Academic Resources
The sources found here are scholarly publications on and related to the topic of Marine and Freshwater Science. The following resources will allow you to locate sources have been written and published by researchers in the field.
- Books and eBooks - Use these to explore topics within the marine and freshwater sciences
- Databases - Check out the databases here if you need to research topics
- Journals - The selection of journals provided here are a collection of some impactful journals
For how to use academic sources see Researching a Topic for tips on filtering and searching for information.
Books and eBooks
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Marine Ecology @ ECUBooks and ebooks at ECU
- Marine resource management @ ECUBooks and ebooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Australian Bryozoa. Volume 1., Biology, ecology and natural history by ISBN: 1049852993Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited second edition remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals.
ISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-12-04
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Freshwater Ecology @ ECUBooks and ebooks at ECU.
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Fishery @ ECUBoth freshwater and marine
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Marine Biology @ ECUBooks and ebooks at ECU. Includes biodiversity.
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
- Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited second edition remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals.
ISBN: 9780123735539Publication Date: 2008-12-04
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Freshwater Biology @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU. Includes biodiversity
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Australian Freshwater Ecology by
As pressures on Australia's inland waters intensify from population growth, expanding resource development and climate change, there is an urgent need to manage and protect these special areas.nbsp;Understanding their ecology underpins their wise management and conservation. Australian Freshwater Ecology vividly describes the physical, chemical and biological features of wetlands, lakes, streams, rivers and groundwaters in Australia.nbsp; It presents the principles of aquatic ecology linked to practical management and conservation, and explains the causes, mechanisms, effects and management of serious environmental problems such as altered water regimes, eutrophication, salinization, acidification and sedimentation of inland waters. Key features: contributions from a diverse, highly qualified team of aquatic ecologists whose expertise spans the ecology and management of standing and running waters in Australia sections covering groundwaters, biodiversity, temporary and tropical waters, climate change, invasive species and freshwater conservation numerous Australian case-studies and guest 'text-boxes' showing management in practice concise descriptions of ecological processes and conceptual models illustrated with original, high- quality diagrams and photographsnbsp; Readable and logically structured, this text supports undergraduate and postgraduate courses in aquatic ecology and management. It is a valuable reference for consultants, restoration ecologists, water resource managers, science teachers, and other professionals with an interest in the ecology of surface and groundwaters.
ISBN: 9781118568194Publication Date: 2014-04-10
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Aquatic Sciences @ ECUGeneral sciences around the aquatic environments
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Databases
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. To search for articles and publications which are related to Marine and Freshwater Biology try using the following databases. For a broader search or for more multidisciplinary databases see Core Resources.
- CSIRO Publishing eBooks This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, plant and animal sciences, chemistry, health and the environment.
- CSIRO Publishing Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects. - REEF (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic abstract only database: 1982-2014. Produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. Indexes and abstracts both published material and grey literature about the Great Barrier Reef Region.
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare. Use these Citation Indexes to find and compare a range of academic works in science.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors.
- SciVal This link opens in a new window
Provides customised research performance metrics and collaboration data on organisations, individual researchers or groups of researchers. SciVal uses the Scopus database publication, citation and usage data in all its calculations.
[Registration required. Sign in with your personal ScienceDirect/Scopus/SciVal account.] - Scimago Journal Rankings (SJR) This link opens in a new window
SCImago Journal Rankings provides metrics and rankings of journals indexed by Scopus database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Journals
- Frontiers in Marine ScienceResearch published on the effects of environment, biological, ecological and human interactions on the ocean.
[Peer Reviewed] [Open Access] - ICES Journal of Marine SciencePublication of articles and opinion essays on the understanding of marine systems and the impact of human activity on them. Topics covered are: Oceanography, Marine Biota and Ecology, and economic factors related to the management of these areas.
[Peer Reviewed] - Marine and Freshwater ResearchPublished by the CSIRO, Marine & Freshwater Research is a multidisciplinary journal publishing original research and reviews on all aquatic environments and subject areas.
- Marine Ecology Progress Series (MEPS)MEPS is a leading ecological journal publishing research on all aspects of marine, coastal and estuarine ecology. Coverage includes the whole spectrum of species, habitats, biological organisation (cells to ecosystems) and research (fundamental and applied).
- Progress in OceanographyArticles published on oceanography providing a more comprehensive view on the subject.
[Peer Reviewed]
- Fish and FisheriesCovers a multidisciplinary study of fish biology and fisheries including ecology and ecosystem dynamics, evolutionary and biological studies, and population assessments and dynamics modelling.
[Peer Reviewed] - Freshwater BiologyPublications covering freshwater ecology and the micro-organisms and biota that is present in these environments. Topics also cover physical and chemical aspects of the systems.
[Peer Reviewed]