Education: Databases

Databases are the best place to find scholarly journal articles for your assignments. They contain up-to-date, peer reviewed research. Learning how to search databases effectively will help you to refine your search and find the information that you need. 

Search connectors are words and/or symbols that affect how your search terms or keywords are processed by a database or search engine. Search connectors are especially helpful when search results are too few or too many. You can use these terms and connectors in ECU Library search as well as databases. 

Please not that not all databases use the same symbol so it's worth visiting the Help section in that database. Check out the tip sheets under Key Education Databases for further guidance.

Please visit Plan your search section to find out search techniques.

It can be frustrating and time-consuming to go through irrelevant information. That is why it is important to use effective search strategies to get the best results. Keep in mind that not every search will bring perfect results, but by refining your search terms and using advanced search options, you can greatly increase the chances of finding what you need.

Make the most out of your searches with the tips below.

• It is best to avoid searching for long phrases or full citations when conducting research. This is because such phrases contain so many words that the database may struggle to prioritise your results. Instead, try typing just a few words into the search box that represent the main concepts from your research topic.
• When choosing keywords, make sure to pick right terms to describe your topic. Databases look for the exact words and phrases you type in, so it is important to choose your keywords wisely. Always check your spelling before submitting your search.
• Databases search for exactly what you type, so spelling errors could lead to inaccurate results.
• If you are searching for a title or quotation, remove any punctuation for the best results. It may seem strange, but too many periods, commas, colons, etc. can confuse the database.
• When searching for books, you may need to use broader keywords as books tend to be written on broad subjects. However, they may include chapters on specific topics. Once you have found a book on a broader version of your topic, search inside it for information about your more specific topic.
• When searching for articles, you may need to use narrower keywords as articles typically cover narrow topics.
• Choosing the right database is crucial. The Library Search box is a good place to start, but if you have a very specific topic, you might need to search a subject database. Find recommended/key databases in your Subject Guide.
• If you are ever unsure about how to proceed with your research, don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help.

   

   

Google Scholar is a Web Search engine run by Google that indexes scholarly literature including peer-reviewed journals, academic books, conference papers, and more.

Google Scholar is a good way to find grey literature, or material like conference papers that have not been published in traditional ways.

However, Google Scholar relies on keyword searching, not expert metadata, so it may have more noise in its results such as non-scholarly and duplicate material.

Google Scholar has an Advanced search function, however, much like Google, it is a Web Search engine, not a Library Database. Google Scholar may search through Academic sources, but it still uses the search methodology of Crawling and Indexing, not expert Cataloguing.

This advanced search will allow you to search for specific phrases, as well as authors and date ranges.

You will note this looks different to most advanced search screens, however, this still has most of the same functionality of other Search engines and Library databases. "At least one of the words" is similar in function to the "OR" Boolean operator, for example.

Filtering Your Results

Narrow your results by using the refine options, located on the left side of the search results screen:

• Custom range ... (date)
• Sort by date or relevance
• Include citations - un-tick this option to see only full text references (not recommended)

Article Specifics

Once you have results there are a number of options for each item:

• "Cited By" will show you a list of works that cited this article.
• "Related Articles" will direct you to articles on the same or a similar subject.
• "FindIt@ECU" will direct you to library databases that contain the article.

Linking Google Scholar with your ECU Student Account

Google Scholar interlinks with ECU Library systems.

Google Scholar returns a lot of results, some of which may be available via free PDF, however, many are behind Library Database pay-walls.

By linking your Google Scholar account with ECU Library, Google Scholar will allow you to link directly to our subscription Databases, allowing you free access to material ECU owns.

Go to the Settings menu on the Google Scholar site, to Library Links, and search for "Edith Cowan University."

Once selected, you will find "FindIt@ECU" as an option below every result.