A Good Starting Point
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and key reference sources are useful in defining your terms and concepts, understanding key words and obtaining an overview of the area you are researching.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of sport and exercise psychology [e-version] by ISBN: 9781452203836Publication Date: 2014
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2015
Dictionaries
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions (3rd Australian and New Zealand edition) by Call Number: 610.3 MOSISBN: 9780729541381Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine (3rd ed.) by Call Number: 617.102703 OXFISBN: 9780198568506Publication Date: 2007
Other Reference Sources
Musculoskeletal, Sports and Occupational Medicine [e-version] by ISBN: 9781617050077Publication Date: 2011
Oxford handbook of sport and exercise medicine (2nd ed.) [e-version] by ISBN: 9780199660155Publication Date: 2nd ed. 2012
Oxford Textbook of Medicine by
Advances in biomedical sciences, the broader context of health and disease, patients and their expectations, and access to medical knowledge are some of the key areas examined in detail among the 30 sections of the book. Sections include introductory sections on patients and their treatment, background to medicine, cell biology, and immunological mechanisms, as well as more subject-specific sections such as infectious diseases, neurological disorders, cardiovascular disorders, rheumatology, and the kidney, as well as many more.
ISBN: 9780198746690Publication Date: 6th ed. 2020
Drug guides
- Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) This link opens in a new windowCovers Drug information, Pharmacology and Therapeutics.
- MIMS Online This link opens in a new windowProvides a wide range of Australian medicines information – full prescribing information, consumer medicine information and product images for pharmaceuticals.
Access limited to 5 concurrent users