Skip to Main Content

Natural Sciences: Chemistry Academic Resources

Chemistry Resources

On this page you will find resources directly related to chemistry. 

Chemistry eBooks are some selection of textbooks recommended for the different areas of chemistry

Chemistry Academic Databases are some specific collections of publications in chemistry. These will help you narrow down your focus to just chemistry related scholarly articles.

Academic Journals are a selection of key academic journals on major topics in chemistry.

If you are unsure on what information you need have a look at the following pages for some guidance on information research:

Researching a Topic

Using Information Sources

Chemistry eBooks

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of General Chemistry titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Print Books

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of Analytical Chemistry titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of Crystallography titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of Inorganic Chemistry titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of Organic Chemistry titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Chemistry eBooks provide a structured discussion on a topic in chemistry. You can use books to gain an understanding into the topic.

If you want to browse the collection of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry titles use the following link:

Here are a selection of titles that you can use to get started:

Chemistry Videos and Manuals

JoVE Chemistry videos and lab manual

See live demonstrations of laboratory experiments and methods using JoVE Lab Manual: Chemistry

Chemistry Academic Databases

Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of chemistry.

Broad Subject Databases

Start with these databases if you are just looking for research in Chemistry. These will give you research that also covers a broad range of disciplines. 

Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of chemistry.

Citation Indexes

You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, or authors. You can also use these to find related topics to articles that you already have.  

Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of chemistry.

Chemistry Focused Databases

Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of Chemistry. 

Some of these will require you to sign in using your ECU log in details.

Academic Journals

Journals, similar to magazines, have a consistent cover title, and are published at regular intervals. Individual articles may be written by different authors, and generally cover different topics. Journal articles generally contain specific and more up-to- date information than is found in books.

  • Scholarly or peer-reviewed or refereed journals are academic quality journals, which are published to disseminate research findings. There is a high expectation that students use journal articles when researching for an assignment.
  • Trade publications are published to keep professions up-to-date.
  • Magazines are published for the general public.

Here are a selection of key academic journals in Chemistry