Reference Works: General Reference Format
Entry in a print reference work:
Entry in an online reference work with a DOI:
Entry in an online reference work without a DOI:
Reference Works: Sample References
| Source | In-text References | End-text References (reference lists require hanging indent) |
| Reference work: Unknown author or editor |
(Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 2005) Note: In-text the title is italicised and in title case.
|
Print:
Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed.). (2005). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.
Online:
If the online version refers to a print edition, include the edition after the title, for example:
Heuristic. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary (11th ed.). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster. Retrieved from http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/heuristic
Note: In the end-text reference the tile is italicised and in sentence case.
|
| Print dictionary: Editor | (VandenBos, 2007) |
VandenBos, G. R. (Ed.). (2007). APA dictionary of psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
|
| Entry in a print encyclopedia: No editors |
(Robinson, 1994) |
Robinson, A. (1994). The principles of genetics and heredity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica (vol. 19, pp. 699-740). Chicago, IL: Encyclopedia Britannica.
|
| Entry in an online encyclopedia: One editor |
(Purcell, 2010) |
Purcell, L. (2010). Abdominal injuries. In L. J. Micheli (Ed.), Encyclopedia of sports medicine (pp. 2-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412961165.n1
|
| Entry in an online encyclopedia: Two editors |
(Pulkkinen, 2001) |
Pulkkinen, L. (2001). Antisocial behavior in childhood and adolescence. In N. J. Smelser & P. B. Baltes (Eds.), International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences. Amsterdam, Netherlands: Elsevier. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/9780080430768
|
|
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5) - Entire Book
|
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013) |
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Arlington, VA: Author.
Note: There is no DOI for the entire book.
|
|
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5) - Online
|
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013) |
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Cautionary statement for forensic use of DSM-5. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Arlington, VA: Author. doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.744053
Note: Each section has a DOI.
|
Reference Works: Things to Remember
- New York, NY: Harper & Row.
- Washington, DC: Author.
- Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.
- London, England: Wildwood House.
- Melbourne, Australia: Puffin.
What is a DOI?
A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique code used to identify content and provide a persistent link to a document on the internet. A publisher assigns a DOI when a journal article is published and made available electronically.
Include a DOI for all electronic publications at the end of your reference, if one exists. If a DOI doesn't exist, then include the URL.
Display the DOI in either of the following formats. The active URL link is preferred to the shorter form, but either formats are acceptable for APA style:
doi:10.1037/rmh0000008
https://doi.org/10.5468/ogs.2016.59.1.1
For further information, refer to Crossref:
Reference Works
Reference Work and Reference Work Entry
Learn how to format references for whole reference works and entries in reference works, including dictionaries and encyclopedias, available in print, online, or through mobile apps.
Academic Writer
© 2016 American Psychological Association.