Education Journals
Journals may be called periodicals, serials or magazines. They are usually published weekly, monthly or seasonally. Some are scholarly and are referred to as peer reviewed or refereed. An article is usually a short written piece or essay on a specific subject.
Most of the Education journals and their articles are now electronic. A smaller number are only available in paper format. Journal title holdings can be checked using Journal Search. Articles contained in the journals can be found by searching ECU Library search, the best place to find journal articles is in the databases and journal indexes listed in the A-Z Databases list.
Locating full text journal articles
When searching the databases, you may find a journal article that is useful for your assignment, but the full text is not available in that database. Click the yellow Findit@ECU link to search across all the library databases to locate the full text.
If Findit@ECU does not retrieve the full text, search for the name of the journal in ECU Library search to see if you can access the journal directly.
Scholarly or academic journals are:
- About academic disciplines
- Often published by university presses, professional associations or learned societies
- Usually written by people who have academic credentials and/or are experts in their field
- Cite the information sources used to write the article and have a full referencing list
This means that the articles in academic journals have information that is reliable.
Peer reviewed journals
Peer reviewed journals (sometimes called refereed journals) should be used in your assignments.
Peer reviewed articles are written by experts and are reviewed by several other experts in the field. This extensive editorial process takes place before publication and ensures that the articles are of a high quality.
Not all scholarly articles are peer-reviewed. As such it is important to understand how to check if a journal is peer reviewed or not.
Most databases allow you to restrict your search to peer-reviewed articles, however in some cases this is not available. To confirm if a particular journal article is peer-reviewed, look up the journal on Ulrichsweb and locate the refereed icon.
- Anatomy of a Journal ArticleScientific journal articles share a common anatomy, or structure. Each part of an article serves a purpose, and if you know
the purpose, you can become more efficient at reading and understanding articles.
Education Journals
The following education journals may be useful for your research.
- Australasian Journal of Early ChildhoodPeer-reviewed journal on early childhood education and child development
- The Australian Educational ResearcherPeer-reviewed journal by the Australian Association for Research in Education
- Australian Journal of EducationInternational peer-reviewed journal about issues of contemporary concern in education
- Australian Journal of Environmental EducationInternational peer-reviewed journal on all aspects of environmental education
- Australian Journal of Language and LiteracyPeer-reviewed journal on literacy practices and theories in the classroom
- Australian Journal of Middle SchoolingAustralian and New Zealand journal of middle years schooling
- Australian Journal of Teacher EducationPeer-reviewed journal by the School of Education at ECU
- Australian Mathematics Education JournalPeer-reviewed journal on trends and developments in mathematics education
- Childhood EducationPeer-reviewed journal by the Association for Childhood Education International
- Cognition and InstructionPeer-reviewed journal concerning the mental, socio-cultural, and mediational processes and conditions of learning
- Comparative EducationInternational peer-reviewed journal analysing educational issues in national, international, and global contexts
- Discourse: Studies in the Cultural Politics of EducationInternational peer-reviewed journal on education theory, policy and practice
- Early Childhood Education JournalPeer-reviewed journal analysing issues, trends, policies, and practices for early childhood education from birth through age eight
- Educational LeadershipJournal aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education
- Harvard Educational ReviewPeer-reviewed educational research journal
- Journal of Early Childhood Teacher EducationPeer-reviewed journal by the National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators
- Journal of Educational PsychologyPeer-reviewed journal by the American Psychological Association
- Journal of Research in Science TeachingPeer-reviewed journal for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy
- Numeracy: Advancing Education in Quantitative LiteracyPeer-reviewed journal by the National Numeracy Network
- Practical Literacy: The Early & Primary YearsPeer-reviewed journal by the Australian Literacy Educators’ Association
- Science and ChildrenPeer-reviewed journal on preschool through middle school science teaching
- The Science TeacherPeer-reviewed journal by the National Science Teachers Association
- Teachers and Teaching: Theory and PracticePeer-reviewed journal about teachers, teacher education and teaching in schools, colleges and universities
- YC: Young ChildrenPeer-reviewed journal with research-based, practitioner-oriented early childhood education content