Finding resources
Books, or monographs, are available in print and/or electronic format from the ECU Library.
Find print books or eBooks by using ECU Library search. A keyword search is a quick way to find books on a topic. If you know the title of the book that you are looking for, type "quotation marks" around the title.
You can also use the Advanced Search and filtering options to refine your search by keyword, author, title etc.
Note that you can limit your search results to only those books held at ECU by selecting Edith Cowan University from the Held By Library filter on the results screen.
For information on search strategies to find books and eBooks, please visit Information Essentials
ECU Library has a huge number of eBooks on numerous topics. You can read eBooks online, or borrow them wherever you are in the world, whenever you need them.
To search for eBooks, limit a keyword search to "eBook", using the drop down Format menu. This will search for eBooks on the particular topic. You can also use the Format menu to restrict to videos, journals, and a variety of other formats.
Visit the Library Essentials: Using eBooks page for more information or check out our eBook Library Guide.
Explore our ProQuest Ebook Central collection available from A-Z Databases Tab from Library Homepage.
Journals may be called periodicals, serials or magazines. They are usually published weekly, monthly or seasonally. Some are scholarly and can be called peer reviewed or refereed. An article is usually a short written piece or essay on a specific subject. Most of the Education journals and their articles are now electronic. A smaller number are only available in paper format.
Articles contained in the journals can be found in two ways:
1) Search ECU Library search
2) Search key databases and journal indexes listed in the A-Z Databases list
Finding journal articles with ECU Library search
ECU Library search searches across a world of books (print and online), videos, online journal articles and more. This is a good place to start searching for journal articles or books on your topic. From your search you can link directly to the full text of journal articles and eBooks, or call numbers for print books and other resources that are in the library collection on the shelves. Access ECU Library search from the Library Homepage, if you are off campus you will need to use your ADS login at the prompt to access ECU's electronic collections.
- In ECU Library search type your topic or keywords into the search box and click search
- More than one keyword can be linked together using the search operator AND (e.g. education AND innovation AND leadership), this requires the results to contain all three words in the article. Another common operator is the use of the phrase search, e.g. "classroom management"
- Once the results are displayed, look to the grey panel on the left
- Limit the results shown to those items held by ECU by selecting Edith Cowan University
- Under Content Type select full text and peer reviewed
- Select a date range if required
- Select the article title or the "Access online" button to enter the database that holds the journal title
- Once the article displays you will need to locate the PDF download button to save or print that article
Finding specific journal articles
- As with finding a book, we enter one of the authors and some of the words from the journal article title
- To access the full text of the journal article select the title or the "Access online" button to enter the database that holds the journal title
- Once the article displays you will need to locate the PDF download button to save or print that article
Due to publisher restrictions, many of the articles contained in databases may not be found in ECU Library search. It is strongly recommended that you search within a number of the education databases.
You can search for video and DVDs on ECU Library search by title, keyword or subject. You can restrict your results to the format you want by including DVD or film in your search. Alternatively you can use the format search filters once a search is complete.
Streaming video
There are a number of streaming video collections available to you at ECU. These collections include television series, news programs, feature films, and documentaries from across the globe.
Video streaming is a media technology which plays audio, video and multimedia over the internet as a continuous real-time stream. Videos can be viewed on your desktop, embedded in Blackboard and played in class. You can start watching the video before the entire file has been transmitted and you do not have to download a large file onto your computer. Streaming video and audio collections allow you to create and share clips and playlists.
-
Australian Screen Education CollectionDeveloped by Education Services Australia through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources on the site. The clips in this collection are accompanied by teachers’ notes created by specialist curriculum writers.
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new windowAward-winning digital library and online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers.
-
Informit EduTV This link opens in a new windowProvides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, it includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
-
OnTheBoards.TV This link opens in a new windowThis database is hidden to public view n 2010, On the Boards theater launched OntheBoards.tv, a website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films to your TV, desktop or mobile device
-
PsycTHERAPY This link opens in a new windowPsycTHERAPY is APA's database of streaming psychotherapy videos. Featuring expert psychotherapists demonstrating the approaches for which they are known in unscripted, spontaneous sessions, PsycTHERAPY provides access to hundreds of hours of therapy demonstrations involving diverse participants and various presenting issues. Much more than a resource for watching videos, PsycTHERAPY's clip-making and playlist features make it a resource for active engagement in clinical training and education.
-
TVNews This link opens in a new windowIndexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format.Streaming Audio - NAXOSECU students and staff have access to a large collection of music.The library subscribes to music, video and music score databases. You can create your own playlists and share them with others at ECU.Check out the Resources section to find music resources for children.
Plan your search
When conducting research, there are various resources available that can provide information on your topic. However, it is important to evaluate the quality of the source and determine whether it is appropriate for academic purposes. Some sources are more reliable than others and can provide scholarly information that is suitable for your assignments.
With each modification of your search strategy, you are one step closer to finding the most relevant articles. Keep testing and refining your search until you find what you are looking for.
- How to read a scholarly journal articleLearn about the different parts of a research article and how to use the content to evaluate quality.
To effectively explore a topic, try refining it by focusing on a particular aspect that interests you. Once you have identified this aspect, transform it into keywords that can guide your research and thinking.
Step 1: Write a short description (1 or 2 sentences) of your topic and highlight the 2-4 most significant words from it. These words are known as the key concepts.
If you wish to delve deeper, please check our Library Guide - Breaking down the question
Step 2: After identifying the key concepts, create a list of other relevant words with similar or related meanings. These words will serve as your keywords.
Here are some useful tips:
- Use a thesaurus to find alternative words.
- Try to be specific by providing examples or types.
- If you are not familiar with the topic, it can be difficult to come up with synonyms or examples. In that case, find some relevant background information to help you get started with brainstorming. You may also use a mind map.
Step 3: List the keywords/concepts and alternative terms for each keyword. You may use a thesaurus and related articles to find similar keywords.
If you are looking for scholarly journal articles for your academic assignments, databases are the best place to start. They provide access to the most recent, peer-reviewed research. To find the information you need, it is essential to learn how to search databases effectively.
Search connectors are a great tool to refine your search and get the best results. They are words and symbols that affect how your keywords or search terms are processed by a database or search engine. These connectors can be especially helpful when you get too few or too many search results. You can use these terms and connectors not only in ECU Library Search but also in other databases.
It is important to keep in mind that not all databases use the same symbols, so it is worth checking the Help section of the database you are using. For further guidance, you can refer to the tip sheets under Key Databases in Education.
Developing a well-planned search strategy is key to efficiently searching a database and obtaining relevant results. A search strategy combines keywords, phrases, subject headings, and limiters to produce the best possible outcomes. By using different variations of search terms, including synonyms and suffixes, you can increase your chances of finding valuable information. Boolean operators allow you to try different combinations of search terms or subject headings. Additionally, limiters such as date range, language, age, and publication type can be used to further narrow down your search results. By employing these strategies, you can quickly and easily find the information you need.
If you want to find the most relevant information, there are several effective techniques you can use to narrow down your search results.
- parentheses to group search terms
By enclosing a group of terms in parentheses ( ), you can force the search engine to process that part of the search before processing another part.
Moreover, you can even nest parentheses within another set, which is a powerful tool to refine your search even further.
- phrase searching, searching for a specific phrase rather than individual words
Phrase searching is a type of search that enables users to find articles containing a specific phrase, rather than a set of keywords that may appear in any order. To conduct a phrase search on most databases, the phrase needs to be enclosed in double quotation marks. For instance, if you are searching for articles on early childhood education, you should use the phrase "early childhood education".
- Boolean operators, such as "AND", "OR", and "NOT", combining or excluding search terms
Boolean operators are a useful tool to refine your search by combining keywords with "AND", "OR" and "NOT" operators. This helps you expand or narrow your search based on your requirements.
Example:
“preschool” OR “kindergarten”
Each article in your result will contain either the term preschool but may not contain both terms.
“child” AND “education”
Each article in your result will contain both terms.
“teaching” NOT “schooling”
Each article in your result will contain the term “teaching” but will not contain the term “schooling”.
- Truncation (asterisk), search for words with the same root, such as teach* to search for teaching, teacher, teachers, etc.
Truncation is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings. To use truncation, enter the root of the word with the truncation symbol at the end.
Example:
child* = child, childs, children, childrens, childhood
teach* = teach, teaching, teacher, teachers
- Wildcard ?
A wildcard character can be used to substitute for any other character or characters in a string. This is useful if a word is spelled in different ways but has the same meaning, e.g. American/British spell variants.
Example:
Wom?n = woman, women
Organi?ation = organisation, organization
Example of nested search:
(teach* OR educat*) AND “teaching activities” AND (strategy OR “plan of action” OR approach)
In addition, you may further refine the search by adding limits, such as:
- date
- language,
- field searching, such as searching only in the title or abstract
- subject searching (to narrow down results to a specific subject area)
When you are searching for something online, it is not always easy to find exactly what you're looking for. If your initial search terms don't show the results you want, there are a couple of things you can try.
One useful trick is to look for subject headings or author keywords that are related to your search.
These are usually listed in the articles you find. Once you have identified some relevant subject headings or keywords, you can use them to find additional information and common terms that might help you refine your search.
- Anatomy of a Journal ArticleScientific journal articles share a common anatomy, or structure. Each part of an article serves a purpose, and if you know
the purpose, you can become more efficient at reading and understanding articles. - Reading and Understanding AbstractsAbstracts are short summaries of scientific research articles. This guide will explain how understanding them
not only saves time but also helps you conduct better research and write more effectively.
Tayllor & Francis Ebook Collection
- Taylor & Francis eBook Collection This link opens in a new windoweBooks covering science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.
- Education Research Methods, CPD, & Study SkillsA collection of eBooks on the subject of continuing professional development, research methods in education, and study skills.
Useful research resources
Reference Resources
Reference sources, such as encyclopaedias and handbooks, offer valuable background information, facts, and vocabulary related to specific topics. Encyclopaedias provide quick overviews and citations for further reading, while handbooks offer comprehensive chapters and extensive bibliographies.
APA educational psychology handbook by
The APA Educational Psychology Handbook reflects the broad nature of the field today, with state-of-the-science reviews of the diverse critical theories driving research and practice; in-depth investigation of the range of individual differences and cultural/contextual factors that affect student achievement, motivation, and beliefs; and close examination of the research driving current assessment, decision making, teaching skills and content, teacher preparation, and the promotion of learning across the life span and with special populations. Volume 1 addresses the definition of educational psychology, some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today, broad areas of research that educational psychology has addressed based on multiple theories and that make an important contribution to the field, and emerging and cutting-edge issues. Volume 2 includes 21 chapters that examine a range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs. Volume 3 focuses on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.
ISBN: 9781433809965Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge encyclopedia of child development by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development. With clear, jargon-free style and user-friendly format, this is the essential reference for researchers and students of child development, as well as healthcare professionals, social workers, educators, and anyone interested in the well-being of children.
ISBN: 9781316216491Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of curriculum studies by
The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, first served the areas of school administration and teaching and was used to design and develop programs of study. The field subsequently expanded and drew upon disciplines from the arts, humanities, and social sciences to examine larger educational forces and their effects upon the individual, society, and conceptions of knowledge. Curriculum studies now embraces an array of academic scholarship in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests while it also focuses upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories. The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. This two-volume set serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding aspects of this rapidly changing, expansive, and contested field of study. Key Features Displays different perspectives by having authors contribute independent essays on the nature and future of curriculum studies Presents a unique and in-depth treatment of the Twenty-Sixth Yearbook of the National Society for the Study of Education (NSSE), a 1927 publication that has taken on legendary dimensions for the field of curriculum studies Contains bibliographic entries which feature specific publications by curriculum leaders that helped to define the field Helps readers to learn unfamiliar terms and concepts, to become more comfortable with specialized phrases, and to understand the many significant and perplexing concepts and questions that characterize the field Key Themes Biography and Prosopography Concepts and Terms Content Descriptions Influences on Curriculum Studies Inquiry and Research Nature of Curriculum Studies Organizations, Schools, and Projects Publications Theoretical Perspectives Types of Curricula The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies offers the careful reader a surprisingly revealing depiction of the conventions, mores, and accepted research and writing practices of the field of curriculum studies as it continues to expand and change. Availability in print and electronic formats provides students with convenient, easy access, wherever they may be.
ISBN: 9781452265766Publication Date: 2010-02-16
Encyclopedia of educational theory and philosophy by
Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Features: Over 300 signed entries by trusted experts in the field are organized into two volumes and overseen by a distinguished general editor and an international editorial board. Entries are followed by cross references and further reading suggestions. A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically The Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references combine for strong search-and-browse capabilities in the electronic version. Available in a choice of print or electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy is an ideal reference for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary educational theory. Key Themes: Aims of Education Classic Premodern Philosophers, Theories, and Theorists Curriculum Educational Research, Evaluation, and Testing Equity, Rights, Social Stratification, and Citizenship Higher Education Learners, Learning, and Teaching Liberal Education Moral, Religious, Spiritual, and Social/Cultural Values Multiculturalism and Special Populations Organization of Schooling Philosophy of Science, Sociology of Science, and Epistemology Philosophy of Education: Feminist Perspectives Philosophy of Education: Nonwestern Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Analytic Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Continental Traditions Philosophy of Education: The Political Theory Tradition Philosophy of Education: The Pragmatic Tradition Progressive Education Psychological Orientation in Educational Theory Social Sciences Orientation in Educational Theory
ISBN: 9781483346212Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of special education, Volume 1 by
The only comprehensive reference devoted to special education The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editions of assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings are discussed. Only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education Edited and written by leading researchers and scholars in the field New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition--such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis Entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of the assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings Includes an international list of authors and descriptions of special education in 35 countries Includes technology and legal updates to reflect a rapidly changing environment Comprehensive and thoroughly up to date, this is the essential, A-Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs.
ISBN: 9781119520016Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of the sciences of learning by
Over the past century, educational psychologists and researchers have posited many theories to explain how individuals learn, i.e. how they acquire, organize and deploy knowledge and skills. The 20th century can be considered the century of psychology on learning and related fields of interest (such as motivation, cognition, metacognition etc.) and it is fascinating to see the various mainstreams of learning, remembered and forgotten over the 20th century and note that basic assumptions of early theories survived several paradigm shifts of psychology and epistemology. Beyond folk psychology and its naïve theories of learning, psychological learning theories can be grouped into some basic categories, such as behaviorist learning theories, connectionist learning theories, cognitive learning theories, constructivist learning theories, and social learning theories. Learning theories are not limited to psychology and related fields of interest but rather we can find the topic of learning in various disciplines, such as philosophy and epistemology, education, information science, biology, and - as a result of the emergence of computer technologies - especially also in the field of computer sciences and artificial intelligence. As a consequence, machine learning struck a chord in the 1980s and became an important field of the learning sciences in general. As the learning sciences became more specialized and complex, the various fields of interest were widely spread and separated from each other; as a consequence, even presently, there is no comprehensive overview of the sciences of learning or the central theoretical concepts and vocabulary on which researchers rely. The Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering. This modern compendium will be an indispensable source of information for scientists, educators, engineers, and technical staff active in all fields of learning. More specifically, the Encyclopedia provides fast access to the most relevant theoretical terms provides up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the most important theories within the various fields of the learning sciences and adjacent sciences and communication technologies; supplies clear and precise explanations of the theoretical terms, cross-references to related entries and up-to-date references to important research and publications. The Encyclopedia also contains biographical entries of individuals who have substantially contributed to the sciences of learning; the entries are written by a distinguished panel of researchers in the various fields of the learning sciences.
ISBN: 9781441914286Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of early childhood special education by
This handbook discusses early childhood special education (ECSE), with particular focus on evidence-based practices. Coverage spans core intervention areas in ECSE, such as literacy, motor skills, and social development as well as diverse contexts for services, including speech-language pathology, physical therapy, and pediatrics. Contributors offer strategies for planning, implementing, modifying, and adapting interventions to help young learners extend their benefits into the higher grades. Concluding chapters emphasize the importance of research in driving evidence-based practices (EBP). Topics featured in the Handbook include: Family-centered practices in early childhood intervention. The application of Response to Intervention (RtI) in young children with identified disabilities. Motor skills acquisition for young children with disabilities. Implementing evidence-based practices in ECSE classrooms. · Cultural, ethnic, and linguistic implications for ECSE. The Handbook of Early Childhood Special Education is a must-have resource for researchers, professors, upper-level undergraduate and graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners across such disciplines as child and school psychology, early childhood education, clinical social work, speech and physical therapy, developmental psychology, behavior therapy, and public health.
ISBN: 9783319284927Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of early childhood teacher education by
This handbook synthesizes both contemporary research and best practices in early childhood teacher education, a unique segment of teacher education defined by its focus on child development, the role of the family, and support for all learners. The first volume of its kind, the Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education provides comprehensive coverage on key topics in the field, including the history of early childhood teacher education programs, models for preparing early childhood educators, pedagogical approaches to supporting diverse learners, and contemporary influences on this quickly expanding area of study. Appropriate for early childhood teacher educators as well as both pre- and in-service teachers working with children from birth through 8, this handbook articulates the unique features of early childhood teacher education, highlighting the strengths and limitations of current practice as based in empirical research. It concludes by charting future directions for research with an aim to improve the preparation of early childhood educators.
ISBN: 9781317816294Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of early language education by
This is the first international and interdisciplinary handbook to offer a comprehensive and an in-depth overview of findings from contemporary research, theory, and practice in early childhood language education in various parts of the world and with different populations. The contributions by leading scholars and practitioners are structured to give a survey of the topic, highlight its importance, and provide a critical stance. The book covers preschool ages, and looks at children belonging to diverse ethno-linguistic groups and experiencing different histories and pathways of their socio-linguistic and socio-cultural development and early education. The languages under the scope of this handbook are identified by the contributors as immigrant languages, Indigenous, endangered, heritage, regional, minority, majority, and marginalized, as well as foreign and second languages, all of which are discussed in relation to early language education as the key concept of the handbook. In this volume,"early language education" will refer to any kind of setting, both formal and informal (e.g. nursery, kindergarten, early childhood education centers, complementary early schooling etc.) in which language learning within a context of children's sociolinguistic diversity takes place before elementary school.
ISBN: 9783030916626Publication Date: 2022
Handbook of mindfulness in education by
This handbook addresses the educational uses of mindfulness in schools. It summarizes the state of the science and describes current and emerging applications and challenges throughout the field. It explores mindfulness concepts in scientific, theoretical, and practical terms and examines training opportunities both as an aspect of teachers' professional development and a means to enhance students' social-emotional and academic skills. Chapters discuss mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy programs that have produced positive student outcomes, including stress relief, self-care, and improved classroom and institutional engagement. Featured topics include: A comprehensive view of mindfulness in the modern era. Contemplative education and the roots of resilience. Mindfulness practice and its effect on students' social-emotional learning. A cognitive neuroscience perspective on mindfulness in education that addresses students' academic and social skills development. Mindfulness training for teachers and administrators. Two universal mindfulness education programs for elementary and middle school students. The Handbook of Mindfulness in Education is a must-have resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners in psychology, psychiatry, education, and medicine, as well as counseling, social work, and rehabilitation therapy.
ISBN: 9781493935062Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of moral and character education by
There is widespread agreement that schools should contribute to the moral development and character formation of their students. In fact, 80% of US states currently have mandates regarding character education. However, the pervasiveness of the support for moral and character education masks a high degree of controversy surrounding its meaning and methods. The purpose of this handbook is to supplant the prevalent ideological rhetoric of the field with a comprehensive, research-oriented volume that both describes the extensive changes that have occurred over the last fifteen years and points forward to the future. Now in its second edition, this book includes the latest applications of developmental and cognitive psychology to moral and character education from preschool to college settings, and much more.
ISBN: 9781136293122Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of student engagement interventions by
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions: Working with Disengaged Students provides an understanding of the factors that contribute to student disengagement, methods for identifying students at risk, and intervention strategies to increase student engagement. With a focus on translating research into best practice, the book pulls together the current research on engagement in schools and empowers readers to craft and implement interventions. Users will find reviews on evidence-based academic, behavioral, social, mental health, and community-based interventions that will help increase all types of engagement. The book looks at ways of reducing suspensions through alternative disciplinary practices, the role resiliency can play in student engagement, strategies for community and school collaborations in addressing barriers to engagement, and what can be learned from students who struggled in school, but succeeded later in life. It is a hands-on resource for educators, school psychologists, researchers, and students looking to gain insight into the research on this topic and the strategies that can be deployed to promote student engagement. Presents practical strategies for engagement intervention and assessment Covers early warning signs of disengagement and how to use these signs to promote engagement Reviews contextual factors (families, peers, teachers) related to engagement Focuses on increasing engagement and school completion for all students Emphasizes multidimensional approaches to disengagement
ISBN: 9780128134146Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of the cultural foundations of learning by
Edited by a diverse group of expert collaborators, the Handbook of the Cultural Foundations of Learning is a landmark volume that brings together cutting-edge research examining learning as entailing inherently cultural processes. Conceptualizing culture as both a set of social practices and connected to learner identities, the chapters synthesize contemporary research in elaborating a new vision of the cultural nature of learning, moving beyond summary to reshape the field toward studies that situate culture in the learning sciences alongside equity of educational processes and outcomes. With the recent increased focus on culture and equity within the educational research community, this volume presents a comprehensive, innovative treatment of what has become one of the field's most timely and relevant topics.
ISBN: 9780203774977Publication Date: 2020
International education by
This encyclopedia provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
ISBN: 9780765682963Publication Date: 2013
International encyclopedia of education by
International Encyclopedia of Education, Fourth Edition updates readers on emerging interests and developments in the field. The book presents comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, but also includes illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e., rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations). In so doing, this encyclopedia can serve topic-specific purposes as well as be enlisted in a fashion which binds together separate entries. Sections provide comprehensive reviews and the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental.
Call Number: 370.3 INTISBN: 9780128186305Publication Date: 2023
International handbook of early childhood education by
This international handbook gives a comprehensive overview of findings from longstanding and contemporary research, theory, and practices in early childhood education in the Northern and Southern hemispheres. The first volume of the handbook addresses theory, methodology, and the research activities and research needs of particular regions. The second volume examines in detail innovations and longstanding programs, curriculum and assessment, and conceptions and research into child, family and communities. The two volumes of this handbook address the current theory, methodologies and research needs of specific countries and provide insight into existing global similarities in early childhood practices. By paying special attention to what is happening in the larger world contexts, the volumes provide a representative overview of early childhood education practices and research, and redress the current North-South imbalance of published work on the subject.
ISBN: 9789402409277Publication Date: 2018
International handbook of emotions in education by
For more than a decade, there has been growing interest and research on the pivotal role of emotions in educational settings. This ground-breaking handbook is the first to highlight this emerging field of research and to describe in detail the ways in which emotions affect learning and instruction in the classroom as well as students' and teachers' development and well-being. Informed by research from a number of related fields, the handbook includes four sections. Section I focuses on fundamental principles of emotion, including the interplay among emotion, cognition, and motivation, the regulation of emotion, and emotional intelligence. Section II examines emotions and emotion regulation in classroom settings, addressing specific emotions (enjoyment, interest, curiosity, pride, anxiety, confusion, shame, and boredom) as well as social-emotional learning programs. Section III highlights research on emotions in academic content domains (mathematics, science, and reading/writing), contextual factors (classroom, family, and culture), and teacher emotions. The final section examines the various methodological approaches to studying emotions in educational settings. With work from leading international experts across disciplines, this book synthesizes the latest research on emotions in education.
ISBN: 9781136512636Publication Date: 2014
The Palgrave handbook of positive education by
This open access handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the growing field of positive education, featuring a broad range of theoretical, applied, and practice-focused chapters from leading international experts. It demonstrates how positive education offers an approach to understanding learning that blends academic study with life skills such as self-awareness, emotion regulation, healthy mindsets, mindfulness, and positive habits, grounded in the science of wellbeing, to promote character development, optimal functioning, engagement in learning, and resilience. The handbook offers an in-depth understanding and critical consideration of the relevance of positive psychology to education, which encompasses its theoretical foundations, the empirical findings, and the existing educational applications and interventions. The contributors situate wellbeing science within the broader framework of education, considering its implications for teacher training, education and developmental psychology, school administration, policy making, pedagogy, and curriculum studies. This landmark collection will appeal to researchers and practitioners working in positive psychology, educational and school psychology, developmental psychology, education, counselling, social work, and public policy.
ISBN: 9783030645373Publication Date: 2021
Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an authoritative reference dealing with all aspects of this increasingly important field of study. Offering a comprehensive range of articles on contemporary language teaching and its history, it has been produced specifically for language teaching professionals andas a reference work for academic studies at postgraduate level. In this new edition, every single entry has been reviewed and updated with reference to new developments and publications. Coverage has been expanded to reflect new technological, global and academic developments, with particular attention to areas such as online and distance learning, teacher and learner cognition, testing, assessment and evaluation, global English and teacher education. Themes and disciplines covered include: Methods and materials, including new technologies and materials development Contexts and concepts, such as mediation, risk-taking in language learning and intercomprehension Influential figures from the early days of language teaching to the contemporary Related disciplines, such as psychology, anthropology and corpus linguistics It covers the teaching of specific languages, including Japanese, Chinese, Arabic and African languages, as well as English, French, German and Spanish. There are thirty five overview articles dealing with issues such as communicative language teaching, early language learning, teacher education and syllabus and curriculum design. A further 160 entries focus on topics such as bilingualism, language laboratories and study abroad. Numerous shorter items examine language and cultural institutions, professional associations and acronyms. Multiple cross-references enable the user to browse from one entry to another, and there are suggestions for further reading. Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning is an invaluable resource and reference manual for anyone with a professional or academic interest in the subject.
ISBN: 9781299715509Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge handbook of digital literacies in early childhood by
As fast-evolving technologies transform everyday communication and literacy practices, many young children find themselves immersed in multiple digital media from birth. Such rapid technological change has consequences for the development of early literacy, and the ways in which parents and educators are able to equip today's young citizens for a digital future. This seminal Handbook fulfils an urgent need to consider how digital technologies are impacting the lives and learning of young children; and how childhood experiences of using digital resources can serve as the foundation for present and future development. Considering children aged 0-8 years, chapters explore the diversity of young children's literacy skills, practices and expertise across digital tools, technologies and media, in varied contexts, settings and countries. The Handbook explores six significant areas: Part I presents an overview of research into young children's digital literacy practices, touching on a range of theoretical, methodological and ethical approaches. Part II considers young children's reading, writing and meaning-making when using digital media at home and in the wider community. Part III offers an overview of key challenges for early childhood education presented by digital literacy, and discusses political positioning and curricula. Part IV focuses on the multimodal and multi-sensory textual landscape of contemporary literary practices, and how children learn to read and write with and across media. Part V considers how digital technologies both influence and are influenced by children's online and offline social relationships. Part VI draws together themes from across the Handbook, to propose an agenda for future research into digital literacies in early childhood. A timely resource identifying and exploring pedagogies designed to bolster young children's digital and multimodal literacy practices, this key text will be of interest to early childhood educators, researchers and policy-makers.
ISBN: 9780203730638Publication Date: 2020
The Routledge international handbook of early childhood play by
Historical changes in play are taking place in childhood all over the world, with the digitalisation of children's lives. Researchers are worried about the disappearance of advanced forms of play and the prioritization of time spent with loving adults, supporting play with babies and toddlers. At the same time, our understanding about the crucial importance of individual development is becoming clearer. The Routledge International Handbook of Early Childhood Play explores these issues and more. It proposes the importance of adult participation in play, as adult guidance brings the possibility of moral, cultural and symbolic elements to children's play, and enhances the educational opportunities in adult-child joint play. The book also examines the aesthetic dimension of play and its role in the development of imagination and creativity. With contributors from many parts of the world, this unique handbook brings together the latest research and highlights practice which focuses on play. This is an essential and engaging read for all students, academics, teachers and practitioners with an interest in play.
ISBN: 9781317563532Publication Date: 2017
The Routledge international handbook of learning with technology in early childhood by
The Routledge International Handbook of Learning with Technology in Early Childhood focuses specifically on the most cutting-edge, innovative and international approaches in the study of children's use of and learning with digital technologies. This edited volume is a comprehensive survey of methods in children's technologies and contains a rich repertoire of studies from diverse fields and research, including both educational and developmental psychology, post-humanist literacy, applied linguistics, language and phenomenology and narrative approaches. For ease of reference, the Handbook's 28 chapters are divided into four thematic sections: introduction and opening reflections; studies answering ontological questions, which theorize how children take on original identities in becoming literate with technologies; studies answering epistemological questions, which focus on how children's knowledge and learning are (co)constructed with a diverse range of technologies; studies answering practice-related questions, which explore the resources and conditions that create the most powerful learning opportunities for children. Expertly edited, this interdisciplinary and international compendium is an ideal introduction to such a diverse, multi-faceted field.
Call Number: https://ecu.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1078955120ISBN: 9781315143040Publication Date: 2019
The Sage encyclopedia of classroom management by
A teacher's ability to manage the classroom strongly influences the quality of teaching and learning that can be accomplished. Among the most pressing concerns for inexperienced teachers is classroom management, a concern of equal importance to the general public in light of behavior problems and breakdowns in discipline that grab newspaper headlines. But classroom management is not just about problems and what to do when things go wrong and chaos erupts. It's about how to run a classroom so as to elicit the best from even the most courteous group of students. An array of skills is needed to produce such a learning environment. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management raises issues and introduces evidence-based, real-world strategies for creating and maintaining well-managed classrooms where learning thrives. Students studying to become teachers will need to develop their own classroom management strategies consistent with their own philosophies of teaching and learning. It is hoped that this work will help open their eyes to the range of issues and the array of skills they might integrate into their unique teaching styles.
ISBN: 9781483346236Publication Date: 2015
The SAGE encyclopedia of contemporary early childhood education by ISBN: 9781506353173Publication Date: 2016
The Sage encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation by
This book covers the basics of traditional educational testing, measurement, and evaluation theory and methodology, as well as sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice.
ISBN: 9781506326146Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE encyclopedia of online education by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses, with a central focus on the effective education of students.
ISBN: 9781483318349Publication Date: 2016
The Sage encyclopedia of out-of-school learning by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning documents what the best research has revealed about out-of-school learning: what facilitates or hampers it; where it takes place most effectively; how we can encourage it to develop talents and strengthen communities; and why it matters. Key features include: Approximately 260 articles organized A-to-Z in 2 volumes available in a choice of electronic or print formats. Signed articles, specially commissioned for this work and authored by key figures in the field, conclude with Cross References and Further Readings.
ISBN: 9781483385204Publication Date: 2017
Second and foreign language education by
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage. Furthermore, the authors have sought to integrate these voices fully into the whole, rather than as special cases or international perspectives in separate sections. The Encyclopedia is a necessary reference set for every university and college library in the world that serves a faculty or school of education, as well as being highly relevant to the fields of applied and socio-linguistics.
ISBN: 9783319022468Publication Date: 2017
Talking with children : a handbook of interaction in early childhood education by
Early childhood teachers know that the quality of child-teacher interactions has an impact on children's social and educational outcomes. Talking with children is central to early learning, but the significant details of high quality conversations in early childhood settings are not always obvious. This Handbook brings together experts from across the globe to share evidence of teachers talking with children in early learning environments. It applies the methodology of conversation analysis to questions about early childhood education, and shows why this method of studying discourse can be a valuable resource for professional development in early childhood. Each chapter of this Handbook includes an up-to-date literature review; shows how interactional pedagogy can be achieved in everyday interactions; and demonstrates how to apply this learning in practice. It offers unique insights into real-life early childhood education practices, based on robust research findings, and provides practical advice for teaching and talking with children.
ISBN: 9781108845472Publication Date: 2022
- Macquarie Dictionary This link opens in a new windowUpdated annually, making it the most up-to-date Australian dictionary and thesaurus available.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowHandbook articles covering Business & Management, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Psychology and Sociology.
- Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.