Notice: Release of APA 7th edition
A new edition of the APA manual was released in October 2019. Please note that APA 7th edition will be the referencing style supported by ECU from Semester 1, 2020. The ECU Library Services Centre will be updating all relevant materials for semester 1, 2020.
Not all Schools will switch immediately. Please check with your unit coordinator to ensure you know which version you will need to use. Some APA 6th materials will remain available for student use during the transition period.
APA 6th referencing style
APA style is an author-date citation style, which has been adopted by the majority of courses at ECU. Most Law units require adherence to the Australian Guide to Legal Citation referencing style. At postgraduate level, other styles might be preferred in specific disciplines, as advised by the course coordinator or supervisor. See other referencing styles in this guide.
Please note that some specific assignment requirements for your unit may differ from details provided in this guide. Therefore, please check your unit guidelines and assignment instructions, as you may be penalised for not conforming.
In this guide you will find:
- Sample references and information, under the tabs, for a variety of reference types and links to tutorials in Academic Writer;
- Quick Guide to APA Referencing (pdf), produced by ECU Library - a short printable introductory guide for the most common reference types. This guide has been developed to assist undergraduate students with referencing using APA style;
- Academic Writer database
Quick Guide to APA 6th Referencing (PDF)
- ECU Quick Guide to APA 6th ReferencingThis printable quick guide produced by ECU Library provides an introduction to APA Style (6th ed.) referencing and a selection of common sample references. This guide has been developed to assist undergraduate students with referencing using APA style. Use in conjunction with information on the Library's online referencing guide. This version updated July 2019.
Please note that a new edition (APA 7th) was released in 2020. Check your unit plan or ask your lecturer to ensure you know which version you should be using.
Academic Writer
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowThe “Academic Writer” database, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a comprehensive and authoritative online resource designed to assist with referencing and academic writing in APA Style. It provides access to videos, guides, quizzes, and a searchable collection of sample references, to assist with referencing, as well as online tools and templates to assist with academic writing and publishing in APA Style. This database also includes full integration of the latest edition of the "Publication manual of the American Psychological Association" and the "APA style guide to electronic references".
For help with referencing, take a look at the LEARN section of Academic Writer.
Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari recommended.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition)ISBN: 9781433805592Publication Date: 6th ed. 2010Print copies of this manual are available in all campus libraries. The manual is also integrated into the online APA Style Central database.
Copies of the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the APA are available at the Library on each campus. This book is only available in print.
Please ensure you are using the correct edition for your purposes. For coursework students, ask your unit coordinator whether they would like you to reference using APA 6th edition or the newer APA 7th edition. If you are preparing a work for publication, check the author submission guidelines.
APA 6th referencing style - authoritative sources
Information in this guide is based on:
- American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington, DC: Author. Sections of the manual are integrated into the Academic Writer database.
- Academic Writer database
- APA style guide to electronic references (integrated in Academic Writer). Supplements the APA publication manual and provides additional reference examples for a variety of online sources.
- APA style blog
The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.