Early Childhood Education Science Overview
This guide lists essential, subject-specific databases, journals, websites, ebook collections, books and other relevant materials to help you in your educational journey.
Using subject-specific databases or journals related to your field of study ensures that the sources you find are directly relevant to your research topic. Always remember to verify the credibility and relevance of each source you use in your work.
When conducting research, it is important to choose peer-reviewed journals that contain articles verified by scholars or experts, ensuring the reliability and credibility of the information. Most databases offer the option to narrow down your search to peer-reviewed journals.
- Anatomy of a Journal ArticleScientific journal articles share a common anatomy, or structure. Each part of an article serves a purpose, and if you know
the purpose, you can become more efficient at reading and understanding articles. - Peer Reviewed Peer review is the process that happens before scholarly articles and books are published. Drafts of publications have to be submitted by authors to be reviewed and evaluated by experts in the field to ensure the quality of an information prior to accepting it for publication.
Journals
- The Australian Science Teachers Journal Australian Science Teachers Journal is the flagship journal of the Australian Science Teachers Association. It aims to promote the teaching of science in all Australian schools, with a focus on classroom practices, and contribute to the professional development of teachers of science. It is a national publication with subscribers throughout Australia and overseas and a quarterly refereed journal of the highest integrity that includes material of interest to all sectors of the science education community.
- Cultural Studies of Science Education Cultural Studies of Science Education is a multidisciplinary journal that examines science education through a cultural lens.
- The Hoosier Science Teacher The Hoosier Science Teacher provides ideas, resources, and professional development that supports teaching standards-based science in Pre-K-16 learning environments.
- International Journal of Innovation in Science and Mathematics Education IJISME is a scholarly forum for the dissemination of research and exemplary evidence-based and innovative practice in science and mathematics education.
- International Journal of Science Education The International Journal of Science Education (A) is firmly established as an authoritative voice in the world of science education. IJSE(A) publishes scholarly papers that focus on the teaching and learning of science in school settings ranging from early childhood to university education. It bridges the gap between research and practice, providing information, ideas and opinion.
- Journal of Biological Education ournal of Biological Education is firmly established as the authoritative voice in the world of biological education. The journal provides a forum where the latest advances in research into the teaching, learning and assessment of biology can contribute to policy and practice in biological education for all ages, connecting teachers, researchers and educators in a common endeavor to enhance biological education internationally.
- Journal of Research in Science Teaching The official journal of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching. Peer-reviewed journal.
- Journal of Science Education and Technology Journal of Science Education and Technology is a peer-reviewed platform addressing the explicit intersection of science education and educational technology worldwide.
- Journal of Science Teacher Education Journal of Science Teacher Education (JSTE) is the flagship journal of the Association for Science Teacher Education. It serves as a forum for disseminating high quality research and theoretical position papers concerning preservice and inservice education of science teachers. The Journal features pragmatic articles that offer ways to improve classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at pre K-16 levels.
- Research in Science Education Research in Science Education is an international journal publishing and promoting scholarly science education research of interest to a wide group of people. The journal examines early childhood, primary, secondary, tertiary, workplace, and informal learning as they relate to science education.
- School Science and Mathematics School Science and Mathematics (SSM) is an international journal that focuses on research related to science and mathematics education. It covers issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom. As a peer-reviewed professional journal, it is a reliable source of information for science and mathematics educators. It also publishes articles on STEM integration, making it a leading resource in this area.
- Science Activities Science Activities publishes innovative manuscripts that will provide teachers and educators with the best classroom-tested projects, experiments, and curriculum ideas that promote science, inquiry through active learning experiences. Journal editors encourage submissions that integrate science throughout all disciplines that can include but not limited to the biological, physical, environmental, chemical, and earth sciences.
- Science and Children Science and Children is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade PreK–5 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders.
- Science Education Science Education publishes original articles on the latest issues and trends occurring internationally in science curriculum, instruction, learning, policy and preparation of science teachers with the aim to advance our knowledge of science education theory and practice.
- Science Education International Science Education International is the quarterly journal of the International Council of Associations for Science Education (ICASE). ICASE was established in 1973 to extend and improve education in science for all children and youth by assisting member associations throughout the world. This journal provides a means for associations, institutions, centres, foundations, companies, and individuals concerned with science education to share perspectives, concerns, ideas, and information that will foster cooperative efforts to improve science education, and which will serve as a chronicle of the advancement of science education throughout the world.
- Studies in Science Education Studies in Science Education will be of interest to all those involved in science education including: science education researchers, doctoral and masters students; science teachers at elementary, high school and university levels; science education policy makers; science education curriculum developers and text book writers.
- Teaching Science: The Journal of the Australian Science Teachers Association The aim of Teaching Science is to promote the teaching of science in Australian schools with a focus on classroom practice and contributing to the professional development of teachers of science.
Databases
- A+ Education This link opens in a new window
Created in partnership with the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), covers Early Childhood through to Tertiary Learning, Adult Learning, Assessment, Distance Learning, International Education, Indigenous Education and Literacy.
- Australian Education Research Theses Database This link opens in a new windowOver 17,000 theses are listed dating back to 1919, and over 4,000 of these are available in full text. It also includes some overseas theses on Australian education topics.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowInternational education database. Covers Early Childhood to Higher Education, Multilingual Education, Health Education, and Testing
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) covers Adult Education, Elementary and Early Childhood Education, Education Management, Higher Education, Special Education, Teacher Education, and Testing.
- ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works.
Websites
- Australian Academy of Science - Primary Connections rimary Connections is a flagship primary school science program from the Australian Academy of Science. It is an innovative approach to teaching and learning which aims to enhance primary school teachers' confidence and competence for teaching science.
- Digital Technologies Hub Find resources to help teachers, students and families learn about Digital Technologies.
- Understanding Science: the K-3 teachers' lounge Use these resources to integrate the nature and process of science into your teaching at grades K-2.
Books
The art of teaching primary science by
An innovative and practical introduction to teaching science to primary students.
Call Number: 507.1 ARTISBN: 9781741752892Publication Date: 2008
Creative teaching in primary science by
Creative teaching has the potential to inspire deep learning, using inventive activities and stimulating contexts that can capture the imagination of children. This book enables you to adopt a creative approach to the methods and content of your primary science teaching practice and confidently develop as a science educator. Key aspects of science teaching are discussed, including: planning for teaching and learning assessing primary science cross-curricular approaches the intelligent application of technology sustainability education outdoor learning Coverage is supported by illustrative examples, encouraging you to look at your own teaching practice, your local community and environment, your own interests and those of your children to deepen your understanding of what constitutes good science teaching in primary schools. This is essential reading for students on primary initial teacher education courses, on both university-based (BEd, BA with QTS, PGCE) and schools-based (School Direct, SCITT) routes into teaching. Dr Roger Cutting is an Associate Professor in Education at the Institute of Education at Plymouth University.Orla Kelly is a Lecturer in Social, Environmental and Scientific Education in the Church of Ireland College of Education.
Call Number: 372.35044 CUTISBN: 9781446255421Publication Date: 2015
Explaining primary science by
Successful science teaching in primary schools requires a careful understanding of key scientific knowledge. This book covers all the major areas of science relevant for beginning primary school teachers, explaining key concepts from the ground up, helping trainees develop into confident science educators. This new edition comes with: · New guidance on teaching primary science today. Activities to enhance your understanding of key teaching topics,Links to national curricula for England, Scotland, Australia and New Zealand Videos of useful science experiments and demonstrations for the primary classroom
Call Number: 372.350440 CHAISBN: 9781526493705Publication Date: 2020
Hands-on STEAM explorations for young learners by
Hands-On STEAM Explorations for Young Learners: Problem-Based Investigations for Preschool to Second Grade uses popular children's nursery rhymes to explore STEAM concepts through minds-on, hands-on investigations. Children ages 4-8 and their teachers will love this twist on familiar old nursery rhymes. Children will enjoy problem solving and tinkering as they discover and explore. Baa, Baa, Black Sheep insists that she hides more colors in the drawn lines of her black wool. Test to find out if it is possible for black to be more than one color. How might you make Old King Cole's fiddle using cardboard boxes and rubber bands? Teachers will appreciate the easy-to-follow layout, connections to advanced learning, and easy-to-access materials in each investigation. Innovation, wonder, and fun are at the heart of each of these explorations. Grades Pre-K-2
ISBN: 9781003235507Publication Date: 2021
Multiliteracies and early years innovation by
Multiliteracies and Early Years Innovation: Perspectives from Finland and Beyond brings together internationally renowned scholars to investigate and reflect upon the significance of introducing multiliteracies in the education of children (0-8 years old) and the challenge of enhancing professional development opportunities of early years practitioners. The book brings together curriculum innovation and reform and the changing media ecology of young children's learning lives in a single volume. It provides insights into Finnish early years education in terms of policy, practice, and research with a specific focus on the enhancement of children's multiliteracies. Case studies from around the world explore co-developing practices between researchers and teachers, the development of communities and the ways in which different classroom interventions draw on new kinds of teacher knowledge. This book will appeal to academics, researchers, and postgraduate students with an interest in early years education, literacy education, the sociology of digital culture, school reform, teacher education, and comparative education.
ISBN: 9780429779671Publication Date: 2019
Planning with and for children : Practical guide to inquiry-based learning through floorbooks by
Planning with and for Children provides a clear set of principles and strategies to underpin a planning cycle that puts children's theories, ideas and fascinations at the heart of practice. It is a joyful alternative to dry, detached planning that feels removed from children's reality and agency.
Call Number: 372.139 WARISBN: 9781925145434Publication Date: 2021
Science in early childhood by
It is widely recognised that science explorations is vital in children's lives as they make sense of the world. Now in its fourth edition, Science in Early Childhood provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to science in the early years. Each chapter has been updated to include current research and to address changing priorities in early childhood science education. The text features new chapters on Indigenous ways of knowing science, inquiry approaches to learning science and teaching science inclusively. Science in Early Childhood complements the Australian Early Years Learning Framework and the Australian Curriculum: Science. Concepts, processes and skills are brought to life through detailed case studies, practical tasks and reflective activities. Instructors can also supplement learning by drawing on the extensive materials located on the companion website. Renowned for its accessible and informative content, Science in Early Childhood is essential for all pre-service early childhood educators.
Call Number: 372.35049 SCIISBN: 9781108811965Publication Date: 2021
Science in early childhood by
Science exploration plays a vital role in children's lives as they make sense of the world around them. Now in its fifth edition, Science in Early Childhood complements the recently updated Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) and the Australian Curriculum: Science. It offers a comprehensive introduction to the essential elements of science learning and teaching for pre-service teachers and early childhood professionals. This edition has been revised to closely align with the EYLF and Australian Curriculum: Science. It includes more content on sustainability - a rapidly growing area in early childhood science - and a stronger focus on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives. Each chapter includes case studies, reflection questions and practical tasks which help to bridge the gap between theory and practical applications of new concepts. Supplementary resources are available online for instructors. Science in Early Childhood is an invaluable resource for pre-service teachers and early childhood professionals.
Call Number: 372.35049 SCIISBN: 9781009339742Publication Date: 2024
A sense of wonder : Science in early childhood education by Call Number: 372.35 AITISBN: 9781472913401Publication Date: 2015
The teaching of science in primary schools by
The Teaching of Science in Primary Schools provides essential information for all concerned with primary school education about all aspects of teaching science. It pays particular attention to inquiry-based teaching and learning because of the more general educational benefits that follow from using this approach. These benefits are often expressed in terms of developing general scientific literacy and fostering the ability to learn and the motivation to continue learning. This book also aims to help teachers focus on the 'big' or powerful ideas of science rather than teaching a series of unrelated facts. This leads children to an understanding of the nature, and limitations, of scientific activity. This fully expanded and updated edition explores: The compelling reasons for starting science in the primary school. Within-school planning in the context of less prescriptive national requirements. The value of having in mind the 'big ideas' of science. The opportunities for children to learn through greater access to the internet and social networking. The expanding sources of materials and guidance now available to teachers on-line. Greater attention to school and teacher self-evaluation as a means of improving provision for children's learning. The importance for both teachers and learners of reflecting on the process and content of their activities. Other key aspects of teaching, such as:- questioning, the importance of discussion and dialogue, the formative and summative roles of assessment and strategies for helping children to develop understanding, skills, positive attitudes and enjoyment of science, are preserved. So also is the learner-centred approach with an emphasis on children learning to take some responsibility for their activities. This book is essential reading for all primary school teachers and those on primary education courses.
ISBN: 9781317914273Publication Date: 2014
Teaching primary science by
This fully updated third edition brings science subject knowledge and pedagogy together to support, inform and inspire those training to teach primary science. Written in a clear and accessible way, Teaching Primary Science provides comprehensive coverage of a wide range of science themes. With a brand new chapter on STEM education, additional guidance on where to find the best resources, and increased emphasis on assessment, story-telling and problem-solving, this book shows how science can offer children pleasure and intellectual satisfaction and help them to develop sound scientific minds. Key features include: Ideas for practice exemplify how you can help children to acquire and use scientific knowledge to satisfy their curiosity about how the natural world works. Something to think about scenarios help to extend and develop your own understanding of key ideas. Examples of classroom situations, dialogues and stories help you see how theory is applied to practice and support you in reflecting on the best methods for teaching. Global Dimension sections offer starting points for discussion and research into how scientific ideas can be positively applied and used to evaluate the impact of human activity on the natural world. Talk Skills and Science Discussion sections enable you to develop children's scientific knowledge and verbal reasoning skills.
ISBN: 9781317229452Publication Date: 2018
Teaching primary science constructively by Call Number: 372.35 SKAISBN: 9780170289634Publication Date: 2021
APA 7 Referencing Style
APA7 Referencing Style is a standardised way of giving credit to the sources of your ideas in your work. It serves as evidence for your opinions and enhances their credibility. The main style of referencing at ECU is APA (American Psychological Association) 7th edition. It consists of in-text and end-text citations
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.