Getting Started
About this guide
This guide will help you to:
Find subject relevant resources, news, and websites for Cyber Security.
Explore the 'Researching a Topic' page for guidance on the research process from searching for a book to finding the best peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on your subject.
Looking for Academic or Scholarly sources for your assignment or research?
Visit Academic Resources to find scholarly databases and journals with research and publications from cyber security experts and researchers.
Want to look for real world or industry information or events?
Visit Industry Resources to find selected professional organisations, tools, and resources from the cyber security industry.
If you need to ask a question or get in contact with a librarian:
Further Assistance - will have some drop in times and contact details
Where to begin?
If you are not sure where to go first here are some sources you can start with:
Do you need definitions, methodology outlines, or theory in cyber security?
Find a relevant book through our catalogue:
- Computer Security @ ECUSubject search including computer security and computer network security measures. Use for Cyber Security
Need to locate research papers or case studies to see if anyone had tested a certain theory?
Try searching a research database for journal articles, conference papers, and case studies:
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. It is possible to browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results. Some Standards can also be searched from within IEEE Xplore. - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers a repository of resources which specifically aim to support community engagement on computing research and practice.
Curated by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to journals, books and conference proceedings they publish as well as exclusive computer subject specific search terms and collections. See this link for details about the “Computing Classification System” developed for ACM
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Need information about a company or product?
Try searching through industry databases or visiting their website for manuals and reports:
- DatAnalysis This link opens in a new windowContains company data and up to date financial data for all ASX (Australian Securities Exchange) listed companies, updated daily from relevant ASX announcements. Search by using the ASX code or all or part of the company name.
Watch the DatAnalysis tutorial. - MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world.
Click here for the MarketLine user guide and video tutorials.
Need to find standards, legislation, or national policy?
Try searching a standards or legislation database:
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench, By Acuris is a database platform that provides access to over 2.3 m international standards (ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE), identifying those that refer to each other. It also allows you to search for related bibliographic information inclusive of technical articles, journals books and patents, patent applications and utility modes.
[Note: You must register to use this platform by creating a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards using Engineering Workbench
- Federal Register of Legislation
The official Australian Government site for access to the most current Commonwealth of Australia legislation.
Other Legislative Instruments are also available on this website and include: Regulations (otherwise known as Statutory Rules), ordinances, orders, determinations and proclamations. - Western Australian Legislation
Parliamentary Counsel's Office - the official WA Government site for access to Western Australian legislation, and the most up-to-date resource.
4 things you need to know...
- You have access to a wide range of eBooks - use your reading lists and then our ECU Library Search.
- You can take advantage of our large collection of journal articles.
- The librarians can help you with referencing.
- You can also locate useful resources specific to your subject.