Music Journals
Looking for a known journal title is the same as looking for a book if you have details of the title. For a quick browse of what is available in the library collection, choose a subject area from the list of music journals and search with ECU Library search Advanced Search to locate titles in print or online format. This is a guide only and is not a comprehensive list.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Music Databases
An index or article database is a good place to start your research. It will assist in locating articles and chapters published in magazines, scholarly journals, books or trade publications. Indexes are useful as they present a range of resources from a variety of sources including books, chapters, articles and dissertations and each entry will list subject headings and an abstract - all useful in assisting you with your research.
- Archive of Popular American Music This link opens in a new windowUCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present. The collection has 450,000 pieces of sheet music, anthologies, and arrangements for band and orchestra and includes 62,500 recordings on disc, tape, and cylinder.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowAccess to articles from over 400 music journals. Not all full text and some are citation/abstract. Includes CD reviews however these are not usually scholarly.
- Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCitation/abstract only database with excellent jazz and classical article coverage. as well as classical. Not a full text database but journal citation (journal title & issue details)
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis is an essential resource for any postgraduate literature review, and includes content from around the world and in many languages.
Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale the longest established music database with classical, jazz, and ethnomusicology coverage from 1969 and is citation/abstract only with no full text. - RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text This link opens in a new windowAnnotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950 including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more.
The following list features specific music databases. General academic databases such as JSTOR also include music coverage.
Internet Databases
Founded in 1934 to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching. Includes access to Doctoral Disserations in Musicology
The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. The Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions, access to operatic sound files and information on available scores.
Each of these guides contains lists of editorially selected Grove Music Online articles associated with a particular time period or genre to familiarize yourself with the key composers, performers, styles, and geographical centers of music in Western Art Music history.
- ASA Publications (Acoustical Society of America) This link opens in a new windowASA Digital Library includes technical articles from journals and magazines published by the Acoustical Society of America since its founding in 1929. Papers are available from the highly cited Journal of the Acoustical Society of America and the other publications in ASA's collection including JASA Express Letters, Acoustics Research Letters Online, Noise Control, Sound--Its Uses and Control, and Standards on Acoustics
- Bloomsbury Popular Music and Sound This link opens in a new windowContains the Bloomsbury Popular Music collection including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.Intense coverage of western music and musicians, world music, jazz and popular music traditions and is a useful starting point for research and study purposes. It has dictionary or encyclopedia format with articles arranged alphabetically by subject, and includes bibilographies of other works on subjects. Only major journal articles are included to date, but use other music databases for current journal literature citations, abstracts and full text. It corresponds to the New Grove Dictionary of Music.
- Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new windowOffers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist, Richard Taruskin.
- Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works.
Publication dedicated to the life and work of Dmitri Dmitrievich Shostakovich
Diverse scholarly approaches to musical practice in the form of articles, essays, and reviews.
Bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
-
Archives of African American Music and CultureAAAMC a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Includes Black Grooves music review site.
-
Beethoven Digital ArchivesUnique music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures from the museum's and library's collections of the Beethoven-Haus.
-
Boosey & HawkesInformation on composers, news, repertoire and publications, new releases, resource centre, photo gallery and 3000 video and audio clips. Sign as a member and have viewing access to 1000 online music scores.
-
Digital Image Archive of Medieval MusicDIAMM is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts.
-
IMSLP: Petrucci Music LibraryIMSLP stands for the International Music Score Library Project and was started in 2006.
The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge. -
Library of Congress Performing Arts EncyclopediaExplore music, dance and theatre at the Library of Congress
-
Maine Music BoxFive collections of unique, rare, of historically important music manuscript scores and sheet music (22000 titles). Music prior to 1923 is public domain and includes midi files.
-
Music AustraliaNow integrated into Trove and contains information on Australian music, musicians, organisations and services.
-
Music In Australia Knowledge Base The Music Trust’s Music in Australia Knowledge Base is the principal source on Australian music sector facts, figures and issues. It covers the entire music sector including the music industry, music education, and music in the community.
-
National Film and Sound ArchiveAudio recordings in the NFSA collection span almost 120 years of recording sounds in Australia and cover a wide range of recording subjects and formats.
-
Victrola Book of the Opera110 operas as an interactive digital facsimile with plot synopses, lists of recordings with different interpretations of the most popular arias of the period.
-
Virtual Library of MusicViFaMusik portal for music and musicology, provides access to an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources as bibliographical data, full text data, and information about experts in musicology.