Useful Links
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters.
- Accounting Professional & Ethical Standards Board (CPA Australia) The Accounting Professional and Ethical Standards Board is an independent body established in 2006, as an initiative of CPA Australia and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.
- International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) IFRS Standards are set by the International Accounting Standards Board (Board) and are used primarily by publicly accountable companies.
- Women in Finance Network (CFA Society Perth) The Women in Finance Network is an initiative of CFA Society Perth to create awareness about the investment finance industry; provide clarity around the breadth and depth and opportunities available for a career in finance; and enable women to view finance and investment as a viable long-term career option.
- ECU Finance and Accounting Society (FAS) The object of ECU's Finance & Accounting Society is to improve students learning outcomes and future career paths by providing additional training, study groups, and interaction with career professionals and industry groups relevant to the Finance and Accounting Industry.
- ECU Women in Business ECU Women in Business aims to create a supportive community at ECU. Our key objective is to create and promote opportunities for female students in professional industries, and to provide a supportive network at Edith Cowan University for all students.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - WTO iLibrary
Every year, the World Trade Organization (WTO) publishes around 70 new titles on various trade issues. The WTO iLibrary brings together all the WTO's key research material on global trade.
Australian Government 
- Australia. Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Trade treaties, trade & economic data
- Australia. Department of Jobs and Small Business - Employment Projections Each year, the Department of Jobs and Small Business produces employment projections by industry, occupation, skill level and region for the following five-year period. These employment projections are designed to provide a guide to the future direction of the labour market, however, like all such exercises, they are subject to an inherent degree of uncertainty.
- Australia. Productivity Commission Advisory body on economic, social & environmental issues
- Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) The science and economics research division of the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
- Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) Independent statutory authority that supervises institutions across banking, insurance and superannuation, and promotes financial system stability in Australia.
- Western Australia. Department of Treasury The Department of Treasury consists of the Treasury business and the Public Utilities Office (PUO). The Treasury business provides economic and financial management and advice to Government. This includes the formulation, implementation and monitoring throughout the year of the State Budget; economic and revenue forecasting; economic and revenue policy advice; advice and analysis on financial arrangements with the Commonwealth; advice on infrastructure policy and planning; advice on the State’s financial management framework; and management of the Public Ledger.
- World Trade Statistical Review
The “World Trade Statistical Review 2021”, published by the World Trade Organisation, looks into the latest trends in global trade, with in-depth analysis of what is being traded and who the key players are. It also reviews the latest developments in trade policy-making in areas such as trade facilitation and trade-restrictive measures. - Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) - Chart PackGraphs on the Australian Economy and Financial Markets
- Trading Economics - Stock Market IndexesStock market indexes quotes for several countries
- World Trade Organization (WTO) - Trade dispute settlementMap of disputes between WTO Members
- International Monetary Fund e-LibraryIncluding:
* World Economic Outlook
* International Financial Statistics [Online] 2002 to present
* Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook [Online] 1996 to present
* Direction of Trade Statistics [Online] 1996 to present
- Index of Economic FreedomThe Index covers 12 freedoms – from property rights to financial freedom – in 186 countries, and tracks over two decades of the advancement in economic freedom, prosperity, and opportunity.
- Institute of Development Studies - Mobilising Knowledge for Development Digital LibraryThe Institute of Development Studies (IDS) is a global research and learning organisation for equitable and sustainable change. The Mobilising Knowledge for Development Digital Library provides access to over 6000 publications produced by research institutes in Africa and Asia.
Stock Exchanges
Australian Stock Exchange (ASX)
Frankfurt Stock Exchange (Börse)
Hong Kong Stock Exchange (HKEX)
London Stock Exchange (LSE)
New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
Shanghai Stock Exchange (SSE)
Singapore Stock Exchange (SGX)
Other
BLDS Digital Library (economic & social development information, from the Institute of Development Studies)
Qualisteam - banking and finance portal
Yahoo - finance
Asian Development Bank
Bloomberg
Finance Asia
Index of Economic Freedom
LinkedIn Learning - skills training (videos)
- Financial Accounting
This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
- Managerial Accounting: Master Budget
- This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
- Excel 2016
- This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
- Weighted Average Cost of Capital
- This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
- Bonds
- This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
- NPV and IRR
- This link opens in a new window
You will need to log in using your ECU credentials.
eBooks / Books - Accounting
Financial accounting: Reporting, analysis and decision making (6th ed.)
Carlon, S., Mladenovic-McAlpine, R., Palm, C., Mitrione, L., Kirk, N., & Wong, L. (2018) [ebook]
Accounting: Business reporting for decision making (6th ed.)
Birt, J. (2016) [ebook]
Management accounting (4th ed.)
Eldenburg, L. (2019) [ebook]
Financial accounting theory (4th ed.)
Deegan, C. (2014) [ebook]
Auditing: A practical approach (3rd ed.)
Moroney, R., Campbell, F. M., & Hamilton, J. M. (2016) [ebook]
Accounting thought and practice reform
Clarke, F., Dean, G. W., & Persson, M. E. (2018) [ebook]
eBooks / Books - Economics & Finance
Principles of economics (4th ed.)
Sloman, J., Norris, K., & Garrett, D. (2013) [ebook]
Fundamentals of corporate finance (9th ed.)
Brealey, R. A., Myers, S. C., & Marcus, A. J. (2017) [ebook]
Essentials of investments (11th ed.)
Bodie, Z., Kane, A., & Marcus, A. (2019) [ebook]
Principles of economics (Asia-Pacific edition)
Gans, J., King, S., & Stonecash, R. (2017) [ebook]
Basic business statistics: Concepts and applications (global, 14th ed.)
Berenson, M., Levine, D., Szabat, K., & Stephan, D. (2019) [ebook]
Basic business statistics: Concepts and applications (13th ed.)
Berenson, M., Levine, D., Szabat, K., & Krehbiel, T. (2014) [ebook]
Databases - Accounting, Economics & Finance
Search directly in the databases listed below to locate additional peer-reviewed journal articles and data for your assignments:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. Incorporates the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (essential publications for information about the financial services industry) and ABI/INFORM Collection (covers business, corporate strategies, management theory and techniques, business trends, competitive landscape and product information, accounting, finance and more... - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Includes commentaries and standards for Australian taxation laws and financial reporting.
- Tax news and analysis services
- Source materials (legislation, bills & EMs, ATO rulings, cases)
- Tax analytical services (manuals, journals, handbooks, commentary, tax rates, etc.)
- Australian Tax Office
- Accounting services
- Superannuation & financial services - CCH iKnowConnect (previously CCH IntelliConnect) This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide selection CCH handbooks and Reporter services for accounting practitioners - tracks, reports, explains and analyses Australian legal requirement for Australian business & law practitioners - commentary, legislation, law reports & case notes on many topics.
- Worldwide Business Tax Guide byPublication Date: Continually updated resource [online]Provides comprehensive, practical coverage of the business tax environment of certain countries - includes all forms of doing business and their tax treatment, direct, indirect and local taxes, losses, capital gains, group treatment, and rules relating to inbound and outbound investment.
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- ASIC Digest - Government and regulatory material from the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford publish over 300 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine, two-thirds of which are published in partnership with learned and professional societies. - Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowAn online library, providing easy access to thousands of books in Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Law, Public Health and Epidemiology.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - Accounting, Economics & Finance
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Trade Publications - Accounting, Economics & Finance
- Financial Standard
Focuses on trade news, investment analysis and education for superannuation trustees, financial planners, researchers, consultants, investment managers, and professional investors.
- Access Economics Business Outlook (Journal)Call Number: [PRINT] Joondalup S330.994 ACCPublished quarterly, held 2002 to present
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Accounting
- A to Z of Accountancy AbbreviationsICAEW (Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales) [online]
- Glossary of Sharemarket TermsAustralian Stock Exchange [online]
Essential Accounting Dictionary by Publication Date: 2008 [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Economics and Finance
Dictionary of finance and investment terms (8th ed.) by Call Number: 332.03 DOWPublication Date: 2010 [print]
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking by Call Number: 332.03 BANPublication Date: 2010 [print]
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics (3rd Ed.) by Publication Date: 2018 [ebook]
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) by Publication Date: 2015 [ebook]
Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2022
In 2022, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond, Philip H. Dybvig “for research on banks and financial crises”.
Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2021
In 2021, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to David Card "for his empirical contributions to labour economics", and Joshua D. Angrsit and Guido W. Imbens for "their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships."
Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2020
In 2020, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”.
Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2019
In 2019, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer "for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty."
Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2018
In 2018, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded to:
- William D. Nordhaus "for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis", and
- Paul M. Romer "for integrating technological innovations into long-run macroeconomic analysis."
Related Guides
- News and Current AffairsCredible news sources to support your assignment research. Subscription access via ECU
NEWS
- The Conversation (2021, October 20) : Succession: Logan Roy’s hand-picked directors cover up wrongdoing, just like in real life. (Nader Atawnah)
- World Trade Statistical ReviewThe “World Trade Statistical Review 2021”, published by the World Trade Organisation, looks into the latest trends in global trade, with in-depth analysis of what is being traded and who the key players are. It also reviews the latest developments in trade policy-making in areas such as trade facilitation and trade-restrictive measures.
IBISWorld’s Webinar recording covering the industries that are benefiting from the shift to WFH and the long-term economic shifts due to COVID-19 has been released and can be accessed here, along with the accompanying slides.
COVID-19 Insights from IBISWorld’s Chief Economist
Each week since 20 April, IBISWorld's Chief Economist Richard Buczynski, Ph.D. has provided a concise podcast-style recording discussing timely developments surrounding COVID-19 and its impacts on industries and economies around the world.