Getting Started
About this guide
This guide will help you to:
- Find the best library resources for Computer Science at ECU. Use the navigation on the left to explore.
- Explore the 'researching a topic' page for guidance on the research process from searching for a book, researching your assignment, to finding the best peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on your subject.
- For tips and tricks to using the technologies surrounding Computer Science and skills around formatting your assignment visit the Computer Literacy and Guides page
Quick links
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers a repository of resources which specifically aim to support community engagement on computing research and practice.
Curated by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to journals, books and conference proceedings they publish as well as exclusive computer subject specific search terms and collections. See this link for details about the “Computing Classification System” developed for ACM
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. It is possible to browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results. Some Standards can also be searched from within IEEE Xplore. - Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
4 things you need to know...
- You have access to a wide range of eBooks - use your reading lists and then our ECU Library Search.
- You can take advantage of our large collection of journal articles.
- The librarians can help you with referencing.
- You can also locate useful resources specific to your subject.