Design Area 1: Water Supply
Visit the links below for help locating information about water supply.
- UN Sustainable Development Goal 6: Clean Water and SanitationThe United Nations SDGs provide targets to work towards. This page collects information and statistics about global progress towards the goal.
- HealthyWA: Drinking water in Western AustraliaHealthyWA is a WA Department of Health site. This page links to other sites that can tell you who provides water in the state, who monitors the quality of water, and where to go to develop water supply plans.
- WSPortalPractical guidance on Water Safety Plans from the World Health Organisation. Includes resources and case studies.
- CAWST, the Centre for Affordable Water and Sanitation TechnologyCAWST, the Centre for Affordable Water and Sanitation Technology, is a non-profit organization that provides training and consulting to organizations that work directly with populations in developing countries who lack access to clean water and basic sanitation. This Publications and Resources page includes some great resources for your EWB assignment. YOU CAN DOWNLOAD FOR FREE, BUT YOU WILL NEED TO CREATE A LOGIN. For best results use Firefox or Google Chrome as your browser.
- Centre for Appropriate Technology Water ManagementThe Centre for Appropriate Technology Limited (Cfat Ltd) works with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and a range of government and non-government organisations, to develop effective approaches that ensure basic water supplies function properly and meet the needs and aspirations of the residents.
- Engineering for change - WaterE4C is a dynamic and growing community of engineers, technologists, social scientists, NGOs, local governments and community advocates whose mission is to improve quality of life in communities around the world by facilitating the development of affordable, locally appropriate and sustainable solutions to the most pressing humanitarian challenges.
- Engineering for change - Solutions library - WaterThe E4C Solutions library represents a collection of solutions that have been implemented by various organizations. Includes examples of previous EWB Projects.
- Rural Water Supply NetworkRWSN is a global network of professionals and practitioners working to raise standards of knowledge and evidence, technical and professional competence, practice and policy in rural water supply and so fulfil the vision of sustainable rural water services for all.
- Eawag Water and Sanitation: Water supply and treatmentEawag is among the world’s leading aquatic research institutes and this site provides a good selection of resources on the topic.
- Stormwater Management ManualThis manual by the WA Department of Water and Environmental Regulation "provides principles, objectives and detailed design information" to follow Australian water policies.
Books (available electronically) for further information
Community Based Water Management and Social Capital by ISBN: 9781780405469Publication Date: 2014-04-14Community Based Water Management and Social Capital provides scientific understanding of community based water management and how to secure responsible management to satisfy quality and quantity requirements. It shows how community based water management can be synchronized with public water service, by introducing the most recent field experiments and theoretical studies in economics, social science, engineering, and regional planning which include game theory, microeconomics, econometric, statistics, social network analysis, social choice, and micro finance.
Handbook of Water Purity and Quality by ISBN: 9780080921129Publication Date: 2009-07-17This work provides those involved in water purification research and administration with a comprehensive resource of methods for analyzing water to assure its safety from contaminants, both natural and human caused.
Costing Improved Water Supply Systems for Low-Income Communities by ISBN: 9781780407227Publication Date: 2015-08-15This manual and the free downloadable costing tool is the outcome of a project identified by the Water, Sanitation and Health Programme (WSH) of the World Health Organization (WHO) faced with the challenge of costing options for improved access, both to safe drinking water and to adequate sanitation. This manual and the free downloadable costing tool is the outcome of a project identified by the Water, Sanitation and Health Programme (WSH) of the World Health Organization (WHO) faced with the challenge of costing options for improved access, both to safe drinking water and to adequate sanitation.
How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries by ISBN: 9781780404776Publication Date: 2014-03-15This is a practical handbook providing a step-by-step approach to the techniques used for characterizing wastewater sources and investigating sites where collection, treatment and reuse/disposal technologies will be installed. It is intended to help enable local implementation of on-site and decentralized wastewater management system (DWMS)for wide scale use in development settings. How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries helps local service providers and regulatory officials make informed decisions through the use of tools, checklists and case studies.
