Sustainability Academic Resources
On this page you will find resources directly related to sustainability.
If you are unsure on what information you need have a look at the following pages for some guidance on information research:
Sustainability eBooks
- Sustainability @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Sustainability Perspectives: Science, Policy and Practice by
The book presents methodological and applied aspects of sustainability and sustainable management from different countries and regions around the globe. It discusses approaches to sustainability assessment, demonstrates how ideas of sustainability and sustainable management are incorporated into public policies and private actions at local and national levels. Authors focus on promoting greater sustainability in natural resource management, energy production and storage, housing design, industrial reorganization, coastal planning, land use, and business strategy, including sustainability indicators, environmental damages, and theoretical frameworks. Chapters reflect environmental, economic and social issues in sustainable development, challenges encountered, and lessons learned as well as solutions proposed.
ISBN: 9783030195496Publication Date: 2019-10-25
- Sustainability Government Policies @ ECUBooks and eBooks on Government Policies and Sustainability
Sustainability by
A concise and accessible examination of sustainability in a range of contemporary contexts, from economic development to government policy.The word "sustainability" has been connected to everything from a certain kind of economic development to corporate promises about improved supply sourcing. But despite the apparent ubiquity of the term, the concept of sustainability has come to mean a number of specific things. In this accessible guide to the meanings of sustainability, Kent Portney describes the evolution of the idea and examines its application in a variety of contemporary contexts-from economic growth and consumption to government policy and urban planning.Portney takes as his starting point the 1987 definition by the World Commission on Environment and Development of sustainability as economic development activity that "meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs." At its heart, Portney explains, sustainability focuses on the use and depletion of natural resources. It is not the same as environmental protection or natural resource conservation; it is more about finding some sort of steady state so that the earth can support both human population and economic growth. Portney looks at political opposition to the promotion of sustainability, which usually questions the need for sustainability or calls its costs unacceptable; collective and individual consumption of material goods and resources and to what extent they must be curtailed to achieve sustainability; the role of the private sector, and the co-opting of sustainability by corporations; government policy on sustainability at the international, national, and subnational levels; and how cities could become models for sustainability action.
ISBN: 9780262528504Publication Date: 2015-10-09
- Sustainability: Social Aspects @ ECUBooks and eBooks on the social aspects and responsibilities around sustainable development and sustainability
Sustainability Governance and Hierarchy by
Sustainability Governance and Hierarchy provides a solid, theoretically and empirically grounded reflection on the concept of "sustainability governance". This idea has been growing in popularity in social science literature, as well as among decision-makers and governance actors, as it brings together two vast fields of study that have sometimes been dismissed as vague or ideologically loaded. In order to link the concepts of "sustainability" and "governance", the book is organized around the exploration of hierarchy issues, which often lie in the background of the existing literature but are not the focus of analysis. The chapters reflect ongoing controversies and dialogue between scientists with different theoretical and thematic backgrounds, who are all willing to participate in and contribute to a constructive effort to reach a more inclusive and more theoretically relevant stage for sustainability studies, being content with merely global analyses. The book is an innovative contribution to the hierarchy/non-hierarchy debate regarding governance arrangements in the field of sustainability and sustainability studies. This book will be of interest to advanced students and scholars focusing on governance issues, sustainability studies, environmental studies, as well as on the methodological aspects of the social sciences (economy, geography, law, philosophy, political science, sociology, urbanism and planning). This book is published with the support of the European Union, the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Upper Rhine Interreg V programme, as part of the "Upper Rhine Cluster for Sustainability Research"　project.
ISBN: 9780429578830Publication Date: 2019-06-19
Sustainability Databases
Recommended Databases
If you are looking for research around sustainability start searching with these databases. They will provide you with a broad scope of results.
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Subject Databases
Search for research in specific areas related to sustainability using the following databases:
Environmental Science
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment including Global warming, Green building, Pollution, Sustainable agriculture, Renewable energy, Recycling, and more... - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new windowA Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Business and Economics
- Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window13,000 publications from 250+ publishers covering Arts, Humanities, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Economics and Business, Engineering, Medicine, Nursing, Social Sciences and more...
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Covers Accounting, Finance, Economics, Business, Management, Education, Engineering, Health & Social Care, Library Studies, Marketing, Sociology, Tourism & Hospitality, and Transport.
Access Australian and International Standards
You can access a range of Australian and International Standards using our services.
Australian Standards (AS/ISO) are available through Techstreet.
International Standards (ISO) are available through Engineering Workbench. Only a selection of ISOs are available through ECU
- Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new window
Australian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench by Accuris provides access to Australian and International Standards (including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards). The database allows you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, books, patents and patent applications, and utility modes.
Citation Indexes
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
- SciVal This link opens in a new window
Provides customised research performance metrics and collaboration data on organisations, individual researchers or groups of researchers. SciVal uses the Scopus database publication, citation and usage data in all its calculations.
[Registration required. Sign in with your personal ScienceDirect/Scopus/SciVal account.] - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Sustainability Journals
- Ecosystem Services[Peer Reviewed]
This journal provides research and publications on the science, policy and practice of Ecosystem Services internationally.