Useful Links
- Tourism & Transport Forum Australia (TTF) Peak industry group for the Tourism, Transport and Aviation sectors
- American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) AHLA represents every segment of the hotel industry in the USA, including major chains, independent hotels, management companies, REIT’s, bed and breakfasts, industry partners and more.
- Tourism Australia Tourism Australia provides research services to the industry through consumer and market insights, plus tourism, aviation and economic analysis. Find statistics for visitor arrivals, tourism forecasts and aviation overviews.
- Austrade - Tourism Research Australia Australian statistics & research from the Australian Trade and Investment Commission
- Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Includes the portfolio for Trade, Tourism, and Investment, and the Tourism Australia agency.
- Department of Jobs and Small Business - Employment Projections Each year, the Department of Jobs and Small Business produces employment projections by industry, occupation, skill level and region for the following five-year period. These employment projections are designed to provide a guide to the future direction of the labour market, however, like all such exercises, they are subject to an inherent degree of uncertainty.
- Mintel Country Reports - Travel and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Reports contain data, market research, market analysis, competitive intelligence, product intelligence. - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Browse by Sector to access Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality content - provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian Standards covering a broad range of disciplines and industries. Refer to Techstreet for food & safety standards, service standards, etc.
Please see User Guide to download PDFs with FileOpen - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
eBooks / Books
Introduction to international tourism and hotel management
Kensbock, S., Fraser, B., Walker, J., Cooper, C., O'Shannessy, V., Minett, D., & Mill, R. (2014) [ebook]
Food and beverage management (6th ed.)
Davis, B., Lockwood, A., Alcott, P., & Pantelidis, I. (2018) [ebook]
Essentials of tourism
Cooper, C. (2020) [print]
Shelf location: 338.4791 COO
Strategic management for hospitality and tourism (2nd ed.)
Okumus, F., Altinay, L., Chathoth K, P., & Koseoglu, M. (2019) [ebook]
Festival and special event management
Allen, J., O'Toole, W., Harris, R., & McDonnell, I. (2011) [ebook]
Hospitality management (4th ed.)
van der Wagen, L., & White, L. (2018) [print]
Strategic marketing in tourism services
Tsiotsou, R., & Goldsmith, R. (Eds.) (2012) [ebook]
Contemporary tourism: An international approach
Cooper, C. P., & Hall, C. M. (2012) [ebook] / 2016 [print]
Service management principles for hospitality and tourism
Kandampully, J., & Solnet, D. (2018) [print]
Shelf location: 647.94068 KAN
Cruise ship tourism
Dowling, R. K., & Weeden, C. (2017) [ebook]
Cruising and cruise ships 2017 (Berlitz Insight Guides)
Ward, D. (2016) [print]
Shelf location: 910.202 WAR
Databases - Tourism, Hospitality & Hotel Management
The databases listed below may contain additional peer-reviewed journal articles, data and information which is not accessible via ECU WorldSearch:
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes more than 1000 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Their growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new windowProvides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new windowOffers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - Tourism, Hospitality & Hotel Management
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Tourism, Hospitality & Hotel Management
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism (3rd Ed.) by Call Number: 338.479103 DICPublication Date: 2010 [print]
International Dictionary of Hospitality Management by Publication Date: 2008 [ebook]
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by Call Number: 910.3 COLPublication Date: 2008 [print]
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by Publication Date: 2010 [eBook]
The Encyclopedia of Tourism and Recreation in Marine Environments by Call Number: 338.4791 ENCPublication Date: 2008 [print]
