What is a Database?
A library database provides access to a range of online resources including journal articles, research papers and ebooks. They may also include newspaper articles, magazine articles, videos and images.
Useful for finding:
- Credible information
- Up to date information
- Peer- reviewed articles and academic research papers
|
Searching Tip Sheets
|
These tip sheets will help you to structure your search.
- Find Keywords
- Find related/ alternative terms
- Combine terms using AND, OR, NOT
- Limit the search by date, full text, peer-reviewed
- Searching Tip Sheet (Generic)This tip sheet can be used for any assignment topic.
Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA core research database of Nursing and Allied Health information. Additional materials include Evidence-based Care Sheets, Quick Lessons and continuing Education Modules.
- CINAHL Database Guide
Beginners guide to using the CINAHL Database
- Video: Advanced Searching in CINAHL
This short video introduces how to search using the search fields and Boolean operators.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowAn international database indexing the biomedical literature and produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). MeSH (medical subject headings) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus, used in MEDLINE indexing.
- Medline Database GuideBeginners guide to using the Medline Database
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health specifically Psycho-social, Psychological or Human Experiences.
- PscyINFO Quick GuideAre you new to using PsycINFO? This Quick Guide can help you get started.
- PsycINFO: Browsing the ThesaurusA thesaurus contains subject terms that are assigned to an article. Using these terms may help your search be more precise.
- Video: PsycINFO: Searching using the thesaurus (5.52 mins)
This video demonstrates how to search PsycINFO including how to use the thesaurus of indexed terms. - Video: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in PsycINFO (3.12 mins)This video demonstrates how to find peer-reviewed empirical journal articles in PsycINFO.
There are more PsycINFO video tutorials for you to explore.
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- Video: Introduction to JBI EBP database (4m 38s)An introduction to JBI database explaining some of the key features for searching.
- JBI Evidence-Based Practice GuideHow to search JBI along with some hints and tips.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
- How to Search in the Cochrane LibraryA step by step guide for searching the Cochrane Library.
- How to with .... The Cochrane LibraryA series of slides to get you started searching in The Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library User GuideProvides information for searching, using Mesh terms, saving searches and more.
- Cochrane Library: More trainingAccess the Cochrane Library training hub for more specific help and tutorials.
|
BMJ Best Practice
|
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
- BMJ Best Practice Database GuideNavigating the British Medical Journal Best Practice resource of Point of Care materials.
- How to with ... BMJ DatabaseA series of slides to get you started using the BMJ Database.
- How to search in BMJ Best PracticeA short video that highlights the core content of the database.
|
Nursing Reference Center
|
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides a user-friendly point-of-care resources including CINAHL nursing guide, patient education documents, HealthDay news with daily FDA (Food and Drug Administration), clinical, and drug updates.
|
Trip Medical Database
|
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new windowA clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- Trip Medical Database GuideThis UWA Trip Medical Databsae Guide is really useful if you require more information.
|
MIMS Online
|
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new windowProvides a wide range of Australian medicines information – full prescribing information, consumer medicine information and product images for pharmaceuticals.
Access limited to 5 concurrent users
|
Nursing & Allied Health Database
|
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowOffers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more...
|
Anatomy.tv
|
- Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new windowAnatomy.tv is an engaging and effective web-based interactive 3D anatomy resource with 20 interactive modules covering every body system with accurate and interactive 3D anatomy and media rich physiology content that is brings this complex subject to life.
|
Health Collection
|
- Health Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers Ageing and Aged Care, Child Health and Breastfeeding, Indigenous Health Issues, Mental Health and Rehabilitation.
|
PubMed
|
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.
Note that you can export a complete search strategy from MEDLINE directly into the PubMed search field as PubMed recognises MeSH terms. Use the permanent link sourced from the Share option above the MEDLINE search results.