LibGuides: Music and Music Theatre: Jazz

Jazz Music

Western Australian Jazz
Audio recordings of WA Jazz greats. Includes WAAPA lecturers and student releases.
Available from ECU Library

Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
A collection of jazz music available online representing over 500 jazz artists. You can search and select works by featured artist(s), disc/song title and catalogue number. Playlists can also be easily created for educational use and new releases are continually added. NOTE: Copying, downloading, re-streaming, recording, reproducing and deep-linking is prohibited.

Books & Journals on Jazz Music

Sheet Music is held on Level 2 of Mount Lawley Library, check out the Finding Music and BCM Classification System tabs above for details on finding music.

Books on Jazz are located in the library at 781.65 and 781.626. You can browse the shelves or search by keyword, title or author using ECU Library search. Click on the links below for a quick browse of what is available in the library collection.

Subject Headings

One of the best ways to find items about a topic, is to search by Subject Heading and not simply Keyword. See the Books & More tab above for tips on how to search with Subject Headings. Here are a sample of Subjects to try (note some are very specific):

Bop (Music) - History and criticism	Jazz - History and criticism
Jazz	Jazz - Instruction and study
Jazz - Analysis and appreciation	Jazz - Lead sheets
Jazz - Arrangement	Jazz - Louisiana - New Orleans - History and criticism
Jazz - Australia	Jazz musicians - Biography
Jazz - Discography	Jazz musicians portraits

Jazz Journals
List of journals ECU Library subscribes to

Select Journals

Down Beat
Print at S 781.626 DOW
Online edition has selected full text articles.
Jazz Educators Journal
Jazziz
Jazz Perspectives
Jazz Times
Shelf Number: S 781.626 JAZ
Journal of Jazz Studies
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

Items in the Library

Australian Jazz Real Book This link opens in a new window
The Australian Jazz Real Book is dedicated to the preservation and distribution of Australian Jazz in both digital and print.
Find it on the shelves at MT / AY AUS
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 250 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

Books on Western Australian Jazz

Databases

Archive of Popular American Music This link opens in a new window
Open Access Database.
UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. The collection has 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra and includes 62,500 recordings on disc, tape, and cylinder.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers Classical music and opera, Jazz and blues, Rock, soul and hip-hop, Folk music, Music business, Sound recording, Ethnomusicology, Music education, Music therapy and Instruments.
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citation/abstract only database with excellent jazz and contemporary article coverage, as well as classical. Not a full text database but journal citation (journal title & issue details)

Aebersold & Real Books


The music collection has over 130 titles of Jamey Aebersold Jazz play-along (score and a CD). Visit the music collection at PHX AEB.	The library has a collection of Jazz Real Books and Jazz Fake Books and the New Australian Jazz Realbook. Visit the music collection at MT/AY.