Introduction to Environmental Sciences
Here you will find a starting point for library research and an outline of the key resources available at ECU Library relevant to Environmental Science.
- Starting Resources - are a selection of introductory eBooks, dictionaries, and handbooks
- Environmental Sciences: Academic Resources - are key databases and journals for research into Environmental sciences
- Environmental Sciences: Industry Resources - links to professional organisations and tools
If you are looking for information for your assignments or research and are unsure where to start, have a read through:
- Researching a Topic - This will help you get started with breaking down your topic, and using our databases and search functions.
Starting Resources
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Ecology @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology by
This major reference is an overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales--from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included. Succinct, uncompromising, and authoritative--a "must have" for those interested in the use of theory in the ecological sciences.
ISBN: 9780520951785Publication Date: 2012-05-31
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Soils @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Environmental Management @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Environmental Impact Assessment @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Impact Assessment by
Offers solutions and best practices to respond to recurrent problems and contemporary challenges in the field Since the publication of the first edition of Environmental Impact Assessment in 2003, both the practice and theory of impact assessment have changed substantially. Not only has the field been subject to a great deal of new regulations and guidelines, it has also evolved tremendously, with a greater emphasis on strategic environmental, sustainability, and human health impact assessments. Moreover, there is a greater call for impact assessments from a global perspective. This Second Edition, now titled Impact Assessment to reflect its broader scope and the breadth of these many changes, offers students and practitioners a current guide to today's impact assessment practice. Impact Assessment begins with an introduction and then a chapter reviewing conventional approaches to the field. Next, the book is organized around recurrent problems and contemporary challenges in impact assessment process design and management, enabling readers to quickly find the material they need to solve tough problems, including: How to make impact assessments more influential, rigorous, rational, substantive, practical, democratic, collaborative, ethical, and adaptive How each problem and challenge-reducing process would operate at the regulatory and applied levels How each problem can be approached for different impact assessment types--sustainability assessment, strategic environmental assessment, project-level EIA, social impact assessment, ecological impact assessment, and health impact assessment How to link and combine impact assessment processes to operate in situations with multiple overlapping problems, challenges, and impact assessment types How to connect and combine impact assessment processes Each chapter first addresses the topic with current theory and then demonstrates how that theory is applied, presenting requirements, guidelines, and best practices. Summaries at the end of each chapter provide a handy tool for structuring the design and evaluation of impact assessment processes and documents. Readers will find analyses and new case studies that address such issues as multi-jurisdictional impact assessment, climate change, cumulative effects assessment, follow-up, capacity building, interpreting significance, and the siting of major industrial and waste facilities. Reflecting current theory and standards of practice, Impact Assessment is appropriate for both students and practitioners in the field, enabling them to confidently respond to a myriad of new challenges in the field.
ISBN: 9781118678381Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Handbook on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services in Impact Assessment by ISBN: 9781783478989Publication Date: 2016
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Remote Sensing @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
- GIS @ ECUsubject search for geographic information systems excluding conferences and standards
su:("Geographic information systems") NOT su:("conference papers and proceedings")
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
