Constitutional Law
- Historical Introduction to the Annotated Constitution of the Australian Commonwealth (free access) - reproduced by the University of Sydney from the original by John Quick in 1901) - an extensive historical introduction to the Annotated Constitution of the Australian Commonwealth.
- The Constitution of the Commonwealth of Australia (free access) - reproduced by the University of Sydney in 2000, from the original 1902 book by W. Harrison Moore.
Books on Constitutional Law are shelved at Call Number 342
Constitutional Law: Case Summaries (6th ed.) by Call Number: 342.94 PRIPublication Date: 2016 [ebook]
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the KeyCite (previously FirstPoint) legal citator, a KeyNumber legal topic classification system (see 16 - Constitutional Law), and the Laws of Australia encyclopaedia (see Government > Constitutional Law). - Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the CaseBase legal citator and Halsbury's Laws of Australia encyclopaedia (see Title 90 - Constitutional Law).
Publications > Practice and Procedure: High Court and Federal Court - includes the Constitution and commentary on each section. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains the HeinOnline Academic Core Collection including Criminal Justice Journals, English Reports, Harvard Research in International Law, Law Journal Library, Legal Classics, U.S. Supreme Court Library, World Constitutions Illustrated; Foreign & International Law Resources Database and the Philip c. Jessup Library.
- World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new windowVia HeinOnline. Includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for all countries. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Factbook, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
- AGIS Plus Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes peer-reviewed legal journals from across Australasia and the Asia-Pacific region.
- AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
A collection of cases, legislation and over 125 law journals that covers Australian and New Zealand Legislation, Court Judgments ("Case Law") , and Commentaries and Summaries on the Law. (User Guide)
- Australia’s Constitutional Milestones (from the Australian Parliamentary website)
- Documenting a Democracy (National Archives of Australia) Scanned images of significant constitutional legislation and documents
- Australian Law Reform Commission
- Australian Constitutional Convention 1998
- Australian Republican Movement
- New South Wales Law Journal 4:2 – “The 1998 Constitutional Convention: an Experiment in Popular Reform?”
- Records of the Australasian Federal Conventions of the 1890s
- Parliament of Australia - Law by topic
- Constitution Education Fund Australia an independent, non-partisan and non-profit organisation committed to increasing public understanding and appreciation of the Constitution, its history and contemporary relevance
- The Samuel Griffith Society
- Constitutional recognition of Indigenous Australians Australian Government, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
- Senate Standing Committees on Legal and Constitutional Affairs
Landmark Cases
- University of Melbourne - Constitutional Law - some Landmark Cases
- Palmer v. Western Australia [2021] HCA 5