Introduction to Academic Resources
The sources found here are scholarly publications on and related to the topic of Conservation. The following resources will allow you to locate sources have been written and published by researchers in the field.
- Books and eBooks - Use these to explore topics within conservation biology
- Databases - Check out the databases here if you need to research topics in Conservation.
- Journals - The selection of journals provided here are a collection of some impactful journals in the field of conservation
For how to use academic sources see Researching a Topic for tips on filtering and searching for information.
Books and eBooks
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Nature Conservation @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Wildlife Conservation @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Biodiversity and ecology @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Databases
These databases are a collection of research that focuses on the study in Biology and Biodiversity. For broader databases have a look in Core Resources for more multidisciplinary databases that cover all topics under Natural Sciences and beyond.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment including Global warming, Green building, Pollution, Sustainable agriculture, Renewable energy, Recycling, and more... - Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
- REEF (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic abstract only database: 1982-2014. Produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority. Indexes and abstracts both published material and grey literature about the Great Barrier Reef Region.
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Journals
- Journal of Environmental Economics and Management[Peer Reviewed]
This journal focuses on environmental and natural resource issues. Topics look at environmental management from both an environmental science and economic point of view. - Conservation Letters[Peer Reviewed] [Open Access]
This journal publishes research on the conservation of biological diversity across both the biological and social sciences. - Ecosystem Services[Peer Reviewed]
This journal provides research and publications on the science, policy and practice of Ecosystem Services internationally.
- Wildlife ResearchPublished by the CSIRO, Wildlife Research covers all major aspects of the ecology, management and conservation of wild animals in natural and modified habitats.
- Biological Conservation[Peer Reviewed]
Publications on the biological, sociological, ethical and economical dimensions of conservation. - Endangered Species Research[Peer Reviewed] [Open Access]
This journal focuses on publications on all endangered forms of life on earth.