]
The future of events and festivals
Yeoman, I., Robertson, M., Mcmahon-Beattie, U., Smith, K. A., & Backer, E. (Eds.) (2015) [ebook]
Australian leisure (4th ed.)
Veal, A. J., Darcy, S., & Lynch, R. (2012) [ebook]
Databases - Sport, Recreation and Event Management
The databases listed below may contain additional peer-reviewed journal articles, data and information which is not accessible via ECU WorldSearch:
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works. - Informit This link opens in a new window
Contains a range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Includes Business, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject or across all databases.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - Sport, Recreation, Event Management
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Legal Aspects and Handbooks
For more legal commentary, cases, legislation and journal articles, use the resources listed in the Law Resources guide.
- AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
A collection of cases, legislation and over 125 law journals that covers Australian and New Zealand Legislation, Court Judgments ("Case Law") , and Commentaries and Summaries on the Law. (User Guide) - CCH iKnowConnect (previously CCH IntelliConnect) This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes: Accounting, Business Law, Employment and HR, Family Law, Industrial Relations, Intellectual Property, Sports & Medical Law, Workplace Health and Safety and more...
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Sport, Recreation & Event Management
The SAGE Dictionary of Leisure Studies
Blackshaw, T., & Crawford, G. (2009) [print]
Call Number: 306.481203 BLA