Database and Platform Guides
On this page you will find notes and guides for various eresource platforms subscribed to at ECU including what download and access types each of them can have. Each platform will have their respective libguide or user manual linked where possible.
If you are using a platform not listed below most platforms will come with a help or frequently asked questions guide. Look for the [?] or search the website for help.
Be aware that ebooks and other resources will differ from title to title depending on their publisher or what type of license we have on our digital shelves.
Cambridge University Press has its own digital resource platform called Cambridge Core which provides access to their ebooks and research publications.
- Cambridge Core - Journals & eBooks This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, coverage includes: Art, Chemistry, Computer Science, Drama and Theatre, Economics, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Music, Psychology, and more...
User guides
For a guide to how to use the Cambridge Core platform see their user guide:
Accessibility
For guidance on accessibility related to Cambridge Core products visit their page on accessibility:
EBSCO holds a range of databases including several medical and humanities journal databases. They also host a range of ebooks through their ebook library as well as licences to individual titles.
You can access EBSCO ebooks and journals through our database link:
- EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new windowDatabases available on the EBSCOhost platform are:
AMED, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycBooks, APA PsycInfo, APA PsycTests, Art & Architecture Source, Business Source Ultimate, CINAHL Ultimate, Criminal Justice Abstracts, eBook Collection, eBook Open Access (OA) Collection, Education Source, European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750, Family Studies Abstracts, GreenFILE, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, MEDLINE, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Music Index with Full Text, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Regional Business News, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text, RIPM – With Full Text, Social Work Abstracts, and SPORTDiscus with Full Text.
User guides
To find out more about using EBSCO see their library guide:
Accessibility
For guidance on accessibility when using ebooks on EBSCO see their accessibility pages:
It is recommended opening EBSCO ebooks as EPUB files for compatibility purposes for most screen readers.
Elsevier is a publisher of a large range of ebooks and journals. They provide both online and downloadable versions of their works.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a large inter-disciplinary engineering database platform covering topics including chemical, civil, mechanical or materials engineering. Also includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for all engineering disciplines. - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
User guides
For guides on how to use Elsevier products please visit the relevant help guides.
ScienceDirect eBooks:
Knovel:
Accessibility
For guidance on accessibility related to Elsevier products visit the relevant accessibility page on their website:
ProQuest provides a platform for many publishers to host their titles so you may find books from all different publishing companies, subject areas, and types on this platform.
You can access the ProQuest platforms through our database links:
- ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject. - ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Merger of EBL Ebook Library and Ebrary Academic Complete.
User guides
To find out more about using ProQuest see their library guides:
Accessibility
For guidance on accessibility related to ProQuest ebook platforms visit the Accessibility Statement for Ebook Central:
If you are using a screen reader for ProQuest ebooks be sure to enable Text Only Mode from your ProQuest profile settings. Access your ECU ProQuest profile here:
SAGE publishing comes with a range of platforms for books and digital resources including SAGE Knowledge for ebook publications, SAGE catalyst for textbooks, SAGE Research Methods for research manuals, guides, and handbooks. SAGE also publishes business cases and journals through SAGE Business Cases and SAGE Journals Online.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Access more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries covering entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. - SAGE Catalyst This link opens in a new windowA collaborative teaching and learning tool covering business & management, communication & media studies, counselling, cultural studies, economics, education, geography, earth & environmental science, nursing, psychology, public health, research methods & evaluation, social work, sociology and more.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes more than 1000 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Their growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video. - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowIncludes SAGE Book, Business Case, Reference and Video titles within the Social Sciences.
- SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSupports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process with 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
User guides
For guides on how to use the various SAGE platforms please visit the relevant library guide for the platform that you are using:
SAGE Library Guide:
Accessibility
For guidance on accessibility related to SAGE products visit the relevant accessibility page on their website:
Springer publishes books, journals, and research across a large range of subject areas in the sciences with a large collection of journals, textbooks, handbooks, and conference publications.
You can access Springer ebooks through the SpringerLink database:
- Springer Nature Link Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
User guides
See Springer's tutorial page for guides and videos on how to use their research and resource platforms:
Accessibility
Springer allows all of their ebooks and articles to be downloaded as a PDF. Any screen reader or accessibility tool compatible with PDF files should be compatible with all Springer provided resources.