Skip to main content
Contact your Librarian for assistance with legal research and referencing:
LIBRARIAN DROP-IN at JOONDALUP CAMPUS (JO 2.132) - Wednesdays 12.30 - 1:30pm during semester.
Australian Key Legal Databases
Formerly LexisNexis AU - includes access to CaseBase citator, Unreported and Reported Cases, Legislation, Journal Articles and Commentaries.
Includes access to Firstpoint citator, Unreported and Reported Cases, Legislation, Journal articles and Commentaries.
Research content with the latest commentary, legislation and rulings. Covers areas of Business, Property, Tort, Industrial, Sport and Medical Law.
AustLII Journals (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
Provides free internet access to Australasian primary and secondary legal materials.
- Legal materials are categorised into Primary sources and Secondary sources:
- Primary sources include both legislation and case law.
- Secondary sources include discussions about the law or legal commentary, such as books, digests, journal articles, legal encyclopaedia, law reports, loose-leaf publications and online services.
Extrinsic Materials will also be referred to in the context of legislation and are used to assist in interpreting legislation. For example; explanatory memoranda, reports of law reform commissions, parliamentary committee reports and second reading speeches.
Other University Law Libguides
Law Collection: Joondalup Campus
Law Library - Joondalup Campus
Building 31, level 4
New to ECU in 2019?
These webinars will help you get started on how to search for information.
Lexis Advance now includes Lexis.com
LexisNexis AU has moved to a new platform and will now be known as Lexis Advance. All titles previously held on LexisNexis AU are available from this new platform, including the Lexis Practical Guidance modules.
Need help searching Lexis Advance? Log into the database, using your ECU details, and view the tutorials provided.
A selection of titles published by CCH (CCH eBooks) and LexisNexis, includes Australian Corporations and Securities Legislation and Australian Income Tax Legislation, Nemes and Coss' Effective legal research, trusts, business.
Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.