Skip to Main Content

Academic Skills in Nursing and Midwifery: Finding credible information

Where do you find Scholarly Journals and other credible information?

Your Reading List on your Unit site is a great place to start, then head to the Library website where there is a wealth of resources available. 

Unit Reading List

Your Unit Reading List contains sources of information such as books, Journals and Journal Articles along with quality websites that have been specifically chosen by your Unit Coordinator to support your learning in the Unit.  This is a great place to start and is accessible from your Unit Blackboard site.

Here is a short orientation video on how to access and use your Unit Reading List.

Each Campus has a Library which provides access to study areas and books including the high use collection where a copy of your Unit text (if in print format only) is available to borrow for a three hour loan.

Take a moment to browse the Library website homepage.  It has lots of useful links including the opening times, how to book a study room, how to borrow a book along with the loan periods.  Most importantly it is where you can access the Nursing and Midwifery library guides and health specific databases.

Click on the image to browse the Library Homepage.

 

Use the library to search for books, ebooks, journal articles, newspaper articles, DVDs, and more. 

What is a Database?

A database is an organised collection of digital information that includes journal articles, books, images and multimedia. Databases can be general or subject specific.

Studying in the School of Nursing and Midwifery you will be using health databases. The two key databases are CINAHL and MEDLINE. CINAHL contains nursing and allied health related information, and MEDLINE contains medical/clinical related information.  

The Nursing or Midwifery Library Guides under provide more information on health databases that will be reliable sources of information to use in your assignments.

The Internet can also provide quality credible information. Examples are the websites of professional bodies such as the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA).

The internet is where you will find the Nursing and Midwifery Professional Codes and Guidelines and health department websites.  However when using information sourced from the internet you will need to be information savvy and do the legwork to ensure the information you are planning to use is reliable and of a high quality. 

Again your Unit Coordinator may have included some links to websites within the Unit Reading List.  They have evaluated these websites for you and deemed them to be credible.  There is also a suggested list within the Nursing or Midwifery Library Guides.

Take a moment to have a look at your Unit Reading List and/or the 'Websites and Reports tab' within the Library Guides.

More on what to look for in a credible quality website and how to search Google/Google Scholar to find credible information in Module 4.