Skip to main content

Document Delivery

VDX user guide and FAQs

Welcome!

Welcome to the ECU Library's Document Delivery service. This service is for obtaining resources not owned by  ECU in support of University teaching, learning and research. Students and staff eligible for interlibrary loans and document delivery may use this service. You may request books, articles, book chapters and other material not held by ECU library. 

The software product used to request items from other libraries is called VDX. VDX stands for Virtual Document Exchange. It is an interlibrary loan software which enables libraries within Australia and New Zealand to share resources. 

For more information on using the VDX software please see the VDX User Guide.

VDX

 

Who is eligible to use Document Delivery services?

Document delivery is available to:

  • academic and general staff with university related research needs;
  • graduate, honours and higher degree students;
  • remote and off-campus students;
  • offshore students (please note we are only able to obtain copies of chapters or articles for offshore students and are unable to send books from other libraries to these students).

Check the following first before putting in a request

Check the following before placing a request

  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

 

  • Trove
    Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia, State and institutional libraries. It's a searchable catalogue to the extensive collection of digital resources including full-text Australian theses, books, journal and newspaper articles, images, music, sound, video, maps, websites, diaries, letters, archives, people and organisations.

 

  • OAlster
    OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide. Digital resources include items such as digitised books and articles, digital texts, audio files, images, movies and data-sets.

 

Useful tools

FindIT
Know exactly what you are looking for? Find it using the article locator

Kopernio
Kopoernio is a free browser plugin that integrates with scholarly databases and journal websites and uses your library credentials to provide single click access to PDF files of journal articles. It provides legal access to PDFs by searching library subscriptions, open access publishers, institutional repositories, pre-print servers, Google Scholar, etc.
 

Google Scholar Library Links
If you are searching from home or from a different network than ECU you can amend your settings in Google Scholar so they link to the ECU results.

Set up links to full-text articles at ECU Library

  • Go to Google Scholar Preferences (http://scholar.google.com/scholar_preferences)
  • Click on Library Links
    •   Type Edith Cowan University in the Library Links text box
    • Check the bos next to Edith Cowan University Library - Find It@ECU
    • Click save

Contact Us

Website:

ECU Document Delivery

Telephone: 61 (8) 6304 5525
Email: docdel@ecu.edu.au

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Nyoongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Nyoongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.