Featured Journal
Medicine and science in sports and exercise
Official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine.
Features original research and review articles in sports medicine and exercise science.
Key Journals
- Injury PreventionBMJ publication.
- Journal of aging and physical activityThe official journal of the International Society for Aging and Physical Activity.
- Sport healthOfficial gazette of Australian Sports Medicine Federation.
Subject Databases
EBSCO Databases: Click on "Choose Databases" to mark up more than one database to search simultaneously. e.g. you can search SPORTDiscus, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, etc. in the one search.
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new windowAMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments with coverage being mainly European.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing nursing and allied health literature. This database is also the main database for Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, Rehabilitation and Ergonomics.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database, indexing literature from 1947 to the present. Embase has a broad biomedical scope, with in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutical science, and clinical research.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing biomedical literature. This database is useful for searching for information relating to addiction, biomedical research, human physiology, health policies, health promotion, nutrition, occupational health and epidemiological studies.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowInternational database indexing journals in psychology and related disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to open access full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Link to ECU subscribed full text via Findit@ECU.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowKey database for sports science, indexing journals and other materials in all aspects of sport. It is suggested that to search for journal articles only, you use the limit option Journal Article (Under Publication Type). You may also wish to limit to English (Under Language).
Australian Databases
- Informit This link opens in a new window
An extensive range of authoritative subject-based databases featuring coverage of Australian and international information resources. Including Health, Engineering, Business, Education, Law, Humanities and Social Sciences.
Databases may be searched individually, or collectively by subject groupings or across all databases.
Citation Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This database includes: Science citation index, Social Sciences citation index, and Arts & Humanities citation index. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large international multidisciplinary database of peer reviewed literature, with a focus on the sciences. Subject areas include Life Sciences, Health Sciences (with 100% Medline coverage), Physical Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Evidence based practice
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowPoint of care reference database. A clinical decision support tool known for its breadth of disease coverage, editorial quality and evidence-based methodology.
This database includes resources for subject specialties, evidence based practice, patient leaflets and clinical procedural videos.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Find Systematic Reviews, Clinical Trials, Method Studies and more.
- JBI (Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Searching Tips
1. Find Synonyms (alternative keywords):
- pediatrics OR children
- teenagers OR adolescents
2. Use Truncation (putting * at the end of a word stem) to search all forms of the word. Truncation symbol can also be used as a 'wildcard' within a word to search American and English spelling
- child* (child, children, childhood, children's)
- adolesc* (adolescent, adolescence, adolescents)
- behavio*r (behavior, behaviour)
4. AND (joins concepts and narrows the search)
- obesity AND children
- stress AND (occupation OR job)
5. "...." (inverted commas) use for a phrase
- "exercise physiology"
- "health promotion"
Google Scholar search - link to full text available via ECU
Go to Settings in Google Scholar to set up a Findit@ECU link to full text available via ECU.
Follow these simple instructions.
Click on Settings in Google Scholar > Scroll down to Library Links > type in Edith Cowan University > click on Find Library > then Save Preferences.
Postgraduate students and staff are eligible to use the Document Delivery service to request any articles not available by subscription via ECU.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.