News
- Consultation on a Bill for a new Online Safety Act (2020, December 23)
The Government's proposed Online Safety Bill provides new and strengthened powers for the eSafety Commissioner. The proposed Bill includes a new adult cyber abuse scheme that will provide a pathway for the removal of seriously harmful online abuse when websites, social media or other online services don't remove it after a complaint. The Bill also reduces the time in which online services must delete cyberbullying or image-based abuse material from 48 to 24 hours after receiving a notice from the eSafety Commissioner.
Public Consultation Submissions (open until 14 February 2021)
- The Conversation (2020, December 7) : Nothing like the mafia: cybercriminals are much like the everyday, poorly paid business worker. (Dr Roberto Musotto)
- The Conversation (2020, June 2) : Is your super money safe? Here’s how you can dodge cyber fraud. (Dr Roberto Musotto)
- Cybersecurity: Best Practices for Firms and Employees During COVID-19LexisNexis - As COVID-19 forces the legal industry to work remotely, firm cybersecurity protocols are becoming fragmented. This provides ample opportunity for online scammers - one they are capitalising on. The responsibility for data security rests in part with all employees, but luckily a few simple things can be done to minimise cyber risk in this uncertain time.
Cybersecurity Law
Books on Cybersecurity Law are shelved at Call Number 341.6
Cybersecurity Law by
A definitive guide to cybersecurity law Expanding on the author's experience as a cybersecurity lawyer and law professor, Cybersecurity Law is the definitive guide to cybersecurity law, with an in-depth analysis of U.S. and international laws that apply to data security, data breaches, sensitive information safeguarding, law enforcement surveillance, cybercriminal combat, privacy, and many other cybersecurity issues. Written in an accessible manner, the book provides real-world examples and case studies to help readers understand the practical applications of the presented material. The book begins by outlining the legal requirements for data security, which synthesizes the Federal Trade Commission's cybersecurity cases in order to provide the background of the FTC's views on data security. The book also examines data security requirements imposed by a growing number of state legislatures and private litigation arising from data breaches. Anti-hacking laws, such as the federal Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, Economic Espionage Act, and the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and how companies are able to fight cybercriminals while ensuring compliance with the U.S. Constitution and statutes are discussed thoroughly. Featuring an overview of the laws that allow coordination between the public and private sectors as well as the tools that regulators have developed to allow a limited amount of collaboration, this book also: * Addresses current U.S. and international laws, regulations, and court opinions that define the field of cybersecurity including the security of sensitive information, such as financial data and health information * Discusses the cybersecurity requirements of the largest U.S. trading partners in Europe, Asia, and Latin America, and specifically addresses how these requirements are similar to (and differ from) those in the U.S. * Provides a compilation of many of the most important cybersecurity statutes and regulations * Emphasizes the compliance obligations of companies with in-depth analysis of crucial U.S. and international laws that apply to cybersecurity issues * Examines government surveillance laws and privacy laws that affect cybersecurity as well as each of the data breach notification laws in 47 states and the District of Columbia * Includes numerous case studies and examples throughout to aid in classroom use and to help readers better understand the presented material * Supplemented with a companion website that features in-class discussion questions and timely and recent updates on recent legislative developments as well as information on interesting cases on relevant and significant topics Cybersecurity Law is appropriate as a textbook for undergraduate and graduate-level courses in cybersecurity, cybersecurity law, cyber operations, management-oriented information technology (IT), and computer science. This book is also an ideal reference for lawyers, IT professionals, government personnel, business managers, IT management personnel, auditors, and cybersecurity insurance providers. JEFF KOSSEFF is Assistant Professor of Cybersecurity Law at the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland. He frequently speaks and writes about cybersecurity and was a journalist covering technology and politics at The Oregonian, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and a recipient of the George Polk Award for national reporting.
Publication Date: (Wiley, 2017) [ebook]
Human Dimensions of Cybersecurity by Publication Date: (CRC Press, 2019) [ebook]
Cyber Attacks and International Law on the Use of Force by Call Number: 341.6 SAMPublication Date: (Routledge, 2019) [print]
Cybercrime in Progress by Publication Date: (Routledge, 2015) [ebook]
- The Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and LawThis peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law (JDFSL) focuses on the advancement of the field by publishing the state of the art in both basic and applied research conducted worldwide.
Identify additional peer-reviewed journals by subject area using Scimago Journal Rankings - articles from these journals will be credible assignment resources:
LexisNexis Practical Guidance - Cybersecurity, Data Protection & Privacy
- Practical Guidance provides guidance, primary law, precedents, forms and excerpts from LexisNexis commentary. Contains links to related external sites, such as courts and government agencies.
- Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the CaseBase legal citator and Halsbury's Laws of Australia encyclopaedia. - CCH iKnowConnect (previously CCH IntelliConnect) This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes: Accounting, Business Law, Employment and HR, Family Law, Industrial Relations, Intellectual Property, Sports & Medical Law, Workplace Health and Safety and more... - Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the Laws of Australia encyclopaedia, the KeyCite (previously FirstPoint) legal citator, and a KeyNumber legal topic classification system. See Westlaw - International Materials for international legal sources. - AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes peer-reviewed legal journals from across Australasia and the Asia-Pacific region.
- AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
A collection of cases, legislation and over 125 law journals that covers Australian and New Zealand Legislation, Court Judgments ("Case Law") , and Commentaries and Summaries on the Law. (User Guide)
- Australasian Cyber Law Institute The Australasian Cyber Law Institute is a professional association for specialists passionate about the effective governance of cyberspace.
- General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) - The EU introduced GDPR in May 2016
- Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
- The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
- The European Commission
- The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)