Books, Reference Works, and Manuals
If you need an overview of a subject area, locate definitions or theory, or if you need an introductory guide use reference works, textbooks, handbooks, and manuals to get started. These are great resources to introduce you to a subject area.
Included here are links to the collected titles for the following subject areas. Explore these to find the books located in these collections.
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Artificial Intelligence @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Artificial Intelligence by
Negnevitsky shows students how to build intelligent systems drawing on techniques from knowledge-based systems, neural networks, fuzzy systems, evolutionary computation and now also intelligent agents. The principles behind these techniques are explained without resorting to complex mathematics, showing how the various techniques are implemented, when they are useful and when they are not. No particular programming language is assumed and the book does not tie itself to any of the software tools available. However, available tools and their uses are described, and program examples are given in Java. The lack of assumed prior knowledge makes this book ideal for any introductory courses in artificial intelligence or intelligent systems design, while the contemporary coverage means more advanced students will benefit by discovering the latest state-of-the-art techniques, particularly in intelligent agents and knowledge discovery.
ISBN: 9781408225745Publication Date: 2011-08-19
Artificial Intelligence by
This textbook covers the broader field of artificial intelligence. The chapters for this textbook span within three categories: Deductive reasoning methods: These methods start with pre-defined hypotheses and reason with them in order to arrive at logically sound conclusions. The underlying methods include search and logic-based methods. These methods are discussed in Chapters 1through 5. Inductive Learning Methods: These methods start with examples and use statistical methods in order to arrive at hypotheses. Examples include regression modeling, support vector machines, neural networks, reinforcement learning, unsupervised learning, and probabilistic graphical models. These methods are discussed in Chapters~6 through 11. Integrating Reasoning and Learning: Chapters~11 and 12 discuss techniques for integrating reasoning and learning. Examples include the use of knowledge graphs and neuro-symbolic artificial intelligence. The primary audience for this textbook are professors and advanced-level students in computer science. It is also possible to use this textbook for the mathematics requirements for an undergraduate data science course. Professionals working in this related field many also find this textbook useful as a reference.
ISBN: 9783030723569Publication Date: 2021-07-17
Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence by
Fundamentals of Artificial Intelligence introduces the foundations of present day AI and provides coverage to recent developments in AI such as Constraint Satisfaction Problems, Adversarial Search and Game Theory, Statistical Learning Theory, Automated Planning, Intelligent Agents, Information Retrieval, Natural Language & Speech Processing, and Machine Vision. The book features a wealth of examples and illustrations, and practical approaches along with the theoretical concepts. It covers all major areas of AI in the domain of recent developments. The book is intended primarily for students who major in computer science at undergraduate and graduate level but will also be of interest as a foundation to researchers in the area of AI.
ISBN: 9788132239703Publication Date: 2020-04-05
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Hacking @ ECUUse this for books related to hacking including case studies and narratives in cyber security
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
- Penetration Testing @ ECUUse this search for books related to ethical hacking tools such as Kali Linux
Gray Hat Hacking: the Ethical Hacker's Handbook, Sixth Edition by
Up-to-date strategies for thwarting the latest, most insidious network attacks This fully updated, industry-standard security resource shows, step by step, how to fortify computer networks by learning and applying effective ethical hacking techniques. Based on curricula developed by the authors at major security conferences and colleges, the book features actionable planning and analysis methods as well as practical steps for identifying and combating both targeted and opportunistic attacks. Gray Hat Hacking: The Ethical Hacker's Handbook, Sixth Edition clearly explains the enemy's devious weapons, skills, and tactics and offers field-tested remedies, case studies, and testing labs. You will get complete coverage of Internet of Things, mobile, and Cloud security along with penetration testing, malware analysis, and reverse engineering techniques. State-of-the-art malware, ransomware, and system exploits are thoroughly explained. *Fully revised content includes 7 new chapters covering the latest threats *Includes proof-of-concept code stored on the GitHub repository *Authors train attendees at major security conferences, including RSA, Black Hat, Defcon, and Besides
ISBN: 9781264268948Publication Date: 2022-03-09
The Pentester BluePrint by
JUMPSTART YOUR NEW AND EXCITING CAREER AS A PENETRATION TESTER The Pentester BluePrint: Your Guide to Being a Pentester offers readers a chance to delve deeply into the world of the ethical, or "white-hat" hacker. Accomplished pentester and author Phillip L. Wylie and cybersecurity researcher Kim Crawley walk you through the basic and advanced topics necessary to understand how to make a career out of finding vulnerabilities in systems, networks, and applications. You'll learn about the role of a penetration tester, what a pentest involves, and the prerequisite knowledge you'll need to start the educational journey of becoming a pentester. Discover how to develop a plan by assessing your current skillset and finding a starting place to begin growing your knowledge and skills. Finally, find out how to become employed as a pentester by using social media, networking strategies, and community involvement. Perfect for IT workers and entry-level information security professionals, The Pentester BluePrint also belongs on the bookshelves of anyone seeking to transition to the exciting and in-demand field of penetration testing. Written in a highly approachable and accessible style, The Pentester BluePrint avoids unnecessarily technical lingo in favor of concrete advice and practical strategies to help you get your start in pentesting. This book will teach you: The foundations of pentesting, including basic IT skills like operating systems, networking, and security systems The development of hacking skills and a hacker mindset Where to find educational options, including college and university classes, security training providers, volunteer work, and self-study Which certifications and degrees are most useful for gaining employment as a pentester How to get experience in the pentesting field, including labs, CTFs, and bug bounties
ISBN: 9781119684305Publication Date: 2020-11-24
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Digital Forensics @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Guide to Computer Forensics and Investigations by
Master the skills you need to conduct a successful digital investigation with Nelson/Phillips/Steuart's GUIDE TO COMPUTER FORENSICS AND INVESTIGATIONS, Sixth Edition--the most comprehensive forensics resource available. While other books offer just an overview of the field, this hands-on learning text provides clear instruction on the tools and techniques of the trade, walking you through every step of the computer forensics investigation--from lab setup to testifying in court. It also explains how to use current forensics software and provides free demo downloads. It includes the most up-to-date coverage available of Linux and Macintosh, virtual machine software such as VMware and Virtual Box, Android, mobile devices, handheld devices, cloud forensics, email, social media and the Internet of Anything. With its practical applications, you can immediately put what you learn into practice.
ISBN: 9781337568944Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Learn Computer Forensics by
Learn Computer Forensics from a veteran investigator and technical trainer and explore how to properly document digital evidence collectedKey Features* Investigate the core methods of computer forensics to procure and secure advanced digital evidence skillfully* Record the digital evidence collected and organize a forensic examination on it* Perform an assortment of Windows scientific examinations to analyze and overcome complex challengesBook DescriptionComputer Forensics, being a broad topic, involves a variety of skills which will involve seizing electronic evidence, acquiring data from electronic evidence, data analysis, and finally developing a forensic report.This book will help you to build up the skills you need to work in a highly technical environment. This book's ideal goal is to get you up and running with forensics tools and techniques to successfully investigate crime and corporate misconduct. You will discover ways to collect personal information about an individual from online sources. You will also learn how criminal investigations are performed online while preserving data such as e-mails, images, and videos that may be important to a case. You will further explore networking and understand Network Topologies, IP Addressing, and Network Devices. Finally, you will how to write a proper forensic report, the most exciting portion of the forensic exam process.By the end of this book, you will have developed a clear understanding of how to acquire, analyze, and present digital evidence, like a proficient computer forensics investigator.What you will learn* Explore the investigative process, rules of evidence, legal process, and ethical guidelines* Understand the difference between sectors, clusters, volumes, and file slack* Validate forensic equipment, computer program, and examination methods* Create and validate forensically sterile media* Gain the ability to draw conclusions based on the exam discoveries* Record discoveries utilizing the technically correct terminology* Discover the limitations and guidelines for RAM Capture and its tools* Explore timeline analysis, media analysis, string searches, and recovery of deleted dataWho this book is forThis book is for IT beginners, students, or an investigator in the public or private sector. This book will also help IT professionals who are new to incident response and digital forensics and are looking at choosing cybersecurity as their career. Individuals planning to pass the Certified Forensic Computer Examiner (CFCE) certification will also find this book useful.
ISBN: 9781803238302Publication Date: 2022-07-29
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Computer Security @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
Computer Science Security by
This book serves as a guide to help the reader develop an awareness of security vulnerabilities and attacks, and encourages them to be circumspect when using the various computer resources and tools available today. For experienced users, Computer Science Security presents a wide range of tools to secure legacy software and hardware. Computing has infiltrated all fields nowadays. No one can escape this wave and be immune to security attacks, which continue to evolve, gradually reducing the level of expertise needed by hackers. It is high time for each and every user to acquire basic knowledge of computer security, which would enable them to mitigate the threats they may face both personally and professionally. It is this combined expertise of individuals and organizations that will guarantee a minimum level of security for families, schools, the workplace and society in general.
ISBN: 9781786307552Publication Date: 2022-09-21
Computer Security and Encryption by
Because of the rapid growth of cybercrime, cryptography and system security may be the fastest growing technologies in our culture today. This book describes various aspects of cryptography and system security, with a particular emphasis on the use of rigorous security models and practices in the design of networks and systems. The first portion of the book presents the overall system security concepts and provides a general overview of its features, such as object model and inter-object communications. The objective is to provide an understanding of the cryptography underpinnings on which the rest of the book is based. The book is designed to meet the needs of beginners as well as more advanced readers. Features: Covers the major components of cryptography and system security, with a particular emphasis on the use of rigorous security models and practices used in the design of networks and systems Includes a discussion of emerging technologies such as Big Data Analytics, cloud computing, Internet of Things (IoT), Smart Grid, SCADA, control systems, and Wireless Sensor Networks (WSN)
ISBN: 9781683925293Publication Date: 2020-06-26
Firewalls Don't Stop Dragons by
Rely on this practical, comprehensive guide to significantly improve your cyber safety and data privacy. This book was written expressly for regular, everyday people -- though even technically savvy readers will find many useful tips here. This book contains everything you need to protect yourself-step by step, without judgment, and with as little jargon as possible. Protecting your digital domain is much like defending a medieval castle. Wide moats, towering walls and trained guards provide defense in depth, safeguarding the people and property within against the most common threats. But attempting to dragon-proof your castle would be counterproductive and costly. The goal of this book is to keep your devices and data safe from the most likely and impactful hazards - not a targeted attack by the NSA. Like wearing seat belts and sunscreen in the real world, there are dozens of simple, effective precautions we need to take in the virtual world. Author Carey Parker has structured this book to give you maximum benefit with minimum effort. If you just want to know what you need to do, each chapter includes a detailed checklist of expert tips. But the book also explains why you need to do these things, using entertaining analogies and straightforward explanations. This revised and expanded fifth edition includes: Updated for Windows 11, macOS 13 (Ventura), iOS 16 and Android 13. Updated recommendations for most secure and private products. Over 200 tips with complete step-by-step instructions and screenshots. What You Will Learn Maximize your computer and smartphone security. Minimize your vulnerabilities and data footprint. Solve your password problems and use two-factor authentication. Browse the web safely and confidently with a secure, private browser. Shop and bank online with maximum security and peace of mind. Defend against identity theft, ransomware and online scams. Safeguard your children online, at home and in school. Block online tracking, data mining and malicious online ads. Send files and messages with end-to-end encryption. Secure your home network and keep your smart devices from spying on you. Create automated backups of all your devices. Learn how to deal with account hacks, data. breaches and viruses. Understand how computers, the internet, VPNs and encryption really work And much more!
ISBN: 9781484290354Publication Date: 2023-02-04
ECU Library Collection
Use the following link to explore the books in the ECU Library collection.
- Machine Learning @ ECUBooks and eBooks at ECU
Recommended Titles
Here are some recommendations to help you get started in the topic.
AI and Machine Learning by
Was Rahman′s AI and Machine Learning achieves that rare balance of making a difficult and complex topic accessible to non-specialists, without dumbing down.He starts with an enlightening and entertaining explanation of what artificial intelligence (AI) is and how it works. This includes often-overlooked fundamentals like what we actually mean by ′intelligence′, artificial or otherwise.Rahman brings his explanations to life with lucid and, at times, surprising examples of AI already in use around us. He takes these back to first principles, deftly avoiding any need to understand the maths or computing involved. This allows him to demystify what the technology is really doing and show us that much of it is reassuringly mundane, despite the hype.This distinctive approach comes into its own when examining the challenges and risks of AI. It allows the author to remove the drama and fear of sensationalized headlines and doom-laden movie plots. In their place, he offers an insightful analysis of how the major issues surface, what options we have for addressing them and why some dilemmas may prove intractable.A must-read to understand the reality and implications of AI beyond the hype!
ISBN: 9789353884413Publication Date: 2020-11-14
Machine Learning by
Machine Learning, a vital and core area of artificial intelligence (AI), is propelling the AI field ever further and making it one of the most compelling areas of computer science research. This textbook offers a comprehensive and unbiased introduction to almost all aspects of machine learning, from the fundamentals to advanced topics. It consists of 16 chapters divided into three parts: Part 1 (Chapters 1-3) introduces the fundamentals of machine learning, including terminology, basic principles, evaluation, and linear models; Part 2 (Chapters 4-10) presents classic and commonly used machine learning methods, such as decision trees, neural networks, support vector machines, Bayesian classifiers, ensemble methods, clustering, dimension reduction and metric learning; Part 3 (Chapters 11-16) introduces some advanced topics, covering feature selection and sparse learning, computational learning theory, semi-supervised learning, probabilistic graphical models, rule learning, and reinforcement learning. Each chapter includes exercises and further reading, so that readers can explore areas of interest. The book can be used as an undergraduate or postgraduate textbook for computer science, computer engineering, electrical engineering, data science, and related majors. It is also a useful reference resource for researchers and practitioners of machine learning.
ISBN: 9811519668Publication Date: 2021-08-21
Machine Learning by
AN INTRODUCTION TO MACHINE LEARNING THAT INCLUDES THE FUNDAMENTAL TECHNIQUES, METHODS, AND APPLICATIONS PROSE Award Finalist 2019 Association of American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers a comprehensive introduction to the core concepts, approaches, and applications of machine learning. The author--an expert in the field--presents fundamental ideas, terminology, and techniques for solving applied problems in classification, regression, clustering, density estimation, and dimension reduction. The design principles behind the techniques are emphasized, including the bias-variance trade-off and its influence on the design of ensemble methods. Understanding these principles leads to more flexible and successful applications. Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction also includes methods for optimization, risk estimation, and model selection-- essential elements of most applied projects. This important resource: Illustrates many classification methods with a single, running example, highlighting similarities and differences between methods Presents R source code which shows how to apply and interpret many of the techniques covered Includes many thoughtful exercises as an integral part of the text, with an appendix of selected solutions Contains useful information for effectively communicating with clients A volume in the popular Wiley Series in Probability and Statistics, Machine Learning: a Concise Introduction offers the practical information needed for an understanding of the methods and application of machine learning. STEVEN W. KNOX holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from the University of Illinois and an M.S. in Statistics from Carnegie Mellon University. He has over twenty years' experience in using Machine Learning, Statistics, and Mathematics to solve real-world problems. He currently serves as Technical Director of Mathematics Research and Senior Advocate for Data Science at the National Security Agency.
ISBN: 9781119439196Publication Date: 2018-04-17
