Design Area 5: Health
Visit the links below for help locating information about health.
- UN Sustainable Development Goal: Healthy Lives and Well-beingThe United Nations SDGs provide targets to work towards. This page collects information and statistics about global progress towards the goal.
- UNICEF - Water, Sanitation and HygienePublishes technical, policy and advocacy documents related to drinking water and sanitation.
- Regional Health ProfilesHere you can find and download the Kimberley Regional Health Profile from WA Country Health Service.
- Hygiene and Sanitation Software – An Overview of Approaches - HealthDeals with the PROMOTION of sanitation and hygiene in communities in developing countries.
- Engineering for change - HealthE4C is a dynamic and growing community of engineers, technologists, social scientists, NGOs, local governments and community advocates whose mission is to improve quality of life in communities around the world by facilitating the development of affordable, locally appropriate and sustainable solutions to the most pressing humanitarian challenges. HAVE A LOOK AT THEIR CASE STUDIES, LIST OF PUBLICATIONS AND SOLUTIONS LIBRARY.
- Engineering for change - Solutions library - HealthThe E4C Solutions library represents a collection of solutions that have been implemented by various organizations. Includes examples of previous EWB Projects.
- Engineering for change - SanitationE4C is a dynamic and growing community of engineers, technologists, social scientists, NGOs, local governments and community advocates whose mission is to improve quality of life in communities around the world by facilitating the development of affordable, locally appropriate and sustainable solutions to the most pressing humanitarian challenges. HAVE A LOOK AT THEIR CASE STUDIES, LIST OF PUBLICATIONS AND SOLUTIONS LIBRARY.
- Engineering for change - Solutions library - SanitationThe E4C Solutions library represents a collection of solutions that have been implemented by various organizations. Includes examples of previous EWB Projects.
- Hygiene and Sanitation Software – An Overview of ApproachesDeals with the PROMOTION of sanitation and hygiene in communities in developing countries.
- IRC International Water and Sanitation CentreDiscusses and publishes documents regarding improved, low-cost water supply, sanitation and hygiene in developing countries.
- Sustainable Sanitation AllianceThe Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSanA) is an informal network of organisations who share a common vision on sustainable sanitation. The Knowledge Hub page is a good one to have a look at.
Book (available electronically) for further information
Health Care and Environmental Contamination by ISBN: 9780444640093Publication Date: 2018-02-10Health Care and Environmental Contamination provides a comprehensive explanation of new and evolving topics in the field, including discussions on emissions from pharmaceutical manufacturing, disposal of medical wastes, inputs from sewerage systems, effects on aquatic organisms and wildlife, indirect effects on human health, antibiotic resistance, stewardship, and treatment. These important issues affect the natural environment, making this first book on the topic a must have for comprehensive, broad, and up-to-date coverage of these issues. Written by leading global researchers, scientists, and practitioners in the field Provides an engaging writing style for specialists and non-specialists Ensures a broad balance and critical overview of topics, with unbiased information from thought leaders
How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries by ISBN: 9781780404776Publication Date: 2014-03-15This is a practical handbook providing a step-by-step approach to the techniques used for characterizing wastewater sources and investigating sites where collection, treatment and reuse/disposal technologies will be installed. It is intended to help enable local implementation of on-site and decentralized wastewater management system (DWMS)for wide scale use in development settings. How to Design Wastewater Systems for Local Conditions in Developing Countries helps local service providers and regulatory officials make informed decisions through the use of tools, checklists and case studies.
Potable Water and Sanitation by Publication Date: 2011This book reviews the structural issues that have confronted the reform of the potable water supply and wastewater industries, and examines them in light of the forces that are expected to impact on this issue across the globe.
Faecal Sludge Management by ISBN: 9781780404738Publication Date: 2014-08-14This is the first book dedicated to faecal sludge management. It compiles the current state of knowledge of the rapidly evolving field of faecal sludge management, and presents an integrated approach that includes technology, management, and planning based on Sandecs 20 years of experience in the field. Faecal Sludge Management: Systems Approach for Implementation and Operation addresses the organization of the entire faecal sludge management service chain, from the collection and transport of sludge, and the current state of knowledge of treatment options, to the final end use or disposal of treated sludge. The book also presents important factors to consider when evaluating and upscaling new treatment technology options.
