Skip to Main Content

Music and Music Theatre: Nkoda & Online Score Collections

Everything you need to know about music resources and how to find them in the ECU library

Alexander Street: Music Online: Classical Scores Library

What is Alexander Street Music Online Classical Scores Library?

WAAPA staff and students can now access Alexander Street’s database of classical music scores (in-copyright digital scores of the classical canon.) Specifically, this five-volume collection covers major classical musical genres, and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.

There are over 50 000 works in the Library for you to access.

You are able to access, save, print and perform from full, study, piano, and vocal scores.

How to access digital scores in Alexander Street:

  • Find the login link at the ProQuest Alexander Street listing (under ‘A’) in ECU Library’s A-Z list of databases,
  • Log in using your ECU log in details (ECU email adress, and ECU password), and
  • Browse content or use the search box to find content.
    (The content has been classified by title, genre, instrument, publisher, date, composer, and other fields, to make it incredibly easy to find what you need.)
  • Once you’ve located a piece of music, you’ll be able to view, print, email, and share the work, and find all the key information of the material succinctly summarised.
  • You may also create a free profile for Alexander Street (using any email address) to annotate, create and save to playlists, and copy and embed a link.

 

Australian Jazz Real Book

Nkoda

What is nkoda?

nkoda is both a performance app, and a database of digital scores from leading publishers (nkoda has a library of scores and parts of over 100 000 works -- double our existing print music collection.)

It’s designed for users to study, teach, and perform with unlimited access to scores and performance materials.

Within the app, you can find, organise, and annotate sheet music. These annotation layers allow you to mark up your scores for performance.

Users can also upload content to the app (eg PDFs of your own sheet music) that can be annotated and shared with other nkoda users.

You can use nkoda on a PC or Mac in the browser, but this is limited to searching, reading, and saving to playlists. The annotation function is designed for use within the app, rather than a browser, and be aware that nkoda is an electronic-only database, and no printing of music is available (however downloads can be set to function offline.)

Signing in to nkoda

Whether you plan to use nkoda via a web browser or an app, start by signing in and authenticating as an ECU student via the web:

  1. Follow our link from the ECU A-to-Z Databases list (or follow this nkoda direct link),

  2. Click "Get Started," and then "Sign up via email" (it says to sign-up for your free trial, but will recognise your ECU email account),

  3. Enter your ECU email address (with any password) and click "Sign Up,"

  4. Once signed in, you will receive a prompt to "Continue as a member of Edith Cowan University," click "Yes," and

  5. A banner at the top of your screen will indicate "You are signed in as a member of Edith Cowan University." This confirms you have successfully completed the process.

Once you have completed this sign in, you can use your ECU email address and nkoda password to sign in to the website and apps for full access.

nkoda - Demo and Run-Down

Using Bluetooth Pedals with nkoda

nkoda is compatible with almost all standard Bluetooth pedals. However, it does not integrate with Bluetooth pedals using device-specific SDKs, and instead simply treats pedals as regular keyboards, with left/right or up/down arrow keys.

To learn more about your pedal’s specificities, please refer to your pedal’s manual and/or your pedal manufacturer’s website.

The following pedals have been tested successfully with nkoda on various devices:

  • PageFlip Butterfly*

  • PageFlip Firefly

  • PageFlip Dragonfly

  • BiLiProFootime

  • AirTurnPEDpro

  • AirTurnBT-105

  • AirTurnBT-200S

  • Donner

  • IK MultimediaiRig BlueTurn

*The PageFlip Butterfly pedal is not compatible with nkoda on iPhones.

Online music sources

A selection of the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Inspired by Alan Lomax, this collection is the preservation, research, and dissemination of the world's traditional music, and to reconnect people and communities with their creative heritage.

A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.

Historical sound recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress.

The UCSB Library invites you to discover and listen to its online archive of cylinder recordings and learn about how these sounds and songs create an audio history of American culture.

The Western Australian New Music Archive is an interactive web portal presenting a collection of content related to the history of new music in Western Australia

These musical scores represent Western Australia’s contribution to the MusicAustralia project, sponsored by the National Library of Australia.

Apps

Naxos Music Library and Naxos Jazz Phone App

Naxos

Tools

  • Last Updated: Sep 5, 2024 3:32 PM
  • URL: https://ecu.au.libguides.com/music
  • Print Page
Subjects: Music

Edith Cowan University acknowledges and respects the Noongar people, who are the traditional custodians of the land upon which its campuses stand and its programs operate.
In particular ECU pays its respects to the Elders, past and present, of the Noongar people, and embrace their culture, wisdom and knowledge.