UPU0004 - Humanities
Books
Improve Your Study Skills by ISBN: 9781444126167Publication Date: 2010This general guide to studying includes a chapter on effective reading.
Other resources
Books
Critical Thinking for Students by ISBN: 9781137550507Publication Date: 2017This book will helps you develop your analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing.
Video
- A student's guide to critical thinkingA short video discussing the importance of critical thinking (14 min.).
Related guides
- How to spot fake newsVisit our Information Essentials Library guide webpage to find out all about fake news.
- Analysing and thinking criticallyVisit our Information Essentials Library guide webpage to learn more about critical thinking.
Recommended databases
- Humanities & Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThe broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and Indigenous Studies, Arts, History, Law, Literary Studies, Media, Political Science and Sociology.
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases. - Informit EduTV This link opens in a new windowProvides content across a range of learning areas. As well as documentaries, it includes programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of Art, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. - ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new windowCombines all four of ProQuest's multidisciplinary products: ProQuest Central, ProQuest Ebook Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global and Academic Video Online (AVON).
Books
The Media and Communications Study Skills Student Guide by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781912656561Publication Date: 2019-11-25
How Writing Works: A field guide to effective writing [e-version] by ISBN: 1925266915Publication Date: 2017This is Roslyn Petelin's promise: whether you already write reasonably well or not, her book will exponentially improve your writing. It helps you to use the right words in the right order in the right places at the right time for the right reasons and the right readers. Distilling her 30 years of experience in teaching writin, this book is a practical introduction to the elements of grammar, syntax and style you need to write well. She covers social media and writing for online publication, and also digital document management. How Writing Works should be on the desk of everyone who needs to write: students, professionals in all fields, and creative writers.
Websites
- LinkedIn Learning: Writing with Proper PunctuationGrammar Girl introduces the basics of good punctuation.
- GrammarlyThis Google Chrome extension helps you eliminate errors and find grammar and spelling mistakes in your writing.
- HypergrammarThis webpage will help you learn more about grammar.
- Grammar Bytes!A website with practice exercises and videos to help you explore all things grammar.
- Academic Skills Essentials:Editing and proofreadingFind the ECU Editing and Proofreading Checklist and tips on how to edit your writing on this webpage.
English Language Dictionary
- Macquarie Dictionary This link opens in a new windowUpdated annually, making it the most up-to-date Australian dictionary and thesaurus available.
- What is information?Primary sources are where the author has witnessed first-hand the events they are writing about.
Secondary sources are where the author is reporting on something that someone else saw and has written about. - Primary & Secondary SourcesView the Arts Library Guide for more information about what are primary and secondary sources.
- APA 7 Tutorial: Secondary SourcesLearn about what secondary sources are and when to use them.
Academic Writer, © 2020 American Psychological Association. - News and Current Affairs library guideA guide to help you identify and evaluate news sources.
Assignment Support
Online Tests
Books
- Preparing for tests (see this topic from the above book "Study Skills 1")The strategies you use to prepare for a test can make a big difference in the outcome.
Other resources
- Academic Skills Essentials: Exam PreparationThis Library guide has some strategies and techniques for revision.
Research Essay
Books
Level up Your Essays by ISBN: 9781742236803Publication Date: 2021-07-28The essential guide to essay writing for university students.
How to write essays [electronic resource] : a step-by-step guide for all levels, with sample essays by ISBN: 9781845283414Publication Date: 2nd rev. ed. 2009
Communication skills handbook. by Call Number: 378.170281 SUMISBN: 9781118646014Publication Date: 2014
- Essay writingSee this chapter on essay writing from the above eBook "Communication Skills Handbook".
Related guides
- Academic Skills Essentials: EssaysDo you need to write an essay but don’t know where to start? This page will guide you through the different parts of an academic essay.
- Indigenous Australian Studies GuideThis guide is designed to help with research into the history and current experiences of Indigenous Australians.
- Visual ArtsExplore the links to websites, galleries and museums.
- Criminology and JusticeIncludes links to a number of websites devoted to fact checking news.
- Historical & Political StudiesHistory and politics address some of the most important and contentious issues facing humanity.
- News and Current Affairs library guideA guide to help you identify and evaluate news sources.
Research Summary
Books
Writing the Annotated Bibliography: a guide for students and researchers (ebook) by ISBN: 9780367853051Publication Date: 2020-06-10
See the following chapter of the above book by Kate Williams:
Related guide
- Academic Skills Essentials: Annotated bibliographiesAn Annotated Bibliography is simply a list of references where each bibliographic entry is followed by a short paragraph that describes and evaluates the source.
See the 'Referencing Skills' section in this Library Guide. (You will find it in the menu on the left.)
- Referencing GuideInformation in the Referencing Guide is based on:
-
American Psychological Association. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.).
- APA Style Blog. This blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, and provides clarification and additional assistance. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.
- Academic Writer Academic Writer is APA's authoritative solution offering you a complete digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers. LEARN: Use the Learning Center to find quick guides and tutorials to help you get started and refine your research and writing. REFERENCE: Use the Reference Center to find tools to assist you with building and managing a reference library. WRITE: Use the Writing Center to select an APA Style paper template, collaborate with peers and reviewers, and check your work.