Core Resources
The following are a collection of databases and resources that will help you start your research into the field. They cover all topics in Natural Sciences as well as multidisciplinary fields that cross into other subjects in science. Use these resources to broadly search the topic, or find relations between the different areas in the field.
For more focused research have a look into the subject pages for more databases, journals, tools and resources directly relating to those topics.
Academic Databases
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of Natural Sciences.
Recommended Databases
These databases are a good starting point if you want to search for scholarly information that relates to science and the natural sciences. It's recommended to start with one of these with your database searching.
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. Here are some of the databases that cover the topics of Natural Sciences.
Specialised Databases and Collections
These databases focus in on a particular range of topics in natural sciences. Use these if you need to search more narrowly.
See your specific subject pages for which databases you should use to search within just your subject.
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to chemistry-related information and research through peer-reviewed journal and eBooks. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. - CSIRO Publishing eBooks This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of scientific disciplines, including agriculture, plant and animal sciences, chemistry, health and the environment.
- CSIRO Publishing Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects. - Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes online journals Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Immunology, Science Robotics and the open access journal Science Advances.
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors.
- Scimago Journal Rankings (SJR) This link opens in a new window
SCImago Journal Rankings provides metrics and rankings of journals indexed by Scopus database. - SciVal This link opens in a new window
Provides customised research performance metrics and collaboration data on organisations, individual researchers or groups of researchers. SciVal uses the Scopus database publication, citation and usage data in all its calculations.
[Registration required. Sign in with your personal ScienceDirect/Scopus/SciVal account.] - Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Videos and Interactive Tools
- Informit EduTV This link opens in a new windowProvides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, it includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
- LinkedIn LearningSign in with your ECU email to gain access to all LinkedIn Learning's video courses and tutorials.
Professional Associations and Organisations
- UN Environment World Conservation Monitoring CentreThe UNEP-WCMC works with scientists and policy makers worldwide to place biodiversity at the heart of environment and development decision-making to enable enlightened choices for people and the planet.
Standards and Legislations
Use the following links to access Australian and International standards or Australian State and Federal Legislation.
Standards
Access Australian and International Standards
You can access a range of Australian and International Standards using the following databases:
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new windowAustralian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key
Legislation
Australian State and Federal Legislation
Use the following databases to access Australian State (WA) and Federal (Commonwealth) legislation.
- Federal Register of Legislation
The official Australian Government site for access to the most current Commonwealth of Australia legislation.
Other Legislative Instruments are also available on this website and include: Regulations (otherwise known as Statutory Rules), ordinances, orders, determinations and proclamations. - Western Australian Legislation
Parliamentary Counsel's Office - the official WA Government site for access to Western Australian legislation, and the most up-to-date resource.