Skip to main content

Referencing: Reference works

Guide to APA 6th referencing style used at ECU

General format for end-text references

Entry in a print reference work: 
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (pp. xxxx). Location: Publisher.
Note: If there are no page numbers, the chapter or entry title is sufficient.
 
Entry in an online reference work with a DOI:
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. A. Editor & B. B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxxx). doi.org/xxxxx
 
Entry in an online reference work without a DOI:
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. A. Editor, B. B. Editor, & C. C. Editor (Eds.), Title of referecne work (pp. xxxx).
      Retrieved from http://xxxxx

 

Reference work and Entry in a reference work

Reference Work and Reference Work Entry

Learn how to format references for whole reference works and entries in reference works, including dictionaries and encyclopedias, available in print, online, or through mobile apps.

APA Style CENTRAL

© 2016 American Psychological Association.

Examples showing how to reference reference works

Source                                     In-text                                        End-text      
Print dictionary: No author or editor
(Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 2005)

Note. In-text the title is italicised and in title case.   
Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed.). ( 2005).
Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.
Note. In the end-text reference the tile is italicised and in sentence case.  
Print dictionary: Editor  (VandenBos, 2007)
VandenBos, G., R. (Ed.). (2007). APA dictionary of psychology.
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Entry in a print encyclopedia: No editors

(Robinson, 1994)

Robinson, A. (1994). The principles of genetics and heredity. In The new
encyclopedia Britannica (vol. 19, pp. 699-740). Chicago, IL: Encyclopedia Britannica.
Entry in an online encyclopedia: One editor

(Purcell, 2010)

Purcell, L. (2010). Abdominal injuries. In L. J. Micheli (Ed.),
Encyclopedia of sports medicine (pp. 2-4). doi:10.4135/9781412961165.n1
Entry in an online encyclopedia: Two editors

(Pulkkinen, 2001)

Pulkkinen, L. (2001). Antisocial behavior in childhood and
adolescence. In N. J. Smelser & P. B. Baltes (Eds.), International encyclopedia of the social &  behavioral sciences. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/9780080430768
Entry in an online dictionary (“Ontology,” n.d.)
Ontology. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary (11th ed.).
Retrieved from http://www.merriamwebster.com/dictionary/ontology
 Wikipedia:  entry

("Stress Testing," 2008)

"Stress Testing" (2008)

Note. In-text the title is in title case, within quotation marks .

Stress testing. (2014, March 13). In Wikipedia. Retrieved
June 20, 2014, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stress_testing

Note. Title is in sentence case. Include the retrieval date if the content cited is likely to be changed or updated.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual
(DSM-5) - Entire Book
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical
manual  of mental disorders (5th ed.). Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Publishing.
Note: There is no DOI  for the entire book
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual
(DSM-5) - Online
 
Each section has a DOI
(American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Cautionary statement for
forensic use of DSM-5. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). doi:10.1176/appi.books. 9780890425596.744053

Things to remember when referencing reference works

Authors' names: Authors' names should always be Surname, Initial. Initial.  e.g. Smith, L. M.
 
Italics: Only the title of the reference work should be in italics.  If you are referencing a chapter or an entry in a reference work the title of the chapter should not be in italics.
 
Capitalization: In your reference list the first letter of the first word of a title should be capitalized as should the first letter of the first word of any subtitle.  Everything else should be in lower case unless it is a proper noun or an abbreviation that is always written in capitals.
 
Publication details: For books published within the United States, follow the name of the city with the two official US postal service abbreviations. For all other publications, follow the name of the city with the name of the country. End with the name of the publisher.
Examples:
New York, NY: Harper & Row.
Washington, DC: Author
Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.
London, England: Wildwood House.
Melbourne, Australia: Puffin.
Cambridge, England: Author
Note. If the author and the publisher are the same, write "Author" as the name of the publisher.