Teaching resources
Education students have access to various teaching resources such as the Teaching and Curriculum Collection and Education Research Collection. These resources come in handy during teaching practicums and include student and teacher textbooks, teacher resources, big books, picture books, posters, and readers.
You can find the Teaching Collection resources at every campus library, separated from the rest of the collection. If you require assistance in locating them, please do not hesitate to approach the library staff.
The Collection is located on level 3 at the Joondalup and Mount Lawley campuses.
Teaching Collection
Teaching Collection resources may be helpful during teaching practicum, they include:
- Student and teacher textbooks,
- Teacher resources,
- Big Books,
- Picture books,
- Posters,
- Readers.
Items in this collection have a T or TQ at the beginning of their call number e.g., T370.15 WOO.
To find Teaching Collection items using ECU Library Search:
AND (nu:T OR TQ). feelings AND (nu:T OR TQ).
Primary Teaching Resources |
Secondary Teaching Resources |
|---|---|
|
To find primary level teaching resources using ECU Library Search, use the subject (su) study and teaching primary in addition to your search terms. For example, if you were looking for primary level resources about insects your search would be su:study and teaching primary AND insects |
To find secondary level teaching resources using ECU Library Search, use the subject (su) study and teaching secondary in addition to your search terms. To limit your search to items within the Teaching Collection, add AND (nu:T OR TQ) to your search. For example, to find secondary level history resources within the Teaching Collection you would search su:study and teaching secondary AND history AND (nu:T OR TQ) |
 |
 |
Big books are located at each campus library, near the Teaching Collection. Ask library staff to direct you if you need help.
To see a list of all big books in the collection, search ECU Library Search using the keyword (kw) "Big Book". Your search will read kw:"Big Book"
For big books on a particular topic, search for your topic followed by the keyword "Big Book".
For example, insects AND kw:"Big Book"
Reading levels are designed to be a helpful tool for matching children with books that suit their reading abilities. This way, children can feel confident and motivated to read, as they are challenged but not overwhelmed. As children progress, the difficulty level of books gradually increases, which helps them become more fluent readers and builds their overall reading skills over time.
There is no standard level system, most schools use a mix of systems that includes Pearson, Lexile, and Reading Recovery. Pearson has created a chart Literacy Levelling Guide for easy comparison of literacy levels.
Readers are located at each campus library at T428.6. To find readers using ECU Library search, use the subject (su) Readers (Primary) and limit your search to the Teaching Collection.
For example, su:Readers (Primary) AND (nu:T OR TQ)
The Curriculum Collection is a selection of publications for teachers and students produced by the WA Department of Education and the School of Curriculum and Standards Authority. Curriculum publications are available at each campus library as well as online.
These publications are identified in ECU Library search by (CURRIC) in the call number.
To find Curriculum Collection resources using ECU Library search, enter your search terms followed by AND nu:CURRIC. For example, math AND nu:CURRIC
The majority of curriculum resources can be accessed online. To find them, you can visit the Department of Education Resources webpage. This page provides a range of resources for educators and professionals who work in the education sector. You can also find learning resources by year level on the WA Department of Education website.
Other useful online websites:
- Scootle - a national repository that provides Australian schools with digital resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum. You can search by various field like resources type, year level.
- The Australian Children’s Education & Care Quality Authority collaborates with all levels of government to provide guidance, resources, and services that enhance outcomes for children.
May O'Brien Collection
A special collection of material donated by May O'Brien that covers significant developments in Aboriginal education in Western Australia and other aspects of indigenous issues. The collection includes reports, journals, conference papers, curriculum materials and books.
To access this collection, ask for assistance from library staff. Materials in this collection are not for loan but there are photocopiers available.
For a list of items in this collection, search for "au="May O'Brien Special Collection." in ECU Library search.
Education Test Collection
A small collection of educational test kits is held at the Joondalup campus library, near the Teaching Collection.
To find items in the Education Test Collection using ECU Library Search, search for au:Education Test Collection
Western Australia Teaching and Curriculum Collection (WATCC)
A collection of historical resources used in Western Australian education, including books, curricula, syllabuses and documents. It also includes the Claremont Teachers College student research projects collection. The WATCC is held at the Mount Lawley campus library. This collection is identified in ECU Library search by (WATCC) in the call number.
For a list of items in this collection, search for "au="Western Australian Teaching and Curriculum Collection." in ECU Library Search.
