Useful Links
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters.
- ECU Women in Business ECU Women in Business aims to create a supportive community at ECU. Our key objective is to create and promote opportunities for female students in professional industries, and to provide a supportive network at Edith Cowan University for all students.
- Management Innovation eXchange (MIX)
Open innovation project aimed at reinventing management for the 21st century. - The Corporate Rebels
Joost and Pim quit their frustrating, corporate jobs and set out to travel the world and visit the most inspiring organizations. - WTO iLibrary
Every year, the World Trade Organization (WTO) publishes around 70 new titles on various trade issues. The WTO iLibrary brings together all the WTO's key research material on global trade.
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new windowInternational standards: ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE.
eBooks / Books
MGMT4 (4th Asia-Pacific ed.)
Williams, C., McWilliams, A., & Lawrence, R. (2019) [ebook]
Management (7th Asia-Pacific ed.)
Schermerhon, J. R., Davidson, P., Woods, P., Factor, A., Simon, A., McBarron, E., & Junaid, F. (2020) [ebook]
Moral issues in business (3rd Asia-Pacific ed.)
Shaw, W., Barry, V., Issa, T., Shaw, W. H., & Muntean, D. (2016) [ebook]
Employment relations: Theory and practice (4th ed.)
Bray, M., Waring, P., Cooper, R., & MacNeil, J. (2017) [ebook]
Business ethics: Managing corporate citizenship and sustainability in the age of globalization (5th ed.)
Crane, A., Matten, D., Glozer, S., & Spence, L. (2019) [print]
Shelf location: 174.4 CRA
Human resource management: strategy and practice (10th ed.)
Nankervis, A., Baird, M., Coffey, J., & Shields, J. (2019) [ebook]
The effective change manager: The change management body of knowledge (CMBoK)
The Change Management Institute. (2014) [print]
Shelf location: 658.406 CHA
The Business Communication Handbook (11th ed.)
Dwyer, J., & Hopwood, N. (2019) [ebook]
Business Research Methods (5th ed.)
Bryman, A., Bell, E., & Harley, B. (2019) [print]
Shelf location: 658.0072 BRY
Workplace learning: How to build a culture of continuous employee development
Paine, N. (2019) [ebook]
Arab women in management and leadership
Arar, K., Shapira, T., Azaiza, F., & Hertz-Lazarowitz, R. (2013) [ebook]
Databases - Management
Search directly in the databases listed below to locate additional peer-reviewed journal articles and data for your assignments:
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journal articles and ebooks - management and business related titles.
Need some search tips? Click on the Help button. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes more than 1000 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Their growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. - Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Career Development, Commercial Law, Corporate Governance, e-Business, Economics, Employment, Human Resources, Labour, Management, Marketing, Occupational Health, Taxation, and Unions.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - Management
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Statistics
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (4th ed.) by Publication Date: 2010 [ebook]
Dictionaries - English Language
Macquarie dictionary : Australia's national dictionary online by Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource, 2003 -
