Featured Journals
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition is a journal of the American Society for Nutrition.
From the website: "The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (AJCN) is the most highly rated peer-reviewed journal in ISI's nutrition and dietetics category and publishes the latest worldwide basic and clinical studies relevant to human nutrition in topics such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism."
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Formerly known as: Journal of the American Dietetic Association.
Nutrition Reviews: The journal offers approachable, balanced coverage of applied and experimental nutrition research worldwide for scientists, researchers, practitioners, and students in a number of allied fields including public health, medicine, dietetics, and food science.
Public Health Nutrition: Public Health Nutrition focuses on the promotion of good health through nutrition and the primary prevention of nutrition related illness in the population.
Key Journals
These are some key journals for Nutrition & Dietetics available via the ECU Library catalogue, Worldsearch.
Annual Reviews Journals Collection
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSummary: Provides full text access to journals in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Includes: Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection (25 Annual Reviews journals) ; Physical Sciences Collection (13 Annual Reviews journals) ; Social Sciences Collection (8 Annual Reviews journals).
Key Databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing biomedical literature. This database is useful for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, diseases, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition & dietetics, occupational health, public health and epidemiological studies.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large international multidisciplinary citation database of peer reviewed literature. Subject areas include Life Sciences, Health Sciences (with 100% MEDLINE coverage), Physical Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Natural Medicines database
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowProvides evidence based information on Dietary supplements, Natural medicines, and Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative therapies.
Related Databases
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL is also a key database for rehabilitation, ergonomics and therapies.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing journals in psychology and related disciplines.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIt is suggested that to search for journal articles only, you use the limit option Journal Article (Under Publication Type). You may also wish to limit to English (Under Language)
Australian databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
OECD iLibrary
- OECD This link opens in a new windowIncludes OECD Health Data, which offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.