LibGuides: Nutrition & Dietetics: Home

Getting Started

About this guide

This guide will help you with:

Beginning your research and finding the best scholarly information sources in Nutrition & Dietetics
Identifying and locating key books, journals and other resources relevant to Nutrition & Dietetics that are available via ECU Library
Accessing specialist health and medical databases to find relevant research
Linking to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources

Library search

Use Library search to search and access the Library's collections of books (print and online), journal articles and other resources. This is a good place to start searching for information on your topic. From your search you can link directly to the full text of articles and ebooks or to the location of print copies on the shelves.

Key Databases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
International Medical and Health database. Key database for Nutrition and Dietetics.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence based information on Dietary supplements, Natural medicines, and Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative therapies.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.

See the Journals/Databases page for other databases relevant for Nutrition & Dietetics

Evidence based practice

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Point of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.

This database includes resources for subject specialties, evidence based practice, patient leaflets and clinical procedural videos.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.