Getting Started
About this guide
This guide will help you:
Find information resources for:
Biology - Covering Genetics, Ecology, and Evolution.
Chemistry - Covering Analytical Chemistry and Chemistry for the Life Sciences
Conservation - Covering Ecological and Biological Conservation
Environmental Management - Covering Ecology, Earth Sciences, Environmental Management Policy and Legislation, and Environmental Impact Assessment
Horticulture - Covering food production, plant physiology and postharvest horticulture.
Marine and Freshwater Biology - Covering: Marine and Freshwater Ecosystems, Limnology, Fisheries, and Marine Biology
Sustainability - Covering Environmental, Economical and Social Sustainability
Not sure where to begin?
Core Academic Resources will provide a selection of databases, journals, and links to help you get started with research in any Natural Science subject domain.
Researching a topic will guide you through the research process from searching for books to finding the best peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on your subject.
Key databases
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
- CSIRO Publishing Journals This link opens in a new window Covers the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
4 things you need to know...
- You have access to a wide range of eBooks - use your reading lists and then our ECU Library Search.
- You can take advantage of our large collection of journal articles.
- The librarians can help you with referencing.
- You can also locate useful resources specific to your subject.