Academic Resources
The sources found here are scholarly publications on and related to the topic of Cyber Security. The following resources will allow you to locate sources have been written and published by researchers in the field.
Databases will provide you with a subject specific collection of scholarly publications such as journal articles, reports, conference papers and eBooks that are focused on the field of computer science and related disciplines. Check out the databases here if you need to research topics in Cyber Security.
Journals are periodical publications of articles written by researchers and experts in the field. These publications look to provide current research on certain aspects of the subject at a high quality. The selection of journals provided here are a collection of some of the highly ranked journals of the year, as well as a core selection of topical publications selected by the lecturers, researchers and academics of ECU.
For more information on how to search databases, or how to filter and critically evaluate information see:
For more information on the different types of information see
Databases
Databases are a more subject focused collection of academically published materials. To search for articles and publications which are related to Cyber Security try using the following databases.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library offers a repository of resources which specifically aim to support community engagement on computing research and practice. Curated by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) it provides access to journals, books and conference proceedings they publish as well as exclusive computer subject specific search terms and collections. - CIA (Computer Index Australasia) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic abstract only database: 1994-2001. Covers articles on popular Computing, Software, Hardware, Communications and Computer Applications.
Please note this database is no longer updated. CIA will remain available on Informit as an archive database. - Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers Computer Science, Information Systems, Computer Security, Database Design, Software Development, Web Commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets and Internet - Gartner This link opens in a new window
Global research and advisory company delivering strategic advice and best practices. - IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) broader collection of books, journals, magazines, courses and conferences related to technology use and development. Browse by format and by topic area with curated topic collections provided in search results including some IEEE standards. - ProQuest Central (Current ECU Students & Staff) This link opens in a new windowInternational multidisciplinary database indexing a selection of journals in all subject disciplines. It is useful for a broad cross-disciplinary search, rather than in-depth in a subject.
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowCovers General science, Materials science, Aerospace, Engineering, Computers, Physics, Telecommunications, Transportation and Military.
- ScienceDirect Journals & Books This link opens in a new window
A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2,500 scholarly journals including over 250 fully Open Access publications. Covers Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 2,500 journals and over 5,000 new books each year, with a books backlist in excess of 120,000 specialist titles. As well as scholarly journals and books, they also publish eBooks, text books and reference works.
Access Australian and International Standards
You can access a range of Australian and International Standards using the following services:
- IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) provides one of the most comprehensive international collections of technical industry standards from over 175 countries and includes more than 2,500 technical standards and publications dating from 1948. - Techstreet - Standards Australia Online This link opens in a new window
Australian standards covering: Aerospace, Automotive, Construction, Energy, Engineering, Government, Manufacturing, Medical devices, Pharmaceuticals, Safety.
[Registration required. Create a personal account using your ECU email address.]
Please download this tip sheet on how to access standards on Techstreet
Click here to register for Techstreet. See the database for the corporate key - Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench by Accuris provides access to Australian and International Standards (including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards). The database allows you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, books, patents and patent applications, and utility modes.
- Australian Standards Tip Sheet_TechstreetGuide on registering for and using Techstreet to access Australian Standards
- ISO Standards Tip Sheet_Engineering WorkbenchGuide to registering for and using Engineering Workbench to access International Standards
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyOne of the oldest physical science laboratories in the U.S., created to support research with standards, measurement, and technology.
- Lexis+ (previously Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the CaseBase legal citator and Halsbury's Laws of Australia encyclopaedia. - Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Online legal research platform covering Australian and international case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Results are comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date. Includes the Laws of Australia encyclopaedia, the KeyCite (previously FirstPoint) legal citator, and a KeyNumber legal topic classification system. See Westlaw - International Materials for international legal sources.
- Federal Register of Legislation
The official Australian Government site for access to the most current Commonwealth of Australia legislation.
Other Legislative Instruments are also available on this website and include: Regulations (otherwise known as Statutory Rules), ordinances, orders, determinations and proclamations. - Western Australian Legislation
Parliamentary Counsel's Office - the official WA Government site for access to Western Australian legislation, and the most up-to-date resource.
Citation Metrics are a measure of how many times a resource has been used or 'cited' in other works, and where they have been cited. If you are looking for impactful research or highly ranked Journals use these services to compare.
Abstract and citation databases are services that present the citation connections of published articles in a field and compare their citation indexes with other published works.
You can use the following databases to look for well cited research, literature or authors
- Scimago Journal Rankings (SJR) This link opens in a new window
SCImago Journal Rankings provides metrics and rankings of journals indexed by Scopus database. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and provides both author and journal metrics (performance analytics) of the literature indexed in the database.
Journals
- Digital InvestigationDigital Investigation covers a broad array of subjects related to crime and security throughout the computerized world. The primary pillar of this publication is digital evidence, with the core qualities of provenance, integrity and authenticity.
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityThe purpose of TDSC is to publish papers in dependability and security, including the joint consideration of these issues and their interplay with system performance.
- The Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and LawThis peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law (JDFSL) focuses on the advancement of the field by publishing the state of the art in both basic and applied research conducted worldwide.
- International Journal of Cyber Criminology[Open Access] [Peer Reviewed]
International journal focused on the study of cyber/computer crime
- ACM Privacy and SecurityAssociation for Computing Machinery
- Computer Fraud and SecurityComputer Fraud & Security has grown with the fast-moving information technology industry and has earned a reputation for editorial excellence with IT security practitioners around the world.
- IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure ComputingThe IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security covers the sciences, technologies, and applications relating to information forensics, information security, biometrics, surveillance and systems applications that incorporate these features.
- Journal of Cybersecurity[Open access] [Peer-reviewed]
Publications on computer systems and information security. - International Journal of Information Security[Peer Reviewed]
Publications on the different aspects of securing information from a technical standpoint.