Useful Links
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)The world’s largest educational and scientific computing society.
- ISOC: the Internet SocietyA nonprofit organisation founded in 1992 to provide leadership in Internet related standards, educations and policy.
- Electronic Frontiers FoundationCivil liberties group defending rights in the digital world.
- IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) provides one of the most comprehensive international collections of technical industry standards from over 175 countries. In helping to develop and make a wide range of global industry standards accessible IEEE seeks to foster global connectivity, interoperability, and security.
Learn more about the development of standardization across industries and technology here: IEEE SA - Standards in Action (ecu.edu.au)
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
- ZDNet - AustraliaOnline technology magazine published by CBS interactive. Available in Australia, Asia, China, France, Germany, United Kindon, USA editions.
- CiteseerA scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- The Australian ITLatest Information Technology news
- Wired.comWired.com is a daily technology news website.
eBooks / Books - MIS
Systems analysis and design in a changing world (7th ed.)
Satzinger, J., Jackson, R., & Burd, S. (2015) [ebook]
BABOK: Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge
International Institute of Business Analysis (2015) [print]
Shelf location: 658.4038 BAB
Management information systems: Managing the digital firm (15th ed.)
Laudon, K. C., & Laudon, J. P. (2018). [ebook]
Databases - MIS
Search directly in the databases listed below to locate additional peer-reviewed journal articles and data for your assignments:
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport. - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Provides their information technology news, research reports, and business and market analysis, and includes product descriptions and comparisons, information on trends, and a calendar of upcoming conferences and events for IT managers, specialists, and business interests. - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Published by the Association for Computing Machinery, provides the full-text of 21 ACM core journals and co-sponsored journal titles and conference proceedings. - IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. It is possible to browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results. Some Standards can also be searched from within IEEE Xplore. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Computer Science and Information Technology subjects available.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new windowGlobal research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - MIS
- Project Management Journal Project Management Institute publication - access via SAGE Journals
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Computing
A dictionary of computing
Oxford University Press (2008)
Call Number: 004.03 DIC [print]