A Good Starting Point
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and key reference sources are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding key words and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Business and Management
The AMA dictionary of business and management
Kurian, G. T. (2013) [ebook]
Dictionary of Business and Management
Law, E. (Ed.) / Oxford University Press (2006) [print]
Call Number: 650.03 DIC
Encyclopedia of knowledge management
Schwartz, D. (Ed.) (2006) [ebook]
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.)
Wright, J. (Ed.) (2015) [ebook]
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Management Research
Thorpe, R., & Holt, R. (2008) [ebook]
The American Heritage Dictionary of Business Terms
Scott, D. L. (2009) [print]
Call Number: 650.03 SCO
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Accounting
- A to Z of Accountancy AbbreviationsICAEW (Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales) [online]
- Glossary of Sharemarket TermsAustralian Stock Exchange [online]
Essential Accounting Dictionary by Publication Date: 2008 [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Economics and Finance
Dictionary of finance and investment terms (8th ed.) by Call Number: 332.03 DOWPublication Date: 2010 [print]
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking by Call Number: 332.03 BANPublication Date: 2010 [print]
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics (3rd Ed.) by Publication Date: 2018 [ebook]
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) by Publication Date: 2015 [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - HR and IR
- International encyclopaedia for labour law and industrial relations by • Covers individual as well as collective labour relations • Offers factual information and practical insight into both the technical legal and day-to-day aspects of labour relations • Covers developing trends in the relationship between management and labour • Covers major international bodies such as the ILO, NAFTA, OECD and the EU • Case Law of relevant international and regional jurisprudence with background notesPublication Date: Continually updated resource [online]
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management by Publication Date: 2008 [print]
Dictionary of Human Resources and Personnel Management by
This dictionary offers over 6,000 key terms covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations. Ideal for all professionals who work with personnel terminology, particularly those in HR departments, recruitment consultants and employment lawyers.
Publication Date: 2006 [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Marketing
Concise Encyclopedia of Professional Services Marketing
Clow, K., & Stevens, R. (2009) [ebook]
Dictionary of Marketing Terms
Imber, J., & Toffler, B. (2008) [print]
Call Number: 381.03 IMB
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Tourism, Hospitality & Hotel Management
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism (3rd Ed.) by Call Number: 338.479103 DICPublication Date: 2010 [print]
International Dictionary of Hospitality Management by Publication Date: 2008 [ebook]
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by Call Number: 910.3 COLPublication Date: 2008 [print]
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management by Publication Date: 2010 [eBook]
The Encyclopedia of Tourism and Recreation in Marine Environments by Call Number: 338.4791 ENCPublication Date: 2008 [print]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Legal
- Halsbury's Laws of Australia (via Lexis+) Halsbury's Laws of Australia is a legal encyclopaedia providing a comprehensive overview of Australian law, and is a must-have reference tool for legal professionals in private and public sectors, librarians and students. Halsbury's 89 titles cover both mainstream and little known subject areas. Halsbury's Laws of Australia presents principles of law in a succinct propositional style, supported by extensive references to Australian legislative and judicial authority which allow users to quickly find the required information and conduct further research. Each subject within this encyclopaedia of law is written by highly-experienced and well-regarded authors and then extensively checked to ensure accuracy.Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource
- The Laws of Australia (via Westlaw) Instant access to over 320 specific topics across 36 broad subject areas. Aiding your research, The Laws of Australia online also provides thousands of links to Westlaw's other online services such as KeyCite, law journals, law reports and unreported judgments, all in the one service, all on Westlaw.Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource
- Australian Legal Words and Phrases (via Lexis+)Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource
- Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (via Lexis+)Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource
Macquarie dictionary : Australia's national dictionary online by Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource, 2003 -
Australian Law Dictionary (3rd ed) by
The Australian Law Dictionary is a key reference for those who need familiarity with, and knowledge of, Australian legal terms most commonly encountered when studying law and in the profession. This law dictionary is specifically designed to build legal knowledge and continues the tradition of accurate, authoritative and quality dictionaries published by Oxford University Press Australia.
https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780190304737.001.0001
Publication Date: 2017 [ebook]
LexisNexis Concise Australian Legal Dictionary by Publication Date: (LexisNexis Butterworths, 6th ed, 2021) [ebook]
Dictionaries - English Language
- Macquarie dictionary : Australia's national dictionary online by Publication Date: Continually Updated Resource, 2003 -
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Statistics
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics (4th ed.) by Publication Date: 2010 [ebook]
Dictionaries / Encyclopedias - Computing
A dictionary of computing
Oxford University Press (2008)
Call Number: 004.03 DIC [print]