Useful Links
- World Bank: 'Doing Business' Law LibraryLargest free online collection of business laws and regulations.
- WorldLII - World Legal Information Institute
WorldLII provides access to International Courts and Tribunals decisions through 14 Legal Information Institutes which include the following:
- Australian Parliamentary Library - search Click on the topic heading you are interested in to bring up Parliamentary Library Research Publications and Bills Digests related to that subject.
- Australian Taxation Office - Legal databaseFind law, interpretations and policy that the ATO uses when making decisions.
- The Treasury - Policy topics The Treasury advises the government across a range of policies including business and industry, taxation, banking and finance, consumers and community.
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new window
Australian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
Techstreet is no longer available for Standards access. For standards please go to Engineering Workbench - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench by Accuris provides access to Australian and International Standards (including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards). The database allows you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, books, patents and patent applications, and utility modes.
eBooks / Books
Business law (11th ed.)
Gibson, A., & Osborne, S. (2019) [ebook]
Business and company law (2nd ed.)
James, N. (2019) [ebook]
Business law (10th ed.)
Gibson, A., & Fraser, D. (2017) [ebook]
Business law
Marson, J. (2011) [ebook]
Find print books on specific areas of law using the following call numbers (shelf locations):
- 332 Banking
- 344 Superannuation
- 346 Bankruptcy/Insolvency
- 346 Insurance
- 346 Negligence
Databases - Legal Resources for Business
- CCH iKnowConnect (previously CCH IntelliConnect) This link opens in a new window
Instantly access the latest high quality research content with the latest commentary, legislation and rulings. Filter your results by content type, library, topic, jurisdiction or by court. Titles included:
- Asia Business Guide
- Australian Business Advisers Guide
- Australian Business Law Tracker
- Australian Buying and Selling Businesses
- Australian Corporate Business Law Report
- Australian Customs Duty Commentary
- Australian Customs Legislation
- Buying and Selling Business - Personal property (under the Conveyancing and Property library listing)
- China Business Law Guide
- Insurance Law Library
- PRC Briefing (Peoples Republic of China business briefing)
- Employment & HR Library (Employment law, Human Resource Management and related titles)
- Tax Library (FBT, Australian tax legislation cases, commentary and state payroll tax legislation, commentary and rulings)
- Company, Corporate and Securities law Library (Corporations legislation, commentary and cases, ASX listing rules and commentary, Hong Kong and Malaysian Company Law commentary)
- Bankruptcy and Insolvency Library
- Trade Practices, Consumer and Contract Law Library - Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Commentaries and standards for Australian taxation laws and financial reporting, including:
- Australian Income Tax 1936 legislation & commentary
- Australian Income Tax 1997 legislation & commentary
- Australian Superannuation legislation, commentary & research materials
- Australian Tax / GST / CGT Handbooks
- Australian Tax Reports
- Rulings and guidelines
- GST bills and explanatory memoranda - Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
- Bankruptcy Law and Practice
- Australian Corporations and Securities titles
- Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Title 45: Banking and Finance / Title 4 - Business Organisations / Title 3 - Bankruptcy​
- Australian Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents (commentary and guidance on drafting precedents) - Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the Laws of Australia encyclopaedia, the KeyCite (previously FirstPoint) legal citator, and a KeyNumber legal topic classification system. See Westlaw - International Materials for international legal sources. - Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including Accounting, Tax, Banking, and Industry Trends.
- National Library of Australia (NLA) - eResourcesAccess to free indexes, databases, and guides to different areas of law.
To view the full range of legal resources, visit the Law subject guide.
Finding Legislation
- Western Australian Legislation
Parliamentary Counsel's Office - the official WA Government site for access to Western Australian legislation, and the most up-to-date resource. - Federal Register of Legislation
The official Australian Government site for access to the most current Commonwealth of Australia legislation.
Other Legislative Instruments are also available on this website and include: Regulations (otherwise known as Statutory Rules), ordinances, orders, determinations and proclamations.
Databases - Industry, Markets and Company Information
Use the following databases to find country-specific industry reports and customisable statistical data reports:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Australian and global industry analysis for a range of industries, services and products, containing Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research.
Watch online tutorials: https://help-ibisworld-com.ezproxy.ecu.edu.au/en/ - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials. - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - WARC This link opens in a new window
Offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.
Watch this quick overview: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nB5mNDFVIvw - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots. - World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new windowThe primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
- WorldData.AI This link opens in a new windowCurated data from global sources. Sign up using your ECU email to access, search and download data from over 3.3 billion datasets.
- World Bank - Data CatalogIncludes the following & many more:
* World Development Indicators & Africa Development Indicators
* Global Development Finance
* Research Datasets and Analytical Tools - Regional Economic Reports (IMF)These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions, as well as regional policy developments and challenges, and provide country-specific data and analysis.
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Library at IP Australia. Contains journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.
Academic Journals - Law in Business
Search in ECU Library for:
- Banking Law - Australia - Periodicals
- Banking Law - United States - Periodicals
- Finance - Law and Legislation - Australia - Periodicals