UPU0002 - Academic Writing
Text and Referencing Resources
Communications toolkit (3rd ed.) by Call Number: 378.170281 GREISBN: 9780170243612Publication Date: 2014- The reflective practice guide : an interdisciplinary approach to critical reflection byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781317666011Publication Date: 2016
- Academic Writer This link opens in a new windowAcademic Writer is APA's authoritative solution offering you a complete digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers that is designed to assist with the application of APA style formatting rules.
Assignment Support
The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism (Chapter 6) (2nd ed.) by
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism will continue to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance on making sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources. Tackling all the main forms of referencing - Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - in an accessible and comprehensive manner, you'll want to dip into this book again and again. This new edition offers additional 'frequently asked questions' and answers; quotations from real students; referencing in action; exercises and quizzes to test your knowledge; more information on referencing management software; and a detailed guide to referencing electronic sources and choosing reliable internet sites. The Complete Guide to Referencing & Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing to accurately reflect the work of others and avoid plagiarism.
Publication Date: 2010 [ebook]
Handbook of Academic Integrity by
The book brings together diverse views from around the world and provides a comprehensive overview of the subject, beginning with different definitions of academic integrity through how to create the ethical academy. At the same time, the Handbook does not shy away from some of the vigorous debates in the field such as the causes of academic integrity breaches. There has been an explosion of interest in academic integrity in the last 10-20 years. New technologies that have made it easier than ever for students to 'cut and paste', coupled with global media scandals of high profile researchers behaving badly, have resulted in the perception that plagiarism is 'on the rise'. This, in combination with the massification and commercialisation of higher education, has resulted in a burgeoning interest in the importance of academic integrity, how to safeguard it and how to address breaches appropriately. What may have seemed like a relatively easy topic to address - students copying sources without attribution - has in fact, turned out to be a very complex, interdisciplinary field of research requiring contributions from linguists, psychologists, social scientists, anthropologists, teaching and learning specialists, mathematicians, accountants, medical doctors, lawyers and philosophers, to name just a few. Despite or perhaps because of this broad interest and input, there has been no single authoritative reference work which brings together the vast, growing, interdisciplinary and at times contradictory body of literature. For both established researchers/practitioners and those new to the field, this Handbook provides a one-stop-shop as well as a launching pad for new explorations and discussions.
ISBN: 9789812870971Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Post-Admission Language Assessment of University Students by
English-medium universities around the world face real challenges in ensuring that incoming students have the language and literacy skills they need to cope with the demands of their degree programmes. One response has been a variety of institutional initiatives to assess students after admission, in order to identify those with significant needs and advise them on how to enhance their academic language ability. This volume brings together papers from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Oman, South Africa and the United States, written by language assessment specialists who discuss issues in the design and implementation of these post-admission assessments in their own institutions. A major theme running through the book is the need to evaluate the validity of such assessments not just on their technical quality but on their impact, in terms of giving students access to effective means of developing their language skills and ultimately enhancing their academic achievement.
ISBN: 9783319391922Publication Date: 2016-08-10
- Essentials: Academic IntegrityLibrary Essentials page on Academic Integrity
- What is Academic IntegrityECU webpage on Academic Integrity
Argumentative Essay & Preparation
- The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism (Chapter 6) (2nd ed.) by
This excellent new edition of The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism will continue to demystify the referencing process and provide essential guidance on making sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources. Tackling all the main forms of referencing - Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - in an accessible and comprehensive manner, you'll want to dip into this book again and again. This new edition offers additional 'frequently asked questions' and answers; quotations from real students; referencing in action; exercises and quizzes to test your knowledge; more information on referencing management software; and a detailed guide to referencing electronic sources and choosing reliable internet sites. The Complete Guide to Referencing & Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing to accurately reflect the work of others and avoid plagiarism.
Publication Date: 2010 [ebook]
- APA 7th Referencing LibguideThe ECU Library guide to referencing. Almost everything you need to know about referencing is here.
- Evaluation Tests - The CRAAP TestA test to determine whether information in your research is credible enough to use in assignments.
- 4 R'sMore tips for analysing credibility of information.
- Credible Sources of InformationA look at how to identify credible information.
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students by
Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!′Alex unpacks the complexities of language to provide sound advice on writing for university at all levels. The book ranges from basic grammar to more advanced examples such as the complexities of "hedging". The advice is well supported by examples from a range of disciplines.′ - Dr Sue Tangney, Cardiff Metropolitan University′This exciting new publication helps students understand the requirements of academic writing in today′s world. I have no hesitation in recommending this book to all students.′ - Penelope Hood, Anglia Ruskin UniversityThis handy guide shows you how to quickly get to grips with using academic English grammar and punctuation. Highlighting common grammar mistakes and how to avoid them, the author also shares a wealth of examples and advice from tutors from a range of subjects, enabling you to immediately improve your work at university.Inside, you′ll find practical advice on: common mistakes punctuation conciseness proofreading referencing. All the advice has been tried and tested through workshops that the author runs with students. It is ideal for undergraduates on a wide range of courses, to help promote independent learning as well as practical writing skills.Personal tips and advice from the author onlineFor additional resources and one-to-one advice from Alex ′like′ his Facebook page Academic Writing and Grammar for Students: www.facebook.com/academicwritingandgrammarforstudentsSAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Call Number: 808.066378 OSMISBN: 9781446210918Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Cadmus Test and Literature Matrix
- APA 7th Referencing Libguide The ECU Library guide to correctly compose referencing. Almost everything you need to know about referencing can be found here.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
- Assignment Steps LibguideThe ECU Library guide on writing assignments. This can help with the Cadmus test.