Horticultural Academic Resources
On this page you will find resources directly related to horticulture.
Horticultural eBooks are some selection of textbooks recommended for the different areas of horticulture
Horticultural Academic Databases are some specific collections of publications in horticulture. These will help you narrow down your focus to related scholarly articles.
Horticulture Journals are a selection of key academic journals on major topics in horticulture.
If you are unsure on what information you need have a look at the following pages for some guidance on information research:
Horticulture eBooks
Horticultural eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in horticulture. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.
If you want to browse the collection of ebooks on Plant Physiology at ECU use the following link:
- Plant Physiology @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:
Horticultural eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in horticulture. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.
If you want to browse the collection of ebooks on Plant Propagation at ECU use the following link:
- Plant Propagation @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:
Understanding Climate Change Impacts on Crop Productivity and Water Balance by ISBN: 0128097213Publication Date: 2018-02-19
Horticultural eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in horticulture. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.
If you want to browse the collection of ebooks on Vegetables and Vegetable Production at ECU use the following link:
- Vegetables @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:
Horticultural eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in horticulture. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.
If you want to browse the collection of ebooks on Fruits and Fruit Production at ECU use the following link:
- Fruits @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:
Automation in tree fruit production : Principles and practice by ISBN: 1780648529Publication Date: 2017
Horticultural eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in horticulture. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.
If you want to browse the collection of ebooks on Postharvest Horticulture at ECU use the following link:
- Postharvest Horticulture @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:
Controlled Atmosphere Storage of Fruits and Vegetables by ISBN: 9781845936471Publication Date: 2010-08-04
Postharvest: An introduction to the physiology and handling of fruit and vegetables by ISBN: 1742247857Publication Date: 2016
Horticultural Academic Databases
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of horticulture.
Broad Subject Databases
Start with these databases if you are just exploring or looking for general research around horticulture. These will give you research that also covers a broad range of disciplines.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. - CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowECU has access to CABI eBooks covering Animal Science, Environmental Impact, Forest Science, Leisure Tourism, Plant Sciences, Nutrition, and Food Sciences. Access titles from 2000-present including selected reference works and special e-text book collections.
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of horticulture.
Citation Indexes
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, or authors. You can also use these to find related topics to articles that you already have.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Horticulture Journals
Journals, similar to magazines, have a consistent cover title, and are published at regular intervals. Individual articles may be written by different authors, and generally cover different topics. Journal articles generally contain specific and more up-to- date information than is found in books.
Here are a selection of key academic journals in Horticulture
- Horticulture ResearchThe journal is committed to publishing original research articles, reviews, perspectives, comments, correspondence articles and letters to the editor related to all major horticultural plants and disciplines, including biotechnology, breeding, cellular and molecular biology, evolution, genetics, inter-species interactions, physiology, and the origination and domestication of crops.
[Open Access] - HortSciencePublishes information of interest to horticulturalists.
[Open Access] - HortTechnologyPublication and technical information around current challenges in production, education, and extension of horticulture.
[Peer Reviewed] [Open Access] - The Journal of Horticultural Science & BiotechnologyPublication of articles around the production, improvement and utilisation of horticultural crops.
[Peer reviewed] - Journal of the American Society for Horticultural SciencePublication of original research on horticultural plants and their products.
[Open Access] - Plant PathologyTop quality original research papers and critical reviews from around the world cover: diseases of temperate and tropical plants caused by fungi, bacteria, viruses, phytoplasmas and nematodes; physiological, biochemical, molecular, ecological, genetic and economic aspects of plant pathology; disease epidemiology and modelling; disease appraisal and crop loss assessment; and plant disease control and disease-related crop management.
[Peer reviewed] - Postharvest Biology and TechnologyThe journal publishes articles on biological and technological postharvest research. This includes the areas of postharvest storage, treatments and underpinning mechanisms, quality evaluation, packaging, handling and distribution of fresh horticultural crops including fruit, vegetables, flowers and nuts, but excluding grains, seeds and forages.
- PubHort (ISHS)Collection of Horticultural Publications
- Scientia HorticulturaeScientia Horticulturae is an international journal publishing research related to horticultural crops. Articles in the journal deal with open or protected production of vegetables, fruits, edible fungi and ornamentals under temperate, subtropical and tropical conditions.
Food Science and Agriculture
- Critical Reviews in Plant ScienceCritical Reviews in Plant Sciences focuses on presenting in-depth and up-to-date reviews of timely and/or cutting-edge subjects in the broad discipline of plant science, ranging from molecular biology/biochemistry through the areas of cell biology, plant pathology and physiology, genetics, classical botany, and ecology, to practical agricultural applications.
- Food ChemistryFood Chemistry publishes papers dealing with the advancement of the chemistry and biochemistry of foods or the analytical methods/approach used.
- Journal of Agricultural and Food ChemistryThe Journal publishes research results dealing with the chemistry and biochemistry of agriculture and food with a focus on original research representing complete studies, rather than incremental studies.