Databases for finding journal articles
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village: Is the platform home of premium engineering databases like Compendex and Inspec, which provide access to a wide range of academic journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical standards, trade magazines, technical reports related to a broad range of engineering topics. You can search both Compendex and Inspec on this platform using Engineering specific controlled vocabulary and specify searching within different numerical unit ranges. Learn more about Engineering Village here.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a large inter-disciplinary engineering database platform covering topics as diverse as chemical, civil, mechanical or materials engineering to name a few. Also includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for all engineering disciplines.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers a repository of resources which specifically aim to support community engagement on computing research and practice.
Curated by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to journals, books and conference proceedings they publish as well as exclusive computer subject specific search terms and collections. See this link for details about the “Computing Classification System” developed for ACM
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
ACS Publications is the publishing arm of the American Chemical Society. This includes over 70 journal titles covering all branches of chemistry from Biochemistry, to Organic, Physical, Pharmacology, Materials, to Nanoscience. They also publish a number of eBooks and reference materials.
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library Press is the publishing arm of the American Society of Civil Engineers. This collection includes books, journals and magazines covering construction, geotechnical and structural engineer with a special focus on transportation and urban development; utilities, pipelines and surveying; and environment and water resource engineering. Search the whole collection or browse by ‘Topics’.
- ASME Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers sponsors and then publishes content from 25 to 30 conferences per year, representing the latest thinking and research on a range of topics relating to the discipline. Subject categories include Biomedical and Biotechnology, Design, Materials and Manufacturing, Microtechnology and Nanotechnology, Power and Energy and Pressure and Transport Technology.
- ASME Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Journal search platform covers similar topic areas to their conference proceedings database with a curatorial focus on ASME and ASTM journals. You can search by Journal title, article or image, as well as article type.
- ATRI (Australian Transport Index) This link opens in a new window
The Australian Transport Index (ATRI) is an abstract only database that aims to provide an entry point to research into transport and road related matters. Produced by the Australian Road Research Board Library it offers links to a wide range of transport research dedicated to content from and about Australasia. You will find it within the Informit database platform.
- ENGINE (Australian Engineering Database) This link opens in a new window
Australian Engineering Database (ENGINE), produced by the Institution of Engineers Australia is a bibliographic database that provides abstracts only related to Australasian engineering information. Indexes all branches of engineering from abrasives to zirconium with a strong focus on agricultural, aerospace, chemical, civil, coastal, electrical, hydrology, mechanical, military, oceanography and more (1980-onwards).
- Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Informit’s Engineering Collection provides extensive coverage of current and historical information focused on content from Australia and New Zealand - including an extensive range of conference proceedings, reports and technical information sources. It covers all aspects of engineering including chemical., civil, electrical, marine and mechanical.
- ICE Virtual Library Journals This link opens in a new window
ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) database covers every major civil and structural engineering discipline, ICE’s 35 peer reviewed journals are a comprehensive source of expertise for everyone in civil engineering. There is limited full-text access, requiring users to identify open access, subscribed or free content.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. It is possible to browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results. Some Standards can also be searched from within IEEE Xplore. - OnePetro This link opens in a new window
OnePetro is a unique library of technical documents and journal articles serving the oil and gas exploration and production industry. - ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Springer Nature Link Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. - TRID This link opens in a new window
An integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
- IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) provides one of the most comprehensive international collections of technical industry standards from over 175 countries. In helping to develop and make a wide range of global industry standards accessible IEEE seeks to foster global connectivity, interoperability, and security.
Learn more about the development of standardization across industries and technology here: IEEE SA - Standards in Action (ecu.edu.au)
- ISO Standards
International Organization for Standardization. Use the Standards Australia database to search for ISO standards. Post graduate students can order an ISO standard by following the online prompts. Note, the library holds print copies of some ISO standards. Check the library catalogue under the author, International Organization for Standardization, to see what is held.
Journals
- Journal of Humanitarian Engineering
The field of ‘humanitarian engineering’ describes the application of engineering and technology for the benefit of disadvantaged communities. This field spans thematic areas from water to energy to infrastructure and applications from disability access to poverty alleviation.
This open access journal details similar projects that students have completed in the past. You can use information from these articles and also follow up on references that have been used. Topics covered include cookstoves, sanitation options and water filtration and purification.