Skip to main content

Library Essentials: eBooks

eBooks

eBook is short for "electronic book" and can also be referred to as e-book, e-content, digital book, online book or sometimes digital edition.

A number of eBook collections are available via the Library. eBooks can be accessed either on or off campus using a desktop computer, laptop or other hand held devices (smartphones, tablets, ipads, iphones, etc.).

The full text of the whole book is available to read online at any time.

 

Finding eBooks

Search for eBooks via ECU Worldsearch or subject databases. See your relevant library guide for key subject collections and titles.

Printing and Downloading eBooks

Printing and downloading options vary for each collection.

Printing of pages/sections is permitted according to copyright regulations, i.e. normally 10% or 1 chapter, although for most ProQuest Ebook Central books the allowance is 40%. Printing or downloading of pdfs is available with a number of the collections purchased directly from the publisher. e.g. PsycBOOKS, Ovid eBooks, ScienceDirect eBooks.

Some platforms allow downloading of the eBook for a limited time. You may need to set up a personal login in the database in order to download the eBook (refer to the database's Help screens for more information).

  • For ProQuest Ebook Central, downloading the whole book requires Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) which is available on ECU computers however if you are off campus you will need to download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. 
  • If you use an iPad, iPhone or Android device, you can download and read ProQuest Ebook Central content via the free Bluefire Reader app. You need an Adobe ID to use Bluefire Reader.