Skip to Main Content

Education: Early Childhood Education

Early Childhood Education Guide - Overview

This guide lists essential, subject-specific databases, journals, websites, ebook collections, legislation, professional resources, and other relevant materials to help you in your educational journey.

Using subject-specific databases or journals related to your field of study ensures that the sources you find are directly relevant to your research topic. Always remember to verify the credibility and relevance of each source you use in your work. Google Scholar is an academic search engine that helps you find relevant books and articles. Its "Cited by" function shows how many times a source has been cited, giving you insights into its credibility and importance in the field.

Databases

Journals

eBooks Collection

Explore the Cambridge Education ebooks and journals collection, which includes a series specifically focused on education.

Critical Issues in Teacher Education series focuses on transformative pedagogies and their role in addressing critical issues in teacher education.

Phonetics delves into speech sounds, rhythm, and intonation, exploring the diverse languages spoken around the world. It seeks into how these sounds are produced, perceived, and realised acoustically, contributing to a deeper understanding of human communication.

Cambridge Elements in Child Development discusses modern topics in child development with comprehensive treatments of key issues and empirical insights into early human development.

Narrow to subject by clicking Browse by Subject and then selecting Education

 

Ebook Central offers a diverse selection of ebooks from reputable sources, including authoritative and other top publishers. You can browse by Subject: Education or Juvenile Literature.

You can refine your search by subject or tag, narrowing or broadening your results.

Narrow the subjects you want to narrow down by selecting the box.

Once you have selected a box, you can also browse by tags. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find the tags available in the bottom left corner.

By clicking on the tags, you can filter the books further to refine your search results.

 

Wiley Online Library offers collection of ebooks in the field of Education. You can narrow or broaden your search results by subject or using other filters.

Click on the "Online Books" tab and then use the filter to narrow down your search by subject. You can find the "more subjects" option to further refine your search.

When you apply a sub-subject filter, you will be able to see all the filters that you have applied.

 

Taylor & Francis eBook  Collection includes lots of e-resources in the Educational field. Users have access to the platform features such as searching eBook content at both the book and chapter level, filtering search results by Subject area, publication date and year published, and creating citations in APA format.

Explore Early Childhood Education, Inclusion, & Special Education, which contains eBooks related to Early Childhood Education, Inclusion, & Special Education Needs or you may also browse other collections in the Educational field.

Educational Foundations & Education Studies

Includes eBooks on various subjects such as curriculum studies, educational policy and politics, education studies, history of education, international and comparative education, multicultural education, philosophy of education, sociology of education, sustainability education, training and leadership, and theory of education.

English Language Learning and Applied Linguistics – Curated

Presents a selection of Routledge’s recent outstanding publishing in applied linguistics and education. It covers topics from language education policy to second language teaching and learning research, as well as trends such as posthumanism, translanguaging, and the language of emoticons. It also includes handbooks from the acclaimed Routledge linguistics and education series.

Language Teaching & Learning

Includes eBooks on language teaching and learning, covering bilingualism and ESL; English and literacy, and language arts; language and literacy; English; and language teaching and learning.

Schools, Schooling, & Teacher Education

Includes eBooks on various subjects such as bilingualism / ESL; classroom practice; middle school education; primary/elementary education; school psychology; secondary education; teachers and teacher education; and teaching assistants.

Special Education and Speech and Language Learning – Curated

This eBook collection showcases Routledge’s outstanding publishing in special educational needs and disability, including titles from the Speechmark imprint. It includes professional titles for teacher-training and practical books designed to be used directly in the classroom with children and adolescents, covering issues from autism to behaviour to language disorders.

Websites

Professional Organisations

Children Rights and Legislation

Other Resources

Big Books Collection

Big books are large-format texts featuring vibrant illustrations and clear, large print, making them powerful tools for educators. They not only promote a love of reading but also enhance comprehension and critical thinking skills.

 

As future educators, you can use big books to create inclusive and interactive learning environments. These resources extend beyond literacy; they can also play a vital role in teaching subjects like math and science. A big book about weather can effectively illustrate scientific concepts like the water cycle and different types of precipitation through engaging visuals.

We encourage you to explore the ECU Big Books Collection to discover innovative ideas and enrich your teaching experience! Check the Big Books Collection File for access to a comprehensive list of resources categorised by subject.

Curriculum Reference

This guide includes examples of citations that are specific to Education. However, it is important to note that you will still need to use the Referencing Guide to help you cite books, journal articles, webpages, and other sources.

 

For referencing variations in your classes, please contact your lecturer. Please note, this is particularly important in the Early Childhood stream.

In Early Childhood there is no need for students to reference every content descriptor in text and end text as this creates an excessive amount of referencing in the assignment. Students just need to provide a reference to the SCSA curriculum learning area in their end text list.

If you are referencing the aims or rationale of a curriculum area as part of an assignment such as a justification/rationale then the curriculum area needs to be in text referenced and end text referenced.

Website: http://www.scsa.wa.edu.au/

School Curriculum and Assessment Authority from SCSA
In-text citation End-text reference

First time cited:

(Corporate author, Year)

(School Curriculum and Standards Authority [SCSA], 2017)

(School Curriculum and Standards Authority [SCSA], 2023)

 

Corporate author. (Year). Title. URL

School Curriculum and Standards Authority. (2017). Curriculum and assessment outline. Humanities and social science. http://k10outline.scsa.wa.edu.au/home/p-10-curriculum/curriculum-browser/humanities-and-social-sciences

School Curriculum and Standards Authority. (2023). Kindergarten curriculum guidelines. https://k10outline.scsa.wa.edu.au/home/teaching/kindergarten-curriculum-guidelines

Subsequent citation:

(SCSA, 2017)

(SCSA, 2023)

In-text citation (direct quote):

(SCSA, 2017, p. #)

(SCSA, 2023,p. #)
Standards for Teachers  
In-text citation End-text reference

First time cited:                                                 

(Corporate author, Year, Standard number)

(Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership [AITSL], n.d., Standard 4.3)

(Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority [ACECQA], 2018)

 

Corporate author. (Year). Title. (Standard No.). URL

Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership. (2014). Australian professional standards for teachers. (Standard 4.3). https://www.aitsl.edu.au/teach/standards

Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority. (2018).  National quality standard: Quality area 5 - Relationships with children. https://www.acecqa.gov.au/nqf/national-quality-standard/quality-area-5-relationships-with-children

Subsequent citation:

(AITSL, n.d., Standard 4.3)

(ACECQA], 2018)

In-text citation (direct quote):

(AITSL, n.d., Standard 4.3, p. #)

(ACECQA], 2018, p. #)
Learning Frameworks
Note: There are two national approved learning frameworks in operation under the National Quality Frameworks. Both learning frameworks provide guidance for educators in early childhood and school age settings to plan, deliver, and evaluate quality programs, outlining principles, practices, and learning outcomes to guide curriculum decision-making.

In-text citation

 End-text reference

First time cited:  (Corporate author, Year)      

(Australian Government Department of Education, [AGDE], 2022)

Corporate author. (Year). Title. (Version). URL

Australian Government Department of Education. (2022). Belonging, being and becoming: The early years learning framework for Australia (Version 2.0). https://www.acecqa.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-01/EYLF-2022-V2.0.pdf

Australian Government Department of Education. (2022). My time, our place: Framework for school age care in Australia (Version 2.0). https://www.acecqa.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-02/MTOP-2022-V2.0.pdf

Subsequent citation:

(AGDE, 2022)

In-text citation (direct quote):

(AGDE, 2022, p. #)

What if two works have the same author and same publication year?

Note: To make sure each work has its own in-text citation, add a lower-case letter to the year in your reference list. The same letter will be added to the year in your in-text citation each time you want to cite that source.

Australian Government Department of Education. (2022a). Belonging, being and becoming: The early years learning framework for Australia (Version 2.0). https://www.acecqa.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-01/EYLF-2022-V2.0.pdf

Australian Government Department of Education. (2022b). My time, our place: Framework for school age care in Australia (Version 2.0). https://www.acecqa.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-02/MTOP-2022-V2.0.pdf

First time cited: 

(Australian Government Department of Education, [AGDE], 2022a)

(Australian Government Department of Education, [AGDE], 2022b)

Subsequent citation:

(AGDE, 2022a)

(AGDE, 2022b)

 

In-text citation

 End-text reference

First time cited:  (Corporate author, Year)      

(Community Child Care Co-operative (NSW), [CCCC], n.d.)

Subsequent citation:

(CCCC, n.d.)

In-text citation (direct quote):

(CCCC, n.d., p. #)

Corporate author. (Year). Title. (Version). URL

Community Child Care Co-operative (NSW). (n.d.). Early years learning framework practice based resources: Developmental milestones. https://www.dss.gov.au/sites/default/files/documents/05_2015/developmental-milestones.pdf
Mparntwe Education Declaration
In-text citation End-text reference

First time cited: (Corporate author, Year) 

(Council of Australian Governments, [COAG], 2019)                                                 

Corporate author. (Year). Title. Publisher. URL

Council of Australian Governments. (2019). Alice Springs (Mparntwe) educational declaration. Education Council. https://www.education.gov.au/alice-springs-mparntwe-education-declaration/resources/alice-springs-mparntwe-education-declaration

Subsequent citation:

(COAG, 2019)   

In-text citation (direct quote):

(COAG, 2019, p. #)  

 

Reference Examples

Note: The Copyright belongs to the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Agency, which is why this corporation is listed as the author.

In-text citation End-text reference

First in-text citation:                                      (Corporate author, Year)

(Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Agency [ACARA], n.d.)

 

 

(Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Agency [ACARA], 2022

Corporate author. (Year). Title. Publisher. URL

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Agency. (n.d.). National assessment program sample test. National Assessment Program. https://demo.assessform.edu.au/testattempt/sample/x00135461

 

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Agency. (2022). National assessment program literacy and numeracy: Achievement in reading, writing and numeracy (National report for 2022). National Assessment Program. https://www.nap.edu.au/docs/default-source/default-document-library/2022-naplan-national-report.pdf

 

Subsequent in-text citation:

(ACARA, n.d.)

(ACARA, 2022)

 

You can use hybrid referencing of APA Style and AGLC legal citation format to reference legislation.

For more detailed guidance, refer to the Library Referencing Guide, specifically the section on Australian Legal Materials.

 

In-text citation End-text reference

(Title of Act Year (Jurisdiction abbreviation))                   

(School Education Act 1999 (WA), s. 83(2)(b))

Title of Act Year (Jurisdiction abbreviation). URL

 

School Education Act 1999 (WA). https://www.legislation.wa.gov.au/legislation/statutes.nsf/main_mrtitle_878_homepage.html

 

 

In-text citation End-text reference

First in-text citation: (Publisher, Year)

(Epocrates, 2019)

Subsequent in-text citation: (Epocrates, 2019)

Publisher. (Year). Title of the software or program. (Version number) [Mobile app]. App store. URL

Epocrates (2019), Epocrates medical references (Version 18.12) [Mobile app]. App Store. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/epocrates/id281935788?mt=8

 

Both the author and the illustrator are crucial in the creation of the children's book or any illustrated book.

The illustrator not only brings the story to the life through art but also plays an essential role in creating the entire work. While other types of books may have illustrations, they usually serve a different purpose. In children's books, however, the illustrations are an integral part of the storytelling process.

In-text citation End-text reference
Illustrator different than author
Note: When the illustrator is evidently credited (i.e., on the cover), use "Illus." in parentheses to abbreviate illustrator.

(Author's surname, Year)

(French, 2018)

(Davies, 2017)

Author. (Year). Title of the book (Illustrator's name, Illus.). Publisher.

French, J. (2018). Cyclone (B. Whatley, Illus.). Scholastic Australia.

Davies, N. (2014). Tiny the invisible world of microbes (E.Sutton, Illus.). Walker Books.
Illustrator same as author
Note:

As per the guidelines of APA 7th Style, there may be situations where you need to use your own judgment as the purpose and significance of illustrations can vary. If a book's author and illustrator are the same person and the illustrations are an essential part of the text, both the author and the author in the role of illustrator should be given credit. In this case, they should be cited twice, once as an author and once as an illustrator.

It is important to follow the provided examples but use discretion when necessary.

Example 1: The Wimpy Kid book series illustrations some people may consider to be an essential part of the book, while others view them as an addition.

Example 2: It may be important to acknowledge the significance of illustrations of Stewart when teaching about the natural world or emotions, as they are an integral part of the story.

Author: Invert all individual authors’ names, providing the surname first, followed by a comma and the author’s initials.

Illustrator: Write the illustrator's initials followed by a full stop and the illustrator's surname followed by a comma. Then, write the abbreviation "Illus." after the illustrator's name.

(Author's surname, Year)

Example 1:

(Kinney, 2007)

 

Example 2:

(Stewart, 2014)

Author. (Year). Title of the book (Illustrator's name, Illus.). Publisher.

 

Kinney, J. (2007). Diary of a wimpy kid: Greg Heffley's journal. Amulet Books.

 

 

Stewart, B. (2014). Here in the garden (B.Stewart, Illus.). University of Queensland Press.
Children's book, part of series

Note: The series number should only be included if it is a part of the book title.

Do not include the series titles.

Example 1: The book is part of the Fancy Nancy series.

Example 2: The book is part of the Storytelling Math series.

(Athor's surname, Year)

(O’Connor, 2017)

 

(Lacika, 2022)

Author. (Year). Title of the book (Illustrator's name, Illus.). Publisher.

O’Connor, J. (2017). Nancy Clancy, late-breaking news! (R. Preiss Glasser, Illus.).          HarperCollins Publishers.

Lacika, J. (2022). Again, Essie? (T. Martinez, Illus.). Charlesbridge.
What if you want to include an illustrator and if the book was originally written in a different language?

Credit illustrators by adding Illus. after the name and translators by adding Trans. after the name.

Use semicolon between them.

(Author's surname, Year)

(Jenkins, 2021)

Author. (Year). Title of the book (Illustrator's name, Illus.;Translator's name, Trans.). Publisher.

Jenkins, S. (2021). Iceberg (J. Di Mase, Illus.; A. Florescu-Mitchell, Trans.). A&U   

           Children's.

Note: It can be challenging to identify who the author, illustrator, or translator is, which may cause some confusion.

Please refer to the copyright page for clarification. Please check the example below.
(McRitche, 2014)

McRitche, R. (2014). Edward and the great discovery (C.Hulme, Illus.). New Frontier Publishing.

 

Library Contact

Library Links

Quick Links

More about ECU

  • Last Updated: Oct 4, 2024 2:51 PM
  • URL: https://ecu.au.libguides.com/education
  • Print Page
Subjects: Education

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Noongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Noongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.