MND T2 Session
Useful Books
Communicating clearly about science and medicine : making data presentations as simple as possible-- but no simpler [e-version] by ISBN: 9781409440383Publication Date: 2012
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by ISBN: 9781529713473Publication Date: 4th ed. 2021
Quantitative Methods for Health Research : a Practical Interactive Guide to Epidemiology and Statistics by ISBN: 9781118665268Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2017
Research : successful approaches in nutrition and dietetics by ISBN: 9780880919463Publication Date: 4th ed. 2019
Research methods in health : foundations for evidence-based practice by ISBN: 9780195520064Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2013
Research techniques for the health sciences (5th ed.) by Call Number: 610.72 NEUISBN: 9780321883445Publication Date: 2013
A Survival Guide for Health Research Methods [e-version] by ISBN: 9780335244744Publication Date: 2012
Core Databases
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowAn international database indexing the biomedical literature and produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). MeSH (medical subject headings) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, used in MEDLINE indexing.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
Evidence based practice databases
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
Australian
- Health Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers Ageing and Aged Care, Child Health and Breastfeeding, Indigenous Health Issues, Mental Health and Rehabilitation.
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
Research databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
PubMed
PubMed database is an internet version of Medline produced by the National Library of Medicine in the United States.
Open access articles are freely available in PubMed. To ensure that you also have access to journal articles available on subscription through ECU Library, link to PubMed via the Library.
PubMed search results will then also include a FindIt link to locate full text articles available via ECU.
What's the Difference Between MEDLINE and PubMed? Fact Sheet explains the additional features of PubMed.
PsycTests Databases
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures. The database contains reviews of tests and some full text. Surveys useful for health sciences are also included.
- PsycTESTS - SurveysUse the drop down option under Instrument Type to limit to Survey.
SAGE Research Methods Online database
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) database, provides a comprehensive online collection of books and reference materials on research methods (quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences.
Included in the collection is the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.
Theses
ECU theses:
Theses are available online through ECU's Research Online respository and the Australasian Digital Theses (ADT) database.
Databases:
Proquest Dissertations & Theses full text: is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.