Useful Links
- ECU Human Resources Management Club The object of the Human Resources Management Club is to provide its members and the general ECU community with many opportunities for learning, exposure, and interaction with the Human Resources Industry, and to contribute to the success of graduated by building lasting industry relationships.
- Chief Learning Officer (USA)Multimedia publication focused on the importance, benefits and advancements of a properly trained workforce.
- Management Innovation eXchange (MIX)
Open innovation project aimed at reinventing management for the 21st century. - The Corporate Rebels
Joost and Pim quit their frustrating, corporate jobs and set out to travel the world and visit the most inspiring organizations.
- WA Government. Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and SafetyIncludes Labour Relations & WorkSafe.
- Western Australian Industrial Relations CommissionIndependent quasi-judicial tribunal established under the Industrial Relations Act 1979 to prevent and settle industrial disputes.
- WA Government. Equal Opportunity CommissionDiscrimination, sexual harassment, racial harassment and victimisation in specific areas of public life are covered by the Equal Opportunity Act 1984 (the Act). The Equal Opportunity Commission works throughout Western Australia to promote the Act and conciliate discrimination and harassment complaints.
- WA Government. Department of Training and Workforce DevelopmentManages the State Government’s investment in vocational education and training.
- WA Government - Human resources developmentManaging the public sector, jobs, careers and training
- Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) - Chart PackGraphs on the Australian Economy and Financial Markets
- Trading Economics - Stock Market IndexesStock market indexes quotes for several countries
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key
See:
- AS ISO 30405:2019 Human resource management - Guidelines on recruitment
- AS ISO 30408:2019 Human resource management - Guidelines on human governance
- AS 5620:2015 Workforce planning
- HB 90.7-2000 Education and training - guide to ISO 9001:2000
- Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
Academic Journals - Human Resource Management
- Harvard Business ReviewOnline access (via EBSCO Business Source Ultimate)
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
Databases - Human Resource Management
Search directly in the databases listed below to locate additional peer-reviewed journal articles and data for your assignments:
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Marketing, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Career Development, Commercial Law, Corporate Governance, e-Business, Economics, Employment, Human Resources, Labour, Management, Marketing, Occupational Health, Taxation, and Unions. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. - SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes more than 1000 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Their growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowA nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesising and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
- CCH iKnowConnect (previously CCH IntelliConnect) This link opens in a new window
Includes CCH handbooks and Reporter services. The Reporter services track, report, explain and analyse Australian legal requirement for Australian business & law practitioners. They provide commentary, legislation, law reports & case notes on many topics:
• Employment & HR (includes Australian Master Human Resources Guide, Australian Employment Law guide, Australian HRM Line Manager Tools, Australian Recruitment & Termination Guide etc.)
• Industrial Relation (Australian Labour Law Reporter, etc.)
• Workers Compensation
• Discrimination (Australian & NZ Equal Opportunity) - Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Contains information on workplace, employment & industrial law, including full text to subscribed reported and unreported cases.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
eBooks / Books
Armstrong's handbook of strategic human resource management (6th ed.)
Armstrong, M. (2016) [ebook]
Employment relations: Theory and practice (4th ed.)
Bray, M., Waring, P., Cooper, R., & MacNeil, J. (2017) [ebook]
Strategy and human resource management (4th ed.)
Boxall, P., & Purcell, J. (2015) [ebook]
Human resource management: Strategy and practice (10th ed.)
Nankervis, A., Baird, M., Coffey, J., & Shields, J. (2019) [print]
Shelf location: 658.3 NAN
Strategic human resource management: A research overview
Storey, J., Ulrich, D., & Wright, P. M. (2019) [ebook]
Strategic HRM : Contemporary Issues in the Asia Pacific Region
Connell, J., & Teo, S. (Eds.) (2010) [print]
Call Number: 658.30095 STR
Human resource development: Learning for innovation and productivity (5th ed.)
Delahaye, B., & Choy, S. (2018) [print]
Call Number: 658.3124 DEL
Organisational behaviour: Emerging knowledge, global insights (6th ed.)
McShane, S., Olekalns, M., & Newman, A. (2016) [ebook]
Contemporary human resource management: Text and cases (5th ed.)
Wilkinson, A., Redman, T., & Dundon, T. (2016) [ebook]
Resourcing and talent management (7th ed.)
Taylor, S. (2018) [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - HR and IR
- International encyclopaedia for labour law and industrial relations by • Covers individual as well as collective labour relations • Offers factual information and practical insight into both the technical legal and day-to-day aspects of labour relations • Covers developing trends in the relationship between management and labour • Covers major international bodies such as the ILO, NAFTA, OECD and the EU • Case Law of relevant international and regional jurisprudence with background notesPublication Date: Continually updated resource [online]
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management by Publication Date: 2008 [print]
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management by
This dictionary offers over 6,000 key terms covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations. Ideal for all professionals who work with personnel terminology, particularly those in HR departments, recruitment consultants and employment lawyers.
Publication Date: 2006 [ebook]
